Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Schimelpfenig Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Secretary both of them. The counseling staff all of them. They made us feel welcomed to their school. They are so kind! They are so professional! They are so helpful!

Schimelpfenig Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
So many teachers and all of them care! That's just astonishing. I've experienced some unhappy teachers and some teachers who aren't very interested in speaking to me about my child. These teachers at this school express interest and dedication without any hesitation.


Schimelpfenig Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
First hand knowledge and experience of this type of behavior. My children were welcomed to this school and this school district in the most respectful manner I could've expected.

Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
I'll start with the building. It's a safe environment and well designed & cared for building. When you are given clearance to enter the building you will be greeted by two very kind and respectful secretaries. The counseling staff is great. The Teachers care and without hesitation are dedicated to their students success. Its diverse and has a good balance of many different cultures. I've had my share of experiences with several school districts in other states. I've been a part of a top rated school districts outside of TX. This school district is by far our favorite. My student doesn't have as much fun as other schools offered. This school body is more low key and not as mature as middle schoolers in other states. I appreciate that it keeps my child more youthful instead of rushing to be an adult. All in all its got an excellent staff. I was a little hesitant with the principal because I have been within 10 feet of him several times and he never spoke to me or welcomed us. He was very professional though when I had to meet with him in regards to a disciplinary issue. I'm so glad we chose Schimelpfenig Middle School for our child.

Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted December 16, 2015
- a community member
There needs to be fifteen words but all I can say is this school was amazing!


Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
I have a son in PACE at SMS. Most teachers and especially the Student Counselor are very caring and involved. My son felt comfortable to contact any teacher with any question by email or in person. Even tho my son picked up the Viola for the first time in 6th grade, he made all-region in 8th grade, due to the inspiring orchestra director. The Counselor Mr.Schlosser is the best! He has helped immensely for all questions about course schedule in 9th grade and Credit By Exam. Also have to mention excellent Math and PACE programs at SMS. In all - a very supportive environment for the kids, and teachers give homework, but don't believe in slave driving!!!

Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2015
- a community member
This school is AMAZINGLY for multiple reasons. Firstly, the music programs (especially the band) are one of the best in Texas. It also excels in sports and athletics, they have won countless titles th ough the years. Lastly, the teachers and staff are great and this school offers great higher level math (up to 3 grades ahead)

Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
We transferred our two children from Bowman ( our feeder school) to SMS and the daily commute has been a huge sacrifice for our family, however, well worth our time. Cant express enough gratitude towards the teachers, especially the honors & PACE programs, and more importantly Principal Jason Myatt & his administrative staff. Everyone at SMS, including the PTA, takes pride in their work and its obvious that the students are top priority -- daily!


Schimelpfenig Middle School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a community member
Personally i think that Schimelpfenig is an amazing school. The teachers are amazing and the administrators too. The teachers know what their teaching and know how to teach it. The school is very well disciplined and they know how to get something done when it is needed. The principals (all 3) are fantastic and very nice. They really care about the children and are just doing it for the money. I really recommend SMS.

Schimelpfenig Middle School 1

Posted April 17, 2011
- a community member
Schim is ehhhh, English program is great, math is terrible, sports are up and down, Homework and discipline are sooooooooooooo sorry. And were supposed to pick between Plano adn West now. -.-

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Schimelpfenig Middle School
2400 Maumelle Drive, Plano, TX  75023
(469) 752-6400
Last modified Schimelpfenig Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Schimelpfenig Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top