Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nolanville Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 697 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Nolanville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 24, 2012

This is a truly great school, and I believe that most of your good or bad experience is based on the teacher that you have. My daughter's second grade teacher was amazing, 3rd grade was not good at all, but now in 4th grade she is doing amazing again. My daughter has Aspergers and they work well with her. Getting the kiddos after school is horrible. Parents don't pay attention to the "Don't get out of your car," sign, LoL. I really do like this school all in all, the office staff can be friendly, so they aren't too bad to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

Both of my sons have attended this school for the last four years. They absolutely love it. The teachers and staff care about the students. My son's teachers have done a fabulous job teaching the cirriculum. Hands down it is THE best elementary school in the area. P.S. My son is dyslexic and the dyslexia program is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

We are a military family and this is our 8th elementary school total. Nolanville is hands down the best school my sons have ever attended. We will be sorry to move on. Their TAG (gifted) program is excellent! My son has learned more here than any other school and has been very happy with all the extra programs such as musicals and student council activities. The teachers have been wonderful. Contrary to other reviewers, the principal is always pleasant and approachable and she seems to be very involved in all that goes on in the school. I highly recommend this school to incoming military families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

This school's highlights include wonderful P.E. and music programs, accelerated reader program, and awesome PTA! Hopefully, leadership will improve with new year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

As stated in many comments it's true that if your child has needs such as mine has ADHD. You are treated almost hostile. All three teachers he's had here have made him feel like he's worthless. The assistant principle has actually threatened my EIGHT year old child about Alternative school. They offer no assistance for special needs. It is a very strict environment and I know two other parents who have taken their children out to home school because this school leave a bad taste in your mouth. I'm sure that if your child can sit still and focus you might like it, but if your child is in anyway talkative or hyper or unable to focus this is NOT the school for you. It will be your worst nightmare trying to deal with the teachers and the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

Our daughter is in first grade here, after attending kindergarten as well. She is taught values of respect, discipline and kindness above and beyond the academics. The teachers communicate well with the parents, I know when my daughter has an area that needs work or she's behaved badly. The ParentConnect website is helpful too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I do worry about this school this year and the new principal's way of managing the school. This school prided itself on management and organization and I see nothing but chaos in the hallways and lunchrooms. The teachers are awesome, but management has to be looked at. I wish KISD would take a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

So far I am quite impressed with this school. Keeping in mind, my child has no special needs. For us we love that the teachers are teaching the children to be good respectful citizins. My child has been even more aware of his words and actions when he is at home. He even wants his younger siblings to learn the same. I feel he is being challenged everyday and his work is coming home with great marks. So I guess I am as proud of my child as I am the school. This is the best elementary school in the KISD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

A vital element to this school's success is parent involvement. The PTA has a strong and devoted core membership that works tirelessly to improve the school and life for the students. Their contributions provide for so many of the extras (field trips, special programs, library programs, Accelerated Reading, Weekly Readers, and classroom technology) that help this school stand above its peers. Hats off to the PTA Leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

What an awesome school! My child is happy and learning. Everyday she is challenged intellectually. I appreciate the focus on developing character qualities and learning good manners. It is amazing that the cafeteria can feed 800+ students in a pleasant, 'table conversation' manner. This week my daughter has been remembering to say, 'Yes, ma'am' and 'No, ma'am' because Mrs. Davis says that is an important rule. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I am so proud to be a part of the work at Nolanville Elementary School. Mrs. Davis truly believes that all children are of infinite worth. Everyday we live by the philosophy that when love and skill work together, the result will be a masterpiece. Our masterpiece is not just outstanding student learning, but also the character of our students who are learning to be responsible and respectful citizens.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2008

I am so proud that my children attend an exemplary school. Teachers focus on engaging students in work that is interesting, challenging and rigorous. Children are well-prepared for the state assessments which is outstanding since those tests are aligned with college entrance exams. It is a joy to see the principal interact with students. She truly cares, and the students respond to her warmth and kindness. When my military friends encouraged me to live in this attendance zone, they were 'right on.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Nolanville is an outstanding school. The teachers really care, are well prepared, and go the extra mile. My child has flourished both academically and socially in such a nurturing and affirming environment. Yes, the school had high standards. They teach character lessons and expect the students to be well-behaved. My child looks forward to going to school everyday. The front office staff is always helpful and polite. The principal is a great leader and much loved by children, parents, and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

This school is all about studying fot the TAKs test. It seems regular learning can only be done aftet they hyped up the cchildren to the max and scared them. My child was chaotic before the test, she told me all we do is test test test In my believe, if you teach the children properly you do NOT have to worry about scoring well on tests. Oh and the kids do not get ANY real physical activity...watching TV during PE and especkially music cannot be the proper way to teach kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

We loved the school and most of the teachers. But the principal needs to go, she is way too stiff for an elementary school. I have to agrree with one of the other parents who posted, everything is too strict. Children are not even allowed to have some fun during recess, no talking in the lunch room, no running outside..how are the kids supposed to lose some of the excessive energy, so they can concentrate in class again. I guess the principal still needs to learn about this concept...more exercise, smarter, fitter, healthier kids. too sad. but I am happy that we have this school behind us. If this school gets a principal that has a warm heart (and not just a spotless outside) and is FUN, this school would be THE SCHOOL!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

My child has special needs and I was mislead by the staff to end his ARD because he was 'doing so well'. Then last year he had a very difficult time and ended up being hospitalized due to emotional distress, because they didn't want to provide the basic direction he needed. When trying to get his ARD re-instated I was told he was manipulting me and that they (the staff) knew him better than I did and they were doing what was best for him. The stress from what was happening in school cause my Autistic 4th grade son to be hospitalized for sucidal thoughts. Beware, when the staff there approaches you about changing your childs IEP or 504. Know your rights upfront. I had to fight for my son's rights to an appropriate education unfortunately he suffered, becuase the staff didn't want to do what is required by law.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

This school is excellent! The administration & teaching staff is wonderful! We have 2 children that attend this school and we have been very pleased with their school experience! We are moving and I wish we could take this school with us! Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

This school is awesome and the test scores speak for themselves. My child has gone here for the past 3 years and loves it. He loves his teachers and they are genuinely concerned about his education and development. I have no complaints about the TAG program nor does my child. You won't find another school (public or private) that performs at this level in this locality. Truly a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

If your child is above average intellectually, beware. The TAG program does not move at a higher pace, and the children are not instructed in creative (outside the box) methods. They are given 'brain boosters'- otherwise known as 'extra work'. Why reward an intelligent thus? The principal is understanding and highly capable, yet kept uninformed by her teachers. Nolanville Elementary has received glowing reviews from many in the area that prefer for their children to not be 'left behind'. If you are satisfied with this form of parenting or if your child is average (or below), then this is the school for you. For me, this school has provided me with the extra push needed seriously contemplate a home school program for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

This school is too strict. At lunch they cannot talk and must wait for all kids to get to table before they are alowed to sit. They cannot talk in the halls. They cannot go out to play until everyone finishes eating. The principle that has been there changed everything when she came a few years ago. My kids were much happier before she came.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

92 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

93 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education75%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male93%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education50%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education80%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education89%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students87%
Female92%
Male81%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education60%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education88%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education86%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students94%
Female91%
Male96%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education33%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female73%
Male78%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education30%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female86%
Male68%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education22%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students69%
Female67%
Male70%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education44%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female84%
Male72%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education27%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female85%
Male82%
Black or African American67%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education31%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male74%
Black or African American39%
Asian80%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education38%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female70%
Male82%
Black or African American67%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education41%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 29%
Hispanic 24% 52%
Black 19% 13%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TEA Gold Performance School 2005-2007 (2005)
  • Title 1 Distinguished Performance School (2006)
  • TEA Exemplary Performance School (2006)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:45 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • GABRIELA MORGAN
Fax number
  • (254) 698-5315

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Old Nolanville Road
Nolanville, TX 76559
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-2180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lighthouse Christian Academy
Harker Heights, TX




Skipcha Elementary School
Harker Heights, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT