Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ambleside School of San Angelo

Private | PK-12 | 72 students

Ambleside is best known for using the Charlotte Mason methodology and philosophy

 

Living in San Angelo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $68,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

after many inpropriaties we realized this school was not a good choice when responses were lacking in many regards. using greatschools reviews in choosing this school, we didnt realize only recommended reviews were posted or rather biased for only the better. seems misleading or rather deceptive to hide honest experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

Ambleside School of San Angelo has an amazing Christian atmosphere that feels like home for the students. Children want to come to school because they love the learning and take joy in discovering great ideas through living books. The kind and caring staff walk hand-in-hand with parents to cooperatively bring up a child in the way that they should go. Call us for a tour today...make the choice for a decidedly different education for your child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

Ambleside School of San Angelo is truly unique in its philosophy and methodology. I had all but given up on primary education until I saw what was happening at this amazing school. The Charlotte Mason philosophy is based in every child being seen as a person, deserving a rich education filled with living ideas, art, music, Bible, language, field study, strings, and a strong core curriculum in literature, history, math and science. The goal is to have students love learning and Ambleside students do just that. They also build real and lasting relationships with each other. Most of these things cannot be found in the public school system anymore, and are a priceless commodity for any parent. The twice yearly, teacher designed essay style examinations are a true reflection of the great ideas the students have learned in a semester. The field studies (trips) are designed for student learning in the curriculum they are studying. Children at Ambleside truly love to learn the great ideas placed before them in a safe Christian environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2014

Ambleside is the BEST private school available to students in the San Angelo area. The teachers are of the highest quality and utilize the advanced curriculum to the students' benefit. My children are loved and will be prepared for anything the future holds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Ambleside School of San Angelo is a fully accredited, Christian school that uses the Charlotte Mason philosophy of education. Parents are actively involved in a partnership with teachers in connecting their children to timeless ideas through the use of great texts in a broad, deep curriculum. The school's peaceful atmosphere is conducive to children's learning, and a mutual respect between students and staff ensure a healthy caring environment. The school is evaluated annually by Ambleside Schools International, and its students' lowest average national test scores (Stanford Intermediate Testing) at the end of sixth grade are 3.5 grade levels above grade level (over the past 4 years). If you are looking for a unique Christ-centered school that has not taken the arts and music out of a rigorous and meaningful education for your child, Ambleside school is the only place in San Angelo for you. Deep concentration on the core subjects with the added benefits of foreign language, music, strings, art, artist study, composer study, poet study, nature study, handwork, community service, and field studies for all grade levels, Ambleside School of San Angelo is worth checking out.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2014

I consider myself extremely lucky to be the parent of an Ambleside student. The environment encourages the love of learning. I know that my son is in the best possible place every day. He has developed a positive attitude towards learning and truly misses school on the weekends. I know that my son's teacher cares about him as an individual. The entire staff, including the principal, are remarkable human beings. Academically, you won't find higher standards. I work in the public school system and see my son far exceeding the public school students in all subject areas. The attention that Ambleside pays to the arts is amazing. Many public schools have neglected art and music with the increased focus on standardized testing. Each month I make a sacrifice to pay his tuition. You do not have to be wealthy to be accepted and loved at Ambleside. If you are looking for a better option, go see them. The difference is obvious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Ambleside School of San Angelo, Texas is a school where students are able to be themselves, to achieve their highest aspirations and to still be able to study in a Godly environment. I would recommend this school for anyone that would like an excellent education for their children and not be influenced by the world.


Posted September 10, 2013

The first day of 7th grade my son said, " That was actually the best day ever. I actually liked it and it was fun." On the fifth day of school he said, "My brain is tired from trying to get all of the knowledge." We have been here at Ambleside since Kindergarten. We love this school, the teachers, and the administration. Teaching to my child's heart.....what could be better? He is growing as a whole person, in which one day will serve him quite well. He will be ready for college both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

We love the Ambleside of San Angelo. It is a wonderful school full of great teachers who truly care for students. They teach the whole child and while the challenging academics are important, so is instructing children in habits of kindness and respect. The school strives to instill positive character habits which is something all children must master in order to succeed. They read classic literature. It is NOT just reading books for points. Children fall in love with reading because of rich characters and compelling story lines of the books chosen. The school has an outstanding arts program and children learn violin. Please stop by, tour it, and see! Once you do, you won't want your child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

A superb education with character molding- Ambleside School is like homeschooling only not in Your Home. I especially enjoy ready the rich literature in their original works along with my children San Angelo is blessed to have this SUPERB EDUCATION offered in this town. I encourage Everyone to just go visit the school and you will see for yourself !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

Actually, this school continues to get better and better. While the founder contributed greatly to the school, the school's philosophy originated first with the British Educational Reformer, Charlotte Mason, in the late 1800s, due to her dismay at education becoming a "system" and children being treated as "products" not persons. Then this philosophy made resurgence with the Founders of Ambleside Schools International many years before this great school made its way to San Angelo. It's sad to know that a parent is so ill informed as the June 2013 review is quite skewed. Never has there been a Kindergarten class with ages 4 to 7 and Ambleside does not promote kids for "social" reasons. It is true, however, that parents were asked to participate in purchasing the building, which is far more inclusive than one or two families funding the school. It is true, too, that Ambleside seeks to pay their teachers a higher salaray than most private schools, and as a result, tuition is more costly. If you would like accurate information, please visit and experience the difference of this life giving, phenomenal school. You won't regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

The cons are the tuition, lack of sports, and only a few kids in high school. The positives are the people, the location, and the small classes. If my kids had learning disabilities, I would not choose here as they don't offere the services public school does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

Ambleside was an answered prayer for my family. A large part of why their methods and philosophy of education works is centered on the relationships the students have with work, others and subjects. This allows the students to become well rounded in all subjects as well as life. Obviously, this is a small example of how the Ambleside education fosters amazing thinkers and leaders for America's future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

My child was at another private school for Pre-K and Kindergarten. By mid year in Kindergarten she had decided she hated school. At that point I knew I would most likely home school her beginning in first grade. Then I heard about Ambleside. I researched the philosophy for months. Then I visited Ambleside Fredericksburg and knew that it was not merely ideal on paper, but was in fact a reality. My daughter began at Ambleside in first grade and by mid year was waking me up at 3:00 A.M. worried that she d be late for school. What a difference! She is now going into seventh grade and often says she wishes there was an Ambleside College. Thank you Ambleside for empowering my child to be a life-long learner. Her future professors and employers will be grateful for the foundation that you ve given to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My daughter was enrolled in a private Catholic school in San Angelo from pre-k through 1st grade and wasn't excelling academically and we were not filled with a feeling of safety, love or comradery , so we made the switch to Ambleside. I cannot express how pleased and excited she and I have been with this school. I have never seen so much love shown between the staff and the children, the staff and the parents and even between all the parents themselves. When you walk through the doors, it's as if you're with your family. And the morning chapel, academics, art and music are just outstanding. My daughter likes to go as early as possible and wants to stay even after she has been dismissed. They have taught her to love learning. It's the best decision we have ever made. I cannot recommend this school enough. RUN...don't walk....to Ambleside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

Be sure to research Ambleside's curriculum and philosophy before you decide to enroll your child. The program is not a fit for all, even though it looks spectacular on paper. It works for some who are highly motivated. But, keep in mind that many aspects of the program are incredibly idealistic and rigid. Students who are willing to work hard will excel. 'Submission' is a huge part of the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

After years of the A Beka curriculum my child had come to an impass academically. Their first week in the calm and rich Ambleside atmosphere, fostered by caring, professional staff made all the difference in the world to my child. After several years at Ambleside I am only more convinced that Ambleside is the school of choice in San Angelo, TX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

This school has been a godsend for our family. I was homeschooling my children and became ill so we had to put them in school and we have been very pleasantly surprised with how well our son adapted and how much he has grown and thrived. I have never met teachers and staff who care so much about their students and their families--and I am a teacher by trade. Academic standards are high, yet students are encouraged to not only excel in the diverse curriculum, but among their peers and in their relationship in the community. This is a place where kids will be encouraged to 'grow-up well' in all arenas--social, academic, spiritual. In my opinion, Ambleside is the best kept secret in San Angelo!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 31%
Hispanic 14% 51%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public School
Home School
Other Private Schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Angelo State University
Baylor
LSU
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 3:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Chris Sloan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (325) 658-8340

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Charlotte Mason
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Golf
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Golf
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Fundraising
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Please call 659-1654 for a school tour. I would love to show you what we do that sets us apart from all the other schools in San Angelo.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
19
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
19
Students typically come from these schools
Public School
Home School
Other Private Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
extended family underwriting (e.i. grandparents)

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Angelo State University
Baylor
LSU
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

511 West Harris Avenue
San Angelo, TX 76903
Website: Click here
Phone: (325) 659-1654

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Central High School
San Angelo, TX



Angelo Catholic School
San Angelo, TX


Angelo Catholic School
San Angelo, TX


Gateway Christian
San Angelo, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT