Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blake Manor Elementary School 1

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Blake Manor Elementary used to be a great school. After Courtney Thomas, the previous principal, left the school went down hill fast. My experience has been that they do not listen to the parents even when there is serious issues discussed and will continue to allow inappropriate behavior by their own staff even after they agree that they were out of line. We have had to go to the school board in order to get them to abide by their own agreements. They have no compassion for any situation even if they were a contributing factor to the situation. They do not ever accept responsibility and if you question them about it which is your right as a parent they have gone so far as to threaten to contact the police to have you thrown off the property. The only reason I gave this rating one star is because there are some amazing teachers and their hard work and care for the kids should not be reflected on by the deplorable, in-compassionate administration. Please if you can do not send your children here!

Blake Manor Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2012
- a parent
BMES not only recognizes me when I walk through the door, but also knows who my children are, and which classes they're in! Four out of five of our childrens' classroom teachers have been phenomenal (and the remaining teacher is no longer with Blake Manor). I have popped in to volunteer on several occasions and the classrooms have always been well-managed. Several teachers (including the art teacher) have amazing on-line sites or blogs to view the kids' activities and projects. Even though we may not be the wealthiest district, I get a true sense of passion for education not ony from the school, but from the parents as well. The school is bright and clean, the classrooms are colorful and organized, and the staff know how to make learning fun. I whole-heartedly recommend this school. No one or institution will ever be without flaws, but BMES strives for excellence and it shows.


Blake Manor Elementary School 1

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
I had to pull my kids out of this school after a year of attending. The staff is horrible, the teachers aren't much better. My kid would come home and complain to me about their teacher EATING and being glued to her phone during school hours!! The school was not very welcoming.. Some teachers were great, tho.. so not all is bad. Another thing that made me pull my kids out of that school is was the principle.She did not take bullying seriously at all. She seemed very annoyed when confronted about the issue. One of my kids were constantly being harassed by another kid and NOTHING was done about it.. In fact, the following school year, my kid was put in the same class as the bully. Manor is a horrible little village of a town to be living at in the first place, I strongly suggest that anyone who wants to enroll their kids at this school look elsewhere. PEACE OUT.

Blake Manor Elementary School 1

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Hello! The reason of my comment is because I have two kids at BME. First of all I want to start with the cafeteria the breakfast they serve is rotten most of the time such as the milk, juice, oranges, apples, grapes and so on. Second my kid tells me that his teacher always eats food during school hours which I find it very distracting and unprofessional. Every morning his teacher comes and tells them to verify their homework because she is hungry and she has to eat something which she does. She sits at her cauch and put some headphones while she is eating ja ja very professional. Also she sends packeges of homework so that I can do her work and teach my kids what she is supposed to do. I ask my kid if she explain this to him and he says no. To be honest I come very agitated from work that I just want to eat and rest but no I have to sit with my kids for hours and explain everything that the teacher didn't do. well this is some of the complains I have, right now is getting late and I have to wake up very early again. I just hope the superintendent reads this or someone above the principal because I am sick and tire of this. I had talk to the mrs. Thomas but nothing changes.

Blake Manor Elementary School 1

Posted August 21, 2010
- a parent
very poor district and very poor school. unfortunately this presents a bad combination and the end result is a poor education. the teachers seem to be in the same boat as the students and the school seems to run on the verge of chaos. if your child is smart the reality is that they will be as smart as the slowest student. also because the hispanic density is so high most of the children do not speak english, which also holds the rest of the students back. thank god i'm moving out of state!


Blake Manor Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
I was totally shocked to read a negative review about not only BM Elementary but about MISD in general, especially the special education department by someone who commented back in 2008. I have two daughters who both required early childhood intervention and extra assistance with their early education needs and I was hesitant to send them to school in Manor because of a few bad ratings. I can't speak for the middle school or high school but our home campus is PME and we have special programs at Manor Elem and Blake Manor and everyone down to the teacher's aids have been fabulous. I feel that their special education program is top notch and they should be highly recognized. The speech therapists, diagnostician, principal, teachers and therapists were not only highly educated and professional but kind and nurturing. I am a proud mom of a BM Bulldog!

Blake Manor Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
Everyone was very welcoming. Both my children have severe food allergies and the school was awsome about setting up anything they needed. The special needs services that are provided are great. We feel very safe and happy sending our children to this school. It is away from the busy city but the children still get all the same services. The teachers really care about all the children and the parents.

Blake Manor Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
It's a nice feeling when you can call your child's school and the person who answers the phone knows the parents by name. I like the small town feeling. The teachers are fabulous. Very caring, very fair, and really care about each and every student. The school was designed perfectly color coded for each grade so that the students can find their classes easily. It's simply fabulous!!!!


Blake Manor Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2008
- a community member
My Granddaughters attend Blake Manor and they love it. Their teachers are awesome. And office staff always makes us feel welcome. I've visited a lot of schools in my lifetime and so has my husband. And we both agree that this is the best be far.

Blake Manor Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2008
- a parent
My child couldn't be happier at Blake Manor. The staff is wonderful and the teachers are exceptional at challenging their students. All around, I would give this school the highest rating.

Nearby schools

Blake Manor Elementary School
18010 Blake Manor Road, Manor, TX  78653
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (512) 278-4200
Last modified Blake Manor Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top