Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Birdville High School 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
We specifically moved out of the Keller (Fissol Ridge) School District because of gang issues and guns on campus. Birdville High School was the school of choice due to what we heard from parents in the area. My biggest interest was their Chinese language offerings but after 9th grade I put my son into Spanish - the Chinese teacher was well meaning but totally incapable of teaching Chinese to western students. However, the counselors at BHS are outstanding. Due tto their involvement we were able to navigate through some awful, inflexible district policies. ROTC is also an outstanding unit although the federal government has underfunded the program they still keep up high standards and high expectations. The other neat feature of the school is the Bechtal Learning Center with vocational training venues available to BISD students and are bussed to the center. The coaching staff seem to be at the head of the list here in North Texas and that certainly makes the Birdville students proud to be at this school.

Birdville High School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a student
I loved my 4 years at BHS. I moved from another school district in the Metroplex, and the difference was remarkable. The students, teachers, fine arts directors, and coaches were committed to success and community-building. I found that the general attitude among students was one of friendliness and camaraderie. I did not experience many exclusive cliques during my time there. Though my friends and I were academically competitive (especially among the "Top 12" students), I did not experience the cut-throat atmosphere reported by friends in Carroll and Grapevine-Colleyville ISDs, or the over-crowded and sterile/regimented environment experienced by friends in Keller schools. All of my teachers knew me well and cared about my present and future. For a new school, we had lots of school spirit and pride in our programs. Birdville prepared me well for a top-tier college and Southern Ivy graduate school. And if I move back to Texas, I would choose Birdville for my [future] kids. I hope students and parents enjoy BHS as much as my family and I did!


Birdville High School 5

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
Growing up in the mid-cities for the last 30 years you come to know what you want for yourself and your family if you plan to stay and not move away after college. I knew that I always wanted to raise my kids in this area where you have great neighbors, community and great public schools! All three of our older kids are still in the BHS and SMS schools. They all came from attending W.A.Porter Elementary and absolutely love that school and felt they did a great job in preparing our kids for middle and high school! Our high schooler is very involved in the Cheer/Football program and middle schoolers now in 6th grade in band! We love the teachers and staff! Can't speak enough about all three schools and highly recommends others to move to NRH!

Birdville High School 5

Posted May 15, 2012
- a parent
The administration at Birdville High is one of the best in the state. The principal and vice principals really care about their students. They not only know the students by name, they KNOW them. They support the students on and off the campus. The care and concern for the students' well being is filtered down to faculty. I am so pleased that my children have attended BHS and feel that they will be prepared for the future.

Birdville High School 3

Posted July 13, 2011
- a community member
This school has great academics and it strives on making sure that their students excel in their classes.


Birdville High School 5

Posted November 11, 2010
- a parent
BHS Rocks! Our daughter just graduated and our son just moved in. Teachers and staff care about all students. Great opportunities for students in athletics and fine arts programs. We purchased our home in the attendance home just so our kids could attend BHS!

Birdville High School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Birdville High School 0
no rating

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
Birdville is a good school. The teachers are great, and they really care. Some students are nice, but there are cliques. If anybody says there isn't, they are crazy. The girls are a little snobby, and the boys only worry about sports. It is always clean. I would rate it a 4 out of 5.


Birdville High School 5

Posted November 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Birdville High School 5

Posted June 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Birdville High School
9100 Mid Cities Boulevard, North Richland Hills, TX  76180
(817) 547-8000
Last modified Birdville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Birdville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top