Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilson Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 963 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

This school it horrible when it comes to special needs kids! The worst teacher would be Angela Rexford, LA sped teacher, the principals conducts are way off base! They protect the wrong doing of teachers, and go out there way to sabotage a child's life literally! they are more reactive than proactive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

Wilson is a great school. Great teachers, and the best athletics coaches in the district.


Posted August 13, 2013

This is my last year of Wilson, so i know what I'm saying. I disagree with what most of the parents are saying. Yeah, there's bullying, but come on people-THIS IS LIFE! No matter where you go or how old you are there will always be bullying. You can't protect your children forever. All of my teachers are super nice and care about their students-unless they are as rude as... you can probably finish the sentence. And just because of that sentence don't you dare down grade me. And yeah, we get searched on the last day of school, but it's more for shaving cream and spray paint that 8th graders bring because it's the last day. It is a bit smaller than average, it is a bit dated-I guess, but it doesn't help when you look at the down side, and not look at the bright side-as my fellow student(8/6/13) stated. Wilson has great programs and staff, and -no offense- but it seems like a lot of you are publicizing online school instead of focusing on the topic-WILSON. All of my family went here, and that includes my disabled cousin, so get your facts straight. They're treated as equals. As for racism, we have a lot of diversity for a small school and we're pretty cool with it.Wilson isn't trash.


Posted August 6, 2013

I'm a student here and I have to say all o the other Parents are wrong about wilson wilson is a great school so there is some bad kids there are kids. Like that in every school I'm goin into the 7th grade now and I'm perfectly fine there is one kid that has cancer and everyone treats him like a normal kid and this is a perfect school for kids that play instruments so parents out there stop looking on the down side and look on the bright side for once


Posted May 18, 2013

If you have disabilities this is the worst school ever. I have disabled children and am disabled myself and have been treated horribly by the administration and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

The school has mostly good teachers, in social studies i feel that it is being paced way to fast. The only over all problem are the students them selves. It seems that people get away with anything, and are given a "light punishment" either they need to have worse punishments or get rid of the students who don't want to learn and just want to get in trouble. I would say public schools are horrible, do online or some other, you will be happy that you made the decision later on.


Posted August 6, 2012

Wilson Middle School. Couldn't do it. Wouldn't do it. Why do it? My daughter was a talented, beautiful, smart, moral child. Drowning in a sea of middle school bulliers. She was intentionally being tormented in physical, verbal, and psychological ways. Teachers and counselors were unable to help. She needed a change. we needed a new way to do school. K12 TXVA would be our new option. I was scared. I doubted my abilities to educated my child. I did not believe that K12TXVA would be something I could do as a parent coach. My daughter is self-motivated and disciplined. Together we embarked on this adventure. After some bumps in the road while getting started we became comfortable with how the program was set up. She was able set a schedule for herself that at the end of the day gave her more freedom than public school could offer. She had as long as she needed to master lessons that were difficult for her. She could use You tube videos to supplement her learning. We were able to use our school time more effectively and have private tutors if needed. Because we were able to use our time more effectl,y she had more time to go to the horse barn. She had time to be in private orchestras.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

As a parent of a middle school student at Wilson I couldn't be happier with my child's education. Middle school is a challenge, but this school, campus wide has helped to keep my daughter focused on her academics. She has learned so much and is growing into a lovely young woman because of WilsonMS!!! We arae so happy with this school and thrilled to have such a lovely environment for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

I'm a student at Wilson Middle School and I completely hate it. The teachers walk around as if they hate thier jobs and choose favorites that they dont make do as much work. Not only do they show favoritism,and dislike some students, but they also do nothing about bullying. My family moves around alot and this is the worst school I have ever been to!


Posted December 17, 2011

I went to Wilson when I was younger and my 13 year old goes there now. The school has gone down hill big time! I hate that my son goes to school there. A lot of the teachers/staff act like they dont want to be there, dont want to give the extra effort to help. The kids there are awful. They all had to walk through a metal detector the last day of school last year for fear of kids bringing guns and knives. There is constant bullying and it doesnt seem like the staff is doing anything to control it.. I am definitely looking for another middle school for my son and I know A LOT of other parents that feel the same way. It is really sad how bad it has gotten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

Hello parents & students! So, I am new to Wilson Middle School, bu this school is amazing! The teachers are always there and making sure you are learning. I just love this school. Great people too. Before I went to this school, I did a little research about this school and people's opinion and I was kinda sad and worried because of all the bad comments. But then the first day of school, I saw that all those comments were wrong. It really deserves 5 stars :) And becasue i am a student in Wilson Middle School, no one knows better than me because I am there all day.


Posted April 21, 2010

We moved our family back to Plano because of the great experiences with PISD. However, Wilson was a total disappointment. The administrative team was more concerned about procedures and punishment rules than offering real challenges for the kids. Unprofessional, and I certainly don't trust my children in their hands anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2009

I attended Wilson 6th and 7th grade it's a pretty good school. teachers are mostly good. the 6th grade teachers are welcoming to the new students. great fine arts program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

I have attended Wilson Middle School and I have to say that is a wonderful school. The teachers are helpful, the students are kind, and many students leave with high grades. I transferred schools and i was dissapointed with it. WIlson is a very good school and i was very happy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2008

My sister is special needs and attended Wilson Middle School. We were extremely disappointed in the faculity as well as the students. The teachers lacked kindness and compassion and were slow to respond to situations that should have been avoided. The students were uncaring and the ability to reach out to others was nonexistent. The school needs to do major diversity training. I do not have kind words to say about Plano schools. I recommend a kindler, gentler school district for special needs students.


Posted August 2, 2008

For children who needs a little more to reach the highest levels or to the struggling kids who needs the extra push, this is the best school in PISD. My 4 kids came to Wilson with various degrees of needs. They all passed Wilson with the highest honors. Wonderful teachers and a Principal who is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I really love Wilson Middle school. My son had wonderful teachers and experiences. He got so much out of this past year having Ms. Husbands as his English teacher. She was very clever with finding ways to lure the boys into a love of writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

Wilson is a very challenging school. Lots of homework. Children are encouraged to think. The teachers are in touch with the children and care about each and every child. They will communicate with the parents. They welcome emails and will let you know how your child is doing. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Excellent school. Great principal with involved PTA. The interaction I've had with the teachers has been positive, even when we had to meet to discuss my child's performance. I feel like part of the team helping my child get the best education. My child is enjoying everything. The police officer running crimestoppers is the best; my child was so impressed with him in 5th grade she couldn't wait to come to Wilson to join crimestoppers. The band teachers were great and my child enjoyed learning a new instrument and the whole experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

Our second child is in her 2nd (7th Grade) year at Wilson and we are still as happy as ever. With a total of 5 years experience here the only complaints we would have is lack of funding for athletics and extracurricular activities due to the 'Robin Hood Law' in Texas. Our previously well funded schools are suffering due to wealth redistribution. The school treats all children the same with the same demand for excellence. The purposeful diversity attained by bringing students of African American and Hispanic decent from East Plano into this predominately white neighborhood and the scores this school receives from the state plainly supports our observations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

297 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

289 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

310 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

307 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

301 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

284 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

284 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

273 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

279 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female92%
Male87%
Black or African American88%
Asian95%
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education72%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education50%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education69%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Black or African American71%
Asian97%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education87%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education95%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education85%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black or African American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education88%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male87%
Black or African American64%
Asian95%
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education78%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female97%
Male99%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education87%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

289 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female87%
Male82%
Black or African American76%
Asian100%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education64%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female85%
Male82%
Black or African American72%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education59%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black or African American79%
Asian96%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education61%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
Black or African American72%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education75%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female87%
Male76%
Black or African American72%
Asian93%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education42%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female95%
Male87%
Black or African American88%
Asian91%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education72%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Black or African American69%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education95%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Black or African American63%
Asian95%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education33%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
Female84%
Male81%
Black or African American68%
Asian91%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education44%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 31%
Hispanic 27% 50%
Black 12% 13%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Selenda Sager
Fax number
  • (469) 752-6701

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Custer Rd
Plano, TX 75075
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 752-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT