Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a community member
Low teacher turnover, quality communication, and great administration! Both of our daughters have been challenged and continue to succeed.

Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are the best! They really care. If you have any problems the principal will really help you out


Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Vega doesn't have that much homework, especially in the lower grades. Students are expected to read every night and do math. They get in trouble if they don't read. My child has really started reading lots so it's really a pleasure not to have to make my kid do homework.

Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
The students work really hard but they are always encouraged to do their best. The children are really encouraged to improve no matter if they are a gifted student or are struggling.

Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
They teach the students manners and respect. Students open doors for others and say yes ma'am and yes sir. Everyone is so nice. When you walk in the school you know it is a special place


Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Amazing! The staff really cares about the students and parents. What a wonderful school in every way.

Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
I have two children who attend Vega and I absolutely love it. My oldest is in 5th and my youngest is in 3rd. We have been at Vega for 6 years and it is a great school. The staff is awesome. Mr. Forsyth is a great principal. He implemented the Essential 55 and College readiness programs and they are fabulous.

Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega 5

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
We moved to McKinney two years ago and we've loved Vega so far! All the staff is super nice and helpful. Love the college bound focus they emphasize. Teachers are phenomenal and work so hard with the kiddos. I will say we were concerned with the school's rating at the beginning, but were willing to give it a try, so happy we did!


Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a parent
When moving to the area with two kids in elementary, obviously looking at the school district was important. We had always heard that McKinney schools were just phenomenal. We found the perfect house, and after reading a few reviews about Vega, weren't so sure. We came to find that many of those reviews were negative due to the old leadership. I cannot say enough great things about the teachers, the leadership, and the culture at Vega. My kids love going. Everyone in the front office is kind. There is constantly some kind of event going on (donuts, outside fundraisers, pep rallys, etc.) and the kids go to school daily with college and different important character traits being emphasized. I also receive constant email and phone communication, which I never did before in our old school district. If you can't tell, I love this school, and am thrilled my kids get to go here. If you're reading any negative reviews, look twice at the date -- I'd bet that it was under the old leadership. You will not be disappointed by this school!

Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega 4

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
My first child attended Vega when it first opened and finished through the 5th grade. I love the teachers and staff because they care so much about the children. They seem to always put the children first. The one and only complaint that I have about this school is their sad and pathetic looking playground. It has been a sad looking playground since my second child attended this school, which he started back in 2008. They definitely should do something about the playground.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega
2511 Cattleman Drive, McKinney, TX  75071
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (469) 302-5100
Last modified Jose De Jesus And Maria Luisa Vega is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top