Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thousand Oaks Elementary School 3

Posted December 13, 2015
- a parent
We had mixed experiences at Thousand Oaks. Mrs. Rubalcaba is the best kindergarten teacher you could ask for. She's kind and caring. She has fabulous classroom management skills, and she can work well with challenging kids. In first grade we had a teacher who wasn't a great fit, but I think she's probably good for other kids. My biggest concerns with Thousand Oaks aren't really their fault: (1) the building was designed so that the classrooms within grades are connected to each other, which makes them noisy and not ideal for kids with attention or sensory issues, (2) the school seems to have more students than it was designed for, which results in some unfortunate practices like kids waiting with their heads down to get in line for hot lunch, and (3) even kindergarteners only get one 15-20 minute recess a day, which isn't ideal for learning social skills and getting exercise or for getting the wiggles out so kids can focus on the hard work of learning.

Thousand Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
My children attended Thousand Oaks Kindergarten. We absolutely loved it. The staff, teachers, and librarians were the nicest and most helpful. The classroom curriculum, activities and gifted program were wonderful, and my children looked forward to going to school and the library every day. Accelerated Reading program had been instrumental in developing kids' love of reading. There is a reward system (spirit sticks) that encourages children's participation and development of skills, behaviors and responsibilities. The school has a variety of events planned throughout the year that are fun and interesting.The PTA is welcoming and involved. Any child can be successful there and feel at home.


Thousand Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
This is the first year my daughter has been at Thousand Oaks and we just love the school and the staff. It seems like alot of thought has been put into the operation of the school and the programs work well. The nurse is as great (maybe better than) any pediatrician we have ever used, the school staff is welcoming, our daughters teacher, Ms Cox, is energetic & caring--just the right balance of fun and rules, the principal is kind & is constantly making pleasant chit chat with the kids, the cafeteria is clean & our daughter likes the meals--in fact the whole school is really clean. The only thing that is not great: the playground. Definitely a "5" overall, so glad my child is at Thousand Oaks :)

Thousand Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
had 2 simple questions to ask cause they were not on the internet i got a ugly attitude from a lady. & it took them 7 times for them to answet the phone. i really wanted my kids to attendthis school because i am moving in the area but now im thinking twice to keep them in nsisd change your staff please! :/

Thousand Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
This year Thousand Oaks worked very well with extra curriculum classes like drama, music and fitness. They had plays and musicals and my kids had a lot of fun at school. All the kids had a chance to be part of these activities. I'm very pleased with the "Accelerate Reading Program" . My kids are reading above their age level now thanks to all the support that the teachers gave to the students. Great Job Thousand Oaks!!


Thousand Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
Outstanding school! Mr. Keller, Mrs. Moore, Principal Mai, and the entire faculty/staff are superb! The teaching staff is knowledgeable and well-defined within their scope of learning and instruction. A TOP NOTCH INSTITUTE OF LEARNING/GROWTH! Now in regards to all the negative posts about "petty acts" or "stout disciplinary actions these are obviously from parents (more than likely teenage parents) or pseudo-parental figures that practice this new-age of entitlement. Today s educator is severely underpaid, overworked, and underappreciated! Therefore, place yourself within their shoes and environment. These are highly educated and trained (certified) individuals that go through rigorous phases of background checks and preparation. This does not include the counseling, specialty, or principal staff which requires a Masters degree or higher from a regionally accredited university. Bottom line YOU CAN BE A PART OF THE PROBLEM OR ASSIST THIS STAFF IN A SOUND SOLUTION TOWARDS IMPROVEMENT!

Thousand Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
I don't understand all the negative comments about the school, my daughter had attended since kinder. and she will start 4th grade this year, she is a happy and well behave child. Her first teacher was Mrs. Moore and I never had any problem on the way she treated my child on the contrary we only has good thing to say about every single teacher my daughter had through the years on TO. My Child is an A honor roll student and I believe her achivement are part our resposability as parent but also the great teachers she had have every year on TO.

Thousand Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2011
- a parent
Both my boys love school this year. We have new administration, Mrs. Mai and Mrs. Pearce, who are wonderful and always out and visible to parents, and communicate with each parent effectively. This year, my boys have Mrs. Hinders and Ms. Wood who really care about them not just teaching them. They are both outstanding teachers. When we get there in the morning, they are greeted by name by the coaches, Mr. Keller, both Ms. Shaws and everyone else says good morning. So far it has been a great year.


Thousand Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
Very unsatisfactory school. Mrs. Moore, you should be ashamed of yourself and the way you expect young children to behave. They are KIDS, not mini adults. The principal is not much better.

Thousand Oaks Elementary School 4

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
This school is a great school, I have three children enrolled at Thousand Oaks and have been involved in many of the programs that the school offers. The teachers have been good, and although I have noticed some "nit-picking" notes sent home from the teachers, I have determined that usually it is the children who are at fault and should be reprimanded. I would like to see more after-school programs offered (ones of a physical fitness emphasis), but that is my only complaint.

Nearby schools

Thousand Oaks Elementary School
16080 Henderson Pass, San Antonio, TX  78232
(210) 407-8000
Last modified Thousand Oaks Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top