Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public charter
San Antonio, TX
Students enrolled: 1,251

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


George Gervin Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
my granddaughter is graduating early at sixteen,because she was able to do her work and not have to put up with so much drama,like she endured at roosevelt,SENDIND MY GRANDKIDS TO GERVIN WAS A VERY WISE DECISION ON MY PART.I am very pleased with the school as a whole.
2 people found this helpful

George Gervin Academy 1

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
This "SCHOOL" as they would put it ......has the most unprepared and dysfunctional curriculum I have ever seen .. The staff members abuse their authority and egos over the students. The students are disrespectful and have foul behavior towards teachers and parents. who ever said the place was"SAFE!"has no idea what they are talking about, anyways I should caution anyone from enrolling there child there because they will learn nothing and be put in a dangerous environment.


George Gervin Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2010
- a parent
I love this school all my kids go there except for 2 there not of age yet. But once they reach that age they will be there as well....
1 person found this helpful

George Gervin Academy 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a teacher
The teacher to student ratio is wonderful. The staff is organized and considerate to everyone. I'm really impressed with everything they do here!
1 person found this helpful

George Gervin Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
This school is all about second chances for teens who have made poor choices, and gotten off track. They gave my son an opportunity when no one else would.
1 person found this helpful


George Gervin Academy 0
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
I registered my daughter last year and she has made great strides to finish her high school years. We have one more to go and she is proud of her accomplishments. GGA has help salvage my daughters education.
1 person found this helpful

George Gervin Academy 4

Posted February 19, 2009
- a parent
They have helped my son not only catch up his high school credits, but he will graduate a year early! Only complaint is the attendance tracking / notification system.
1 person found this helpful

George Gervin Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
I have very high praises and regards toward a school who doesn't turn away children and gives them a second change in life to become whatever they choose with a strick understanding that they will not tolerate disrespect and want children to learn to be a better individual in todays society in the next generation of leaders.
2 people found this helpful


George Gervin Academy 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2008
- a parent
Two of my children attended in 2007 to 2008. Elementary children mix and mingle with high schoolers. There was a lot of bullying and name calling. They spent the entire year focused on and teaching to the TAKS test. We do no recommend this school.

George Gervin Academy 5

Posted August 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Gervin Academy
6944 South Sunbelt Drive, San Antonio, TX  78218
(210) 568-8800
Last modified George Gervin Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Gervin Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top