Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Canyon Creek Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 456 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Richardson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2009

The Best Value in Dallas! Graduating my 4th Child this year and one more to go. State Championships, National Merit Scholarships. 100% College bound with 40% getting scholarships, including 2 National Merit Finalists out of 34 Seniors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

Canyon Creek has been an overall wonderful exsperence for our two kids... our daughter is in 8th grade - going into 9th, and our son is in K4. They both love it and woulldnt dream of going to anyother school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

I have three kids in Canyon Creek. This is the best value for quality Christian education in North Dallas. With over 120 new students, new teachers and improved facilities, you really should check our Canyon Creek for your child's education. BTW, forgot to mention the TWO State titles in Volleyball and Football. Champions are born here at CCCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

This is my first year at CCCA, and the high school environment does not prepare you for what life is like outside of a christian private school. The students in my class have been going here since they were really young, and for the most part, they are not very interested in getting to know any of the new students this year. The classes and teachers are fine, i just have a problem with how things are socially.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

My child is in her 3rd year at CCCA, and I have continued to be frustrated by the lack of communication betweent the school and the parents. All they want from me is money -- and I'm tired of increased tuition. I see all the extra money going into improving high school programs and facilities, yet I have an elementary student who I am paying for. The new administration is too business and less and less ministry. We will not be re-enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

No school is perfect, but CCCA is has many strengths to consider. The academics are above average. The athletics teaches young men and women how to compete and win. The Christian environment is superb. What's exciting is watching and being a part of improvements in the school and the positive effects on the kids. Technology, healthy eating, the math program are all areas vastly improved year-over-year. The school is not shrinking, but actually added over 120 students this year alone. Teachers are in funded Masters Programs. Students are excited and working hard. They will be better prepared for college than those coming from public schools, except maybe the IB students at PESH and Allen. The christian environment is terrific and the administration LISTENS and acts on suggestions. After raising two older children in private/public schools who were accepted at top 10 schools, I'm keeping my youngest here at CCCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Canyon Creek has actually grown by nearly 100 students this fall. In addition, additional funds raised this year because of the growth have included major renovations to the facilities themselves including new flooring, new flat panel TV's in all the rooms, teachers equipped with mac books, and increased security measures just to name a few. There is also a new fine arts wing currently under construction. In addition, classes have been brought on. This school is making a very conscious effort to be the number one school in the Dallas area. Time and space does not permit me to tell you all the things happening at CCCA, but I do challenge you to take another look at this school and not take the dated opinions of previous reviewers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2008

This school is shrinking year after year and rasies the tuition year after year, it's all about money. The administration has changed but it has along way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

Increased tuition has priced this school out of the market, for what is offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

I agree, Canyon Creek has no AP classes that compare with any public high school in the Dallas Area. High School is just simple not good as far as preparing the student for college life. Sorry : o (
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

I've been going to CCCA for more than 7yrs. and I love it there, but there are some areas that need improving. We need more AP classes, It's one of the main reasons people are leaving the school. Because we do not have many academic cousres (or Electives) Also I think there should be dances at our school - like Prom. You should trust your students enough to let them dance (OMGosh yes) But overall It is a fine school. It just needs a little bit of tweaking.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

I've been a student at Canyon Creek for 2 years now and my experience has been better than any other school I've been to, but still not excellent. I'm going into my junior year in high school and as a student, I've noticed a few issues. The math program is seriously lacking in Junior High and was in early High School. They have hired a new math teacher who is excellent and this year he'll be teaching all the high school math courses - this will improve things immensely. The courses overall are very blah. They aren't challenging, stimulating, or require much thought. There is simply a lot of mundane textbook homework. I'll be the only student to say this: we need harder homework. Spanish is by far the worst class I could have imagined. We need more AP classes. But it's a good environment despite the academic things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2007

I cannot say enough good thing about my experience with CCCA. It truly offers a Christian educational experience - and not one in name only. Moreover, its parochial nature does not hinder its outstanding educational curriculum. My son attended 1st grade at CCCA and then left for PISD - and hands down there is no comparison CCCA is better! Brenda Galimore was responsive to my questions and genually concerned with my child's progress. I hope my son will be able to return. I don't think we'd stay through high school however b/c I don't see CCCA as being competitive in terms of college placement. I have high praise for the lower school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

Having attended another private school in the area, our son gives CCCA 2 thumbs up - as do we. There has been a change of leadership within the last few years. I can tell that the current leadership (Administrator and Secondary principal and teachers) really care about the students. Their welfare and education are top priority. They have been working hard over the last year to improve and enhance the math and science programs. I am especially glad that the Christian perspective is emphasized - it is not just a private school, it is truly a Christian school. I would definitely encourage anyone to check them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

CCCA continues to be a great experience for our kids (3 of them attend CCCA). We recetnly received ACT/SAT scores for our HS student and were pleasantly surprised at how well they performed. If you're considering private or home school education for your kid(s), you owe it to yourself to check out CCCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

My child has been in this school for jr. high and I come away with mixed feelings. The math program is seriously lacking and the science program is tedious and uninteresting. English is excellent and the other classes are acceptable. Some of the schools hiring policies seriously restrict quality of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

Dedicated teachers. The middle school and high school, every class always starts with prayers. Improved campus security. The number of high school gradutes still not many, and this affect the SAT scores. However, it improves dramatically year by year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

Canyon Creek has a solid elementary program, although I feel there's too much paperwork for the younger grades. It has a strong English program in the junior high grades. We haven't experienced HS yet. The school offers a variety of sports, band, chorus, drama, and yearbook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

Overall I would rate CCCA as very good Baptist school although they high student to teacher ratio of 24 to 1. The last couple of years they have dropped Art and Spanish due to budget constraints. CCCA is very heavy on the paper work and need to incorporate more hands on in all areas of their curriculum. I would like them to have a more rounded curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

The pre-AP and AP English program is excellent.
—Submitted by an administrator


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 31%
Black 12% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Hispanic 6% 51%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Andy Wright
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (972) 234-8414

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cheerleading
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 Custer Pkwy
Richardson, TX 75080
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 231-4890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Enterprise City
Richardson, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT