Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Paul the Apostle

Private | PK-8 | 363 students

We are best known for Catholic community.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Richardson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2013

We have 2 kids in this school and are extremely impressed by the level of professionalist, high academic standards and friendly atmosphere. Wonderful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

St. Paul is a small school with huge benefits. The school is always enhancing their curriculum with the most up to date technology. They have recently updated their computer lab, which is amazing. Each classroom is equipped with student computers. The teachers are constantly researching ways to enhance the learning experiences in their classrooms for their students. The school's atmosphere is friendly and caring. I highly recommend you take a tour of the school and you will be excited about enrolling your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

A strong sense of community. Caring teachers and staff. Excellent academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

We have been at Saint Paul for 18 years. My third child just graduated from 8th grade and will be starting at a private catholic high school in the fall. All three of my children were very well prepared for high school. The sense of community at this school is phenomenal. I highly reccommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

We've been at Saint Paul's four years - not near as long as most! We came to Saint Pauls' from a large and well known Dallas private school. The emphasis there was on money - what you had, what the kids had - nothing spiritual and no ethnic diversity. Saint paul's is a flash back to the time when it was about learning the basics, and doing well. They support the total student. If there are learning issues they are dealt with effectively. My child was below grade level in Kindergarten and with tutoring from the school during school hours they now have her two years beyond grade level in Language arts/Reading and at grade level in Math! I love that the families there are ethnically diverse and it's all about community! Jennifer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

St. Paul is a great school. This is my daughter's 4th year at St. Paul. The teachers are very caring and great with the kids. The school feels like one big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

We've been at St. Paul for 6 years now and have 3 kids enrolled in K, 3rd and 6th. Very pleased with the academic standards and teachers. Great family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2008

We have been at St. Paul for two years. We have had a great expeience. The lower school-5th and below is superior. The middle school, good but I would like to see the kids more challenged and less social. Teachers are helpful and concerned. Excellent Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

I had children at this school for 14 years and graduated all three of them from SPS. We were very involved and feel like our children received the best education possible. The children have gone on to do well both in high school and college. You will not find a more caring, concerned staff anywhere. The academics are second to none. It sometimes lacks in extra-curricular activties; but, that only applies when there is a lack of interest and/or resources. There is a sport for every child at every grade level. The scouting program is well established for both boys and girls. If you want your child to have an excellent, well-rounded, balanced education, St. Paul is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2006

I started St. Paul in the 4th grade, and i'm graduating in upcoming May. St. Paul is a very good school. I've had some of the best times of my life there. Extracurricular activities and sports are excellent here. I love St. Pual's warm atmosphere and challenging curriculum. Sending you children here is a great choice.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 37%
Asian 11% N/A
Black 11% 14%
Hispanic 7% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School of Excellence

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Darbie Safford
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (972) 690-1542

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Each child is treated as an individual with special talents and abilities.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Lynch High School
Jesuit College Preparatory School of Dallas
Ursuline Academy of Dallas
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

720 S. Floyd Rd
Richardson, TX 75080
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 235-3263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Iant Qur'Anic Academy
Richardson, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT