Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Cecilia School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $76,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2011

I think the school is great. Sure it could use some remodeling but the families are great, the teachers make the time to go the extra mile. I myself attended STC Pre-K through Eighth, as did my mother before me. I intend on teaching there once I get my degree. (Next year.) I do wish they had more Sisters and less lay teachers but in the end I think it is satisfactory.


Posted July 20, 2009

The principal was terrific, but there is just no comparison between certified teachers (like public schools) and uncertified 'teachers' (like private schools). My son attended 2 years, and while I sincerely loved the 'family' atmosphere, the education being delivered was more than unsatisfactory. The teachers (that my son had) did not make an effort to contact parents, they made absolutely no effort to connect. This was a deal breaker for our family. We loved Ms. Crow, but she is not in the classroom and the education was severely mediocre. I want more for my child and he now attends school with certified teachers, not just those with any degree who think 'wow, i have a degree, teaching sounds easy, i think i'll do that' Our kiddos deserve more, and I want more for my child. I believe in religious education, I just can't risk my child's future to prove it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

It makes me very upset that people are saying that if your new you would not be accepted into this 'family'! That is so false!!! I myself attended this school till 8th grade and now my child goes there! She was a new student a year ago and i was welcomed by everyone! I love this school it is very dear to me and all my friends who attended with me! This school is like a family and we are very welcoming. Yes i think the school is a little old and needs some remolding but Ms. Crow the Principle has done alot of hard work to make it what it has become! When i attend a few years back it was worse and i can see the improvements she and the staff has made and it feels great to know that people care about our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

One of my children attended this school and after some consideration and some time we decided to change schools. There is lack of communication and lack of respect. The staff and certain parents that were involved with the school had to like you and you had to be part of their little family. That is not the kind of atmosphere i wanted my child in. We changed schools and could not be happier. We were blessed to have gone to a school where everybody cares. Hope things get better for this school. I still hear things are the same...


Posted November 14, 2008

This is the first year my children have attended St. Cecilia s Catholic School, my children myself and my husband were welcomed with open loving arms. The staff is very loving and caring, the parents are wonderful. My children came from a public school and the difference is amazing. All the children in the school know, love and respect one another. They truly are one big family. I can never imagine sending my children back to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

I have been going to this school for two years now. This school could use some remodeling but I think that being there is a great way to start unending friendships. This school has taught me more about my religion and has taught me that this school is like a second family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2007

My son attended for one year and several of my family members have attended their entire academic career. The school is very old and delapidated. Materials are grossly out of date. If your child is not one who began her/his kinder year and beyond, it is difficult to be accepted by the St. Cecilia's community of parents. As a parent who is paying tuition, I would have loved more open communication. I wish that funding for the school was better, the school is a staple of the southside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

This school is in need of remodeling and updates are in dire need. It's a small school and unless you are already a part of their 'family' it is hard and can take some time to be accepted by them. Teachers are okay and the books used are very old.


Posted July 27, 2007

We are a family not just a school. They have wonderful extracurricular activities and my daughter chose basketball and her team won a majority of the games played. Although are children are not in the same grade we (the parents and students)all know each other. They are not only to learn reading, writing, math, science, social studies and spelling they also have to learn religion. I recommend this school to all who believe in the choice to choose between public and private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

My children attend this school they were baptized here and have made thier first communions also they are taught the bacics plus religion which is important to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 97% 51%
White 2% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC
Fax number
  • (210) 533-8284

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

118 Lowell Street
San Antonio, TX 78210
Phone: (210) 534-2711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Alpha Academy
San Antonio, TX


Page Middle School
San Antonio, TX


Juvenile Detent Center
San Antonio, TX


Herff Elementary School
San Antonio, TX


Riverside Park El
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT