Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
We transferred our two children from Bowman ( our feeder school) to SMS and the daily commute has been a huge sacrifice for our family, however, well worth our time. Cant express enough gratitude towards the teachers, especially the honors & PACE programs, and more importantly Principal Jason Myatt & his administrative staff. Everyone at SMS, including the PTA, takes pride in their work and its obvious that the students are top priority -- daily!

Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a community member
Personally i think that Schimelpfenig is an amazing school. The teachers are amazing and the administrators too. The teachers know what their teaching and know how to teach it. The school is very well disciplined and they know how to get something done when it is needed. The principals (all 3) are fantastic and very nice. They really care about the children and are just doing it for the money. I really recommend SMS.


Schimelpfenig Middle School 1

Posted April 17, 2011
- a community member
Schim is ehhhh, English program is great, math is terrible, sports are up and down, Homework and discipline are sooooooooooooo sorry. And were supposed to pick between Plano adn West now. -.-

Schimelpfenig Middle School 1

Posted March 10, 2011
- a community member
go sms!!! have panther pride!! full of education anf fun at the same time!!! Go to Schimel, and you'll spell "and" as "anf" EVERY TIME!!!

Schimelpfenig Middle School 4

Posted November 19, 2010
- a parent
Schimelpfenig has been an good school for our kids. PACE program is excellent, challenging, and has incredible teachers. There is lots of homework, but both of my kids are working ahead of grade level and there is some opportunity to work on at school. This school is now a "split" school not due to parents, but because of the school district's attempt to balance enrollment and test scores. Parents I know are friendly and involved.


Schimelpfenig Middle School 1

Posted November 18, 2010
- a community member
Thanks to the superiority attitudes of the parents, this is now a school to stay far far away from! Thanks to the parents, its now a split school - meaning kids go to 2 different high schools and senior high schools. I would look elsewhere in Plano - I suggest heading West.

Schimelpfenig Middle School 3

Posted November 11, 2010
- a community member
All of the middle schools in Plano ISD are excellent, however beware of the parent-culture at this school. Most of the parents have a really bizarre superiority attitude that you really don't find at other middle schools in the district.

Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2010
- a community member
Hey! I love Schimelpfenig Middle school. I have been here for about half an year and I really like it. The teachers are nice and experienced, they do not assign too much homework, and the school leaves time for the kids who wanna go pro in a sport!(like me)


Schimelpfenig Middle School 2

Posted March 31, 2010
- a student
Now while there are good teachers at this school such as Kleiman, Dupre, etc. and a nice enough ISS superviosr and Dean, the discpiline system is very... iffy. As of 2010, you get these things called PRIDE slips which no one really cares about... and some teachers give dententions for bad reasons and you can get ISS for very vague things and inexpirenced teachers might for instince give you ISS for chewing gum when you get a detention or ISS and some subs they hire are jsut terrible. The homework is no big deal if you try, unless oyu have Kleiman. Good enough teachers- crappy discpiline system and some terrble staff members

Schimelpfenig Middle School 4

Posted June 08, 2009
- a student
it's a great school with an awesome band and an amazing PACE teacher [Ms. Kleiman] who nobody i know dislikes. yes, we have lots of homework, but if you work hard you can finish and get a good grade in every class. even PACE.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Schimelpfenig Middle School
2400 Maumelle Drive, Plano, TX  75023
(469) 752-6400
Last modified Schimelpfenig Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Schimelpfenig Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top