Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,054 students|George Gervin Academy
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Gervin Academy 5

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
Great all around school. The teachers care about each student as an individual. My son has autism and his teachers have given him confidence and the ability to enjoy reading.

George Gervin Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 18, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are caring and committed to each child. My oldest son graduated from here and his brother is now in 4th grade. His teachers have taught him the joy of reading and the ability to have confidence in himself. For a child with Autism, that is huge.


George Gervin Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
my granddaughter is graduating early at sixteen,because she was able to do her work and not have to put up with so much drama,like she endured at roosevelt,SENDIND MY GRANDKIDS TO GERVIN WAS A VERY WISE DECISION ON MY PART.I am very pleased with the school as a whole.

George Gervin Academy 1

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
This "SCHOOL" as they would put it ......has the most unprepared and dysfunctional curriculum I have ever seen .. The staff members abuse their authority and egos over the students. The students are disrespectful and have foul behavior towards teachers and parents. who ever said the place was"SAFE!"has no idea what they are talking about, anyways I should caution anyone from enrolling there child there because they will learn nothing and be put in a dangerous environment.

George Gervin Academy 1

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
This "SCHOOL" as they would put it ......has the most unprepared and dysfunctional curriculum I have ever seen .. The staff members abuse their authority and egos over the students. The students are disrespectful and have foul behavior towards teachers and parents. who ever said the place was"SAFE!"has no idea what they are talking about, anyways I should caution anyone from enrolling there child there because they will learn nothing and be put in a dangerous environment.


George Gervin Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2010
- a parent
I love this school all my kids go there except for 2 there not of age yet. But once they reach that age they will be there as well....

George Gervin Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a teacher
The teacher to student ratio is wonderful. The staff is organized and considerate to everyone. I'm really impressed with everything they do here!

George Gervin Academy
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
This school is all about second chances for teens who have made poor choices, and gotten off track. They gave my son an opportunity when no one else would.


George Gervin Academy
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
I registered my daughter last year and she has made great strides to finish her high school years. We have one more to go and she is proud of her accomplishments. GGA has help salvage my daughters education.

George Gervin Academy 4

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
They have helped my son not only catch up his high school credits, but he will graduate a year early! Only complaint is the attendance tracking / notification system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Gervin Academy
6944 South Sunbelt Drive, San Antonio, TX  78218
(210) 568-8800
Last modified George Gervin Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Gervin Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top