Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Sorrows School

Private | PK-11

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in McAllen

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $106,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 25, 2013

I am an OLSS graduate, and I have to say that this school is pretty cool. The students begin to bond with each other when they are young, and the K-3 program up to first grade is amazing. In elementary, kids might have a so-so education. In junior high: best years of my education. ACE teachers are really cool, and I believe we still have one. I have been in OLS since first grade with good grades, but I can't help but notice they are nice to the wealthy families. Field trips and events... a bit too much, fun, and yet expensive. Religion classes become fun, and boring classes become interesting. I am now in high school, and most of the concepts are complicated, yet when I was in OLSS, we learned the same thing in a simpler way (in a good way), meaning I'm ahead of my class. In junior high, students are required to take at least Spanish 1 and 2, knocking two years of Spanish in high school. I took Advanced Tech for my eighth grade year, and it really helps. This school is good in technology, and they encourage students in typing (good skill). All in all, this school's performance is better than what I hear from my public school friends.


Posted October 29, 2013

I have been a parent at OLS for 6 years now. This is a wonderful school! And although sadly our last principal ran the school down, I have to say our current one Mrs. Deleon, is amazing! She has been a part of OLS school for many years and knows what our school needs and requires. I do think that some of our teachers may be weak, but education begins and ends at home. And as for our catholic identity, our school does an excellent job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2013

We have been at the school for several years and was very disappointed with the previous principal and the direction they took the school. However, after hearing the church hired a new principal, I had to go in for a visit and hear for myself. I had similar concerns about the staff and teachers, however I can say with great certainty that things have really changed for the better at OLSS. I am very excited for new principal and her amazing vision and knowledge of what needs to change at the school. I will be keeping all my children at OLSS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

There are many new and good changes going on with this school. They have a new principal as of June 1, 2013. There are already visible changes present and things looking very positive for the coming school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

My child has attended since pre k4 and school was great up until 2nd grade. is now in 5th grade and totally lost in math and science. They have the worst teachers after 4th grade. Especially math and science. The new principal is just terrible. . The teachers run the school and pick on students that are not their favorites. They are nice only to the wealthy. They issue demerits to some students for minor things and not to students who do bad things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2012

Great for PK4-3. 4th grade, the teachers don't help much. 5th grade, half the teachers help and the other half get annoyed if you ask for help. I recommend PK4-5 for OLS, and then Cathey Middle School or Vanguard Academy


Posted September 25, 2010

My son is in his second year at OLSS and we all LOVE his school. The montesorri method in preschool is great because they can learn at their own pace, plus they get to interact and meet students that are up to 2 years older than them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

Our children have attended OLSS for seven years. I believe that the school is great pre-K through second grade. The teachers in these levels are great. However, administration is fair. They do not handle discipline issues well and do not communicate well with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

Our daughter, currently a 6th grader, has been at OLSS from pre-K. Even though I work as an administrator for the McAllen public schools (a really great school district), we decided, after really searching our minds, hearts and souls, to enroll our daughter at OLSS. Time has shown that we absolutely made the right decision! They do an excellent job of teaching and practicing displine and the difference between right and wrong. We like their tough scholastic agenda, as well as the ability to participate in extra-curricular and sports activities, in a smaller school environment. Students are well versed in computers and other technology. They are happy kids and it shows! We highly recommend OLSS! -Ed and Linda Romeros
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 83% 47%
White 9% 37%
Asian 6% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
Black 1% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC,NCEA
Fax number
  • (956) 686-1996

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brownsville
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Gumwood St
McAllen, TX 78501
Phone: (956) 686-3651

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lamar Academy
McAllen, TX


Horizon Montessori
McAllen, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT