Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 677
 

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lackland Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school. The teacher are great at communicating with the parents as well. Also the reading program is the best I have ever seen, they place the kids in classes based on their reading level not the age. I have a 8 yo son that reads at the 4th grade level and so he gets to go to a 4th grade class to read there are 3rd graders and 5th graders also in his reading class and it is really well structured so everyone learns and develops to get better. It encourages a lot of parent participation but it is not forced. If I could give the school 10 stars I would. Disregard the lady at the front desk she just seems angry, but the rest of the faculty and staff are great.
1 person found this helpful

Lackland Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Love this School! Both my children have been going here for 3 years. I made sure we lived on base so we could go to this school, The only drawback is you have to live on Lackland to attend. The technology here is fantastic. All classrooms have IPads and 6th-12th graders actually are assigned one to take home for the entire year. I have a 2nd grader and an 8th grader that attend Stacey and they both love it. I have had only one issue with another child but it was immediately taken care of. And as far as teachers we have loved every one of them. Like all schools I am sure there is some issues or whatever, the world is not perfect and not everyone is going to be happy with every decision that is made. The PTSO is great and has some sort of fundraiser event every week from pizza night to skate night, The office staff is very welcoming and helpful. Mrs. Leija the principle is so sweet and Loves all of her students. All classes have PE every day and the PE staff is great. We are possibly PCS'ing this summer and this school and our military family are actually the only things we are going to miss in San Antonio.


Lackland Elementary School 3

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
It is a good school. However, my experiences have differed from teacher to teacher. One teacher actually compared raising children to raising dogs. When I had finally had enough of her I told her so. The schools response was to try to intimidate me by assembling all her 1st grade teachers and attempting to try and make my child the problem. She had been in the school for three months and had never had any problems at her other school. In 4th grade my child started experiencing bullying. The response from the VP was "we will talk to them..."Two days later they were at it again. I withdrew her, and she elected to return second quarter the following year, bulling has started again... They need to practice what they preach about there zero bullying/harassment policies.

Lackland Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2011
- a parent
My kids have gone to this school for 6 years and it has been amazing! We have had great experiences with all the teachers, principals, staff and parents!

Lackland Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2010
- a parent
great school. Very up to date with technology in the classroom. My daughter goes to PE everyday; attends computer class, spanish, music, art and one more extra-curricular i can't remember.


Lackland Elementary School 3

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
This school is pretty good compared to most of the public schools here in San Antonio, mostly to the NISD schools, but I was very disappointed that the school didn't want to accept my youngest daughter just because we move out of base, even though my older daughter have been enrolled in it for two years now. She is also an excellent student and have been recognized and awarded multiple times in the school. I know my youngest daugther will be too, but it seems like they do not valorate students for its good qualities. They just care if you live on base or not, they do not really support military families or the military children. My husband serves our country living in base or off base. School on base should be a right for all the military families!

Lackland Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
My daughter started in Pre-K4 here and finished in 3rd grade. My son, went from Pre-K3 to Kindergarden. We recently had to move, and I was devestated. This school is one of the best schools in the USA! We actually had the chance to move off base to a nicer, bigger house. When I learned my kids would not be able to attend, I turned the chance down. The teachers are excellent, the staff is wonderful, the Principal is a sweet and funny person. The office ladies are always warm and friendly! The people in this school go the extra mile for you, specially when they learn you are new. The school my kids now attend... well.... not even close! If every school on base mirrored Lackland's ways, WOW! I can't even imagine the possibilities of our future.

Lackland Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
My daughter went here last year for PK-4 and she just loved loved her teacher. I liked her teacher also, but I also loved that they had super high standards. She learned so much and would continuely come home having learned things I had no idea they even taught in PK. The curriculum was awesome and I would suggest getting your kids in this school if possible.


Lackland Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
this school is amazing! we were hesitant to put our son in the school because we prefered a christian private school. we are so glad we stepped out of comfort zone! they cater to every child's needs. insuring no child is left behind.

Lackland Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lackland Elementary School
2460 Kenly Ave Bldg 8265, San Antonio, TX  78236
(210) 357-5053
Last modified Lackland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lackland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top