Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horn High School 3

Posted August 24, 2015
- a community member
A parent and teacher There is room for improvement in the core areas of study like reading, writing, and math....I get some of these students after they leave Horn and they cannot write complete sentences. Teachers and administrators need to invest in extensive professional development and stop wasting time policing untucked uniform shirts.....and peach fuzz on someone's chin. Teachers and parents should be held accountable for the lack of competence that is entering college classes today. When a student is allowed to leave high school and he/she can't read or write, it is the entire districts fault.....

Horn High School 1

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
Rude staff. Do not work with patents to fix issues regarding student. Ignore problems until they escalate.


Horn High School 5

Posted March 01, 2014
- a student
I go to horn,there are a multitude of activiteis to do and is diverse with many cultures. They add new programs yearly making it easier to take classes in your field.

Horn High School 3

Posted July 26, 2013
- a community member
As a former student. I believe the staff was very helpful, especially my counselor Mrs.Pritchard, she really and truly was the best . she motivated me to do my best and on graduation day I knew she was proud of me because I was struggling bad before then. And I also want to thank Mrs.Sagraves, she was also the greatest math teacher ever. She always believed in her students and I disliked the ones that tried to run over her.But thank yall so much !

Horn High School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a community member
This school is a fine school. Test scores are above state averages and are at the top of the entire district. This school gets a bad reputation because of the hearsay among local parents that have never taken a step inside the school. You should walk the halls during instruction periods and see that it is a great learning environment for the students. The teachers want the students to succeed and push them to do so. Fine Arts and Athletics are very competitive and successful. I have found the administration to be extremely helpful and they only want what is best for students. It's time to end this school's bad rap based on it's earlier years-time to move on.


Horn High School 5

Posted April 19, 2012
- a parent
my friends kids go this school and they say its a very great school..soon my son will be going to this high school .

Horn High School 3

Posted April 26, 2010
- a student
Pretty good school but not the best. Ok school spirit and Amazing teachers who love to teach!

Horn High School
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
The school is improving everyday. The teachers (except for a few) really care a great deal about the students. The principal does not return phone calls to parents, but he is a nice guy who is trying. Some teachers need to go, but all in all I would give it a 9. Academics?-excellent.


Horn High School 5

Posted August 03, 2009
- a community member
School spirit, teacher quality, extracurricular activities, school safety, discipline and parental involvement are awesome!

Horn High School 3

Posted August 01, 2009
- a parent
The principal is really trying to bring this school to a higher standard. He is hard to reach at times. Right now if my child was not in ap and honors classes, I would be somewhat displeased with the academics. Some of the guidance counselors are excellent like Ms. Stuekenjuerken. I think the school is going up. The principal needs to continue weeding out the poor teachers that don't care about the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horn High School
3300 East Cartwright Road, Mesquite, TX  75181
(972) 882-5200
Last modified Horn High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horn High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top