Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

This school has small class sizes and the teachers truly care about their students. My son was struggling with reading but now that he is at blessed sacrament he has improved drastically. His teacher makes reading fun! This is the first school were he truly enjoys where he is at. The principal and assistant principal are also wonderful. I highly recommend this school if you are looking for a community who truly cares about their students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I have two children at the parish preschool and just registered them for elementary school across the street. Being a single parent in the military I expect structure and proper guidance and love while we are separated. Blesses Sacrament allows me to sleep well at night knowing they are well cared for and educated. This school goes above my expectations. There are many programs to enroll them in during class hours (spanish, computer class). They attend mass on Fridays which is a plus. The staff is very courteous and pleasant. My children are happy which makes it worth every penny spent. Good job Blessed Sacrament!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

This is a wonderful school with excellent teachers and the best principle in the city. He truly cares about each of his students and their families. He gets to know each of them and even take the time to write a personal message on each report card. Our daughters are thriving both spiritually and academically. We highly recommend Blessed Sacrament.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Great school, strong leadership, great welcoming community (school and parish), great caring teachers. Teacher student ratio is excellent. Our first year here, great to be part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

It is worth noting that the Development Center is entirely separate from the school - not connected via leadership, staff, or funding. The Development Center, however, has a very good reputation and it is hard to understand the extremely negative review. Regarding the school, it is a loving, caring, Catholic-based environment which is safe and provides an excellent education. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I have 3 children attending Blessed Sacrament Catholic School. I am very pleased with the staff and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

Excellent School! We are in our second year and they have treated our child with great respect! We came from another private school and saw his curricular level improve greatly since enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

Very Happy with Blessed Sacrament! I have one child there that attended another private school for 2 years prior and I couldn't be happier with the change. The teacher's attention to each student is great. Just a reminder to some out there, it is a private school that only receives funding from parents and the church, it is your childs education you are investing toward and with this school you will get your investments worth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

We are in our second year at Blessed Sacrament and could not be more pleased with the community environment, the exceptional faith-based education, and the well-respected principal who is very hands-on and always willing to listen to parent feedback. As for being underfunded, it is worth noting that the average Catholic school receives about one half of the funding per student than the average public school. The parent councils at Blessed Sacrament are working diligently to make a Catholic education both available and affordable for as many students as possible. The student-teacher ratio (about 16 here) enhances the cooperative learning atmosphere. We are glad to have discovered this little gem of a school and highly recommend it to any parent desiring a Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

This school is awesome!!! I love this school. I have one child here and one at the devolpment center across the street. My children will remain at this school until the eight grade. The staff and principal are very hands on because all the classes are small. The families that belong to the school are really there for the catholic education not the status of having a child in private school. If you think you should send your child to public school instead you are making a huge mistake. The parents that unhappy about funding need to go out and help raise money instead of attacking the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Very unsatisfactory ! the school also has a child care center and i would advise anyone who may think of having their child cared for there to go elsewhere. They do not care for feed back, the director and assistant are forgetful, they act as if you can drop by at anytime and check on your child or call, but this is annoying to them. It's dirty, the children are unkept and even the priest in charge does not want to hear concerns. The center is not expensive, so you are paying too much for want you get. They do not teach your child any type of catholic stucture. You may as well take them to a non catholic center, you may have better treatment. Our family expected too much from this so called development center. It is what is it ... A day care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

A well keep secret! Very personable principle and staff. The school counselor is very hands on and talks to the students on a regular basis. More than enough extracurricular activities. Just a great community feel. There are other private schools close to my house but we, as well as others, make the commute across town because it is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

Wonderful School. Great Staff and within the school community everyone is very kind and they are all there for the children. Wonderful catholic enviorment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Small class sizes give kids wonderful teacher / student interaction. My child's class has 14 kids (2 classes at each grade level). Caring teachers and principal. Principal was willing to set up special meeting for my child and his new teacher and be present at the meeting and offer suggestions. No tolerance for bullying. Good reading program. Lots of extracurricular options for a school of this size. Parent involvement is encouraged. Loyal alumni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2007

What a secret this school is! Small classes, a caring environment, a strong curriculum and kids taught respect for others as well as proper behavior. We just moved to San Antonio and this school was recommended to us from a larger Catholic school that our child was wait-listed. This school is wonderful. The principal is hardworking and very much involved with the day to day running of the school. He knows almost all of the students and parents by name. There are no rich spoiled kids (families) at this school - instead there are hard-working families that want their children to have a good, Catholic education. Older students are encouraged to help the younger ones in church, lunch as well as dismissal. The enrollment is increasing at this school as more people are hearing about it. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

This is really a great school, with the staff, faculty, parents,community, and students all being friendly, and trying to educate our children through Christ, it is really a blessed school. I just sent my daughter here a few weeks ago, and she truely loves it, and is very pleased with the way the whole school woks. Even though it is a small school, and isn't very well known, it is still a great place to have your child learn and grow in the way of Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 47%
White 32% 37%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Oblate Drive
San Antonio, TX 78216
Website: Click here
Phone: (210) 824-3381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Olmos Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT