Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Gerard Catholic High School

Private | 12 | 232 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in San Antonio

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $64,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2012

The school has challenging academic programs as well as programs for students who have "gaps" in their academics. The values that students take with them when they graduate help them succeed.


Posted August 16, 2011

This school needs MASSIVE reform. The majority of the students are not well behaved, lack of communication between teachers &principal and parents, some teachers are unqualified, I even had a few reports of a former academic dean laughing AT a student during a talk. The few extracurricular activities are barely hanging on. Football is threatened by the chance of not enough students signing up to play. Dicipline is somewhat present. Most of the students actually RESENT the school for valid reasons, though not suprising some reasons are petty. The students do not trust eachother or teachers and the cliques are ever present and oppressive. The atmosphere is the school is predominantly negative. I advise all parents to send you children here ONLY as a last resort. The academic standards are also low, barely good enough to compete.


Posted October 1, 2009

Great small school. Great new principal and the students are well behaved. I have a senior and a freshman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

This school needs major changes. The Principal does not enforce any student discipline, some of the teachers are not even certified. I as a parent am outraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

This is an exceptional small school. It enables each student to become involved in sports and clubs. It is a place where each student has a name, not just a number. Your child can become involved in the high school experience from the inside versus having to look in at activities from the outside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

This school is in need of help. Extracurricular activities are virtually non existant and those that have managed to hold on are very poorly managed. Not a good choice in school for your child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2007

There academic programs are almost non-exsistent, there athletic teams are below average, parental involvment is acceptable. The punishments don't fit the crime. My daughter attended this school and after two years of putting up with it for her sake, we finally both got tired.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • TCC
Fax number
  • (210) 533-3697
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

521 S New Braunfels
San Antonio, TX 78203
Phone: (210) 533-8061

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pickett Academy
San Antonio, TX



Healy-Murphy
San Antonio, TX


Healy Murphy Center
San Antonio, TX


Brackenridge High School
San Antonio, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT