Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henry Bauerschlag Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 865 students

 
 

Living in League City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $187,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

Parent-this is my first year to send my kids to HBE immediately it was a challenge. The front office personal were very rude not friendly at all. All year my 4th grader has complained about his teacher and I've met with both and it time I have to go over the fact he has ADHD. These two teacher have no experience at all with Children with ADHD. He is constantly punished for something he can not control. I'm trying to get out of these school going back to Gilmore. Don't recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

The PTA is incredibly active and is over all very impressive! Kudos to the PTA! . If you are considering sending your child to HBE or already do so, call the principal and ask for the latest scores on the Texas State Tests for your child's grade level. Don't settle for a vague answer that the students do or did well compared to other schools. Ask specifics such as what is the passing grade for my child's grade level on the State Tests. (It's not 70) It changes every year and is well below a 70 thus you don't want a pass/fail answer. Then ask what is the school's grade level average for your child's grade level. You have to ask for this information and you have to choose your words very carefully when you do ask for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

HBE is a great school. My children all had great experiences with all their teachers. We have no complaints. The teachers try to make learning fun, and the PTA provides many opportunities for parents to get involved. They take school security seriously. We have found the office and administrative staff to be friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

Fabulous school. I have been pleased with all of my child's teachers. My child thrived at Bauerschlag. The teachers are caring, knowledgeable, and hard-working. The PTA is very active and has won several awards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

This is an incredible school!! All the teachers we have had are GREAT!!! I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

Well, as with most schools, teachers here are a mixed bag. Some are loving and caring - important for a child's first experience with school - and other are, well, NOT. Worse, if you identify an issue or ongoing problem with a teacher, do NOT expect your child to be moved to another classroom. It won't happen, no matter how bad it gets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

I don't care for most of the teachers at this school. There are very few that are nice and seem to like their job. The others are there for a paycheck and they have no respect for the children or their parents. They have a "I'm the adult so I can speak to you however I want", mentality when dealing with the kids. The principal is very good but she needs to get a handle on her teachers to improve the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

Great School! Great Teachers! Great Academics!! I have no complaints! This is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2010

The vice principle was very nice but there was a particular 5th grade math teacher that called my son stupid and called my neighbors son retarded. She didn't think they heard her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

My child has had excellent teachers at this school....she has excelled and everyone works together to ensure that all the studets are EXEMPLARY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

Bauerschlag is an excellent school. All of the Teachers and Staff are 'in tune' with each other which is so important and even more important they are 'in tune' with the kids. Bauerschlag's team is the best! I couldn't have asked for a more caring and supportive group of people to teach my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

My son continues to receive a quality education at this outstanding elementary. The teachers work well together to challenge and prepare the students. It is obvious that they are trained to follow the state TEKS because this is a state exemplary school. I have seen some really great things going on at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

I have had 3 of my children go through HBE and I can only say good things about the school. Everyone seems to work as a team from the art teacher, librarian, principals, classroom teachers all the way down to the custodians, I've only found that everyone wants only the best for the children. I think also the fact that they've been rated exemplary twice says a great deal about the teaching quality that is found there. Now that my 2 oldest are in other schools I wish they too had more caring and concerned staff. Truly I believe Bauerschlag to be the cream of the CCISD crop! Bravo Mrs. Knight for doing such an outstanding job and don't let the few negative comments bother you, you run a tight ship and as far as I can tell your ship is never going to sink!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

HBE is committed to meeting the needs of all of my children. The fine arts and PE department encourage the enchiment and integrate their curriculum with the core subjects. Many enrichment classes are offered by the instructors such as art, choir, science clubs, as well as running clubs. The staff constantly supports higher level thinking and encourages all children to excel to their full potential. I have been very impressed with their ability to work with my children before and after school with any tutorials or area of concern. Communication is also a strong point as well as the technology utilized by the teachers. HBE is an excellent learning environment. The PTA is outstanding and works very hard to support each student and teacher in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

Generally very happy with the school. Strengths are the leadership and art and music programs. Generally the teachers are competent but there seems to be substantial variation in style and approach from class to class and grade to grade. Also, 3rd grade was very oriented toward teaching the TAKS (texas' basic assesment test). Our daughter found all of this to be laughably easy (and ultimately scored perfectly on both tests) but the school didn't provider her with more challenging content.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

As a room parent and active volunteer,incl tutoring in library, I was forced to withdraw my 7 y/o from school in fear of emotional abuse at the hand of his teacher, for which I had met & discussed with the school counselor. Subsequently, I was unable to get his school work or art as the front office said it 'disappeared'. I felt I was delt with unprovoked rudeness and lack of professionalism by the teacher and front office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

My daughter is in kindergarten and has a great teacher, Ms.Richard. I am very impressed with the administration and teachers with the way they handle the kindergarten children, their safety, and policy for drop off and picking up kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

127 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education60%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female98%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education80%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female91%
Male100%
Black or African American82%
Asian89%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education57%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female97%
Male88%
Black or African American100%
Asian91%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education80%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male79%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education38%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American89%
Asian86%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education83%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education67%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American78%
Asian93%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education67%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Black or African American63%
Asian89%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education83%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male92%
Black or African American63%
Asian88%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education60%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female84%
Male85%
Black or African American50%
Asian88%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education40%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 29%
Hispanic 23% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2051 Brittany Bay Blvd
League City, TX 77573
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 284-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT