Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
281 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Pius X Catholic School 4

Posted June 27, 2016
- a community member
At St. Pius X, the students are happy and actively demonstrating their Catholic faith. They participate in weekly masses, lead service projects for the entire school, practice virtue education, and are encouraged to develop their talents and share them with the school and church community. Their motto is "Building Leaders for Christ" and this is evident when you walk through the halls of the school.

St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted June 24, 2016
- a community member
As a parent of several children whom have attended and are attending St. Pius I have been very pleased with the education they have received. I choose to send my children to a Catholic school primarily for them to be in an environment that parallels our family's morals and beliefs. In a culture that is trying to destroy our Catholic Identity, St. Pius continues to excel at teaching our faith to our children. They are well prepared to enter High School in the core subjects and knowing the true values of our Catholic faith.


St Pius X Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are dedicated to helping each student succeed. They work with our counseling staff and the parents to implement strategies designed to help students in the ways they learn best.

St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
As a parent of two middle schoolers attending St. Pius, I have to say that I've been very pleased with the level of care and attention my children have received, along with the depth of educational opportunities. In a profession where the educators are primarily female, it's so important for adolescent boys to have appropriate role models, and in the middle school, my boys have that. The History teacher is a retired military officer, with an adventurous spirit, who views this career path of teaching as both a mission and vocation, is fully invested in both the students and the curriculum, and brings this enthusiasm to the classroom. The other middle school teachers are just as dedicated to the students--as well as the subject matter--and work tirelessly to ensure that every student has the opportunity and the means to succeed. My boys are being prepared both for high school and for life; they are on their way towards becoming young men of character, in part due to their experiences at St. Pius.

St Pius X Catholic School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Nightly homework, especially in Math, is crucial and appropriate to keep the students' skills sharp.


St Pius X Catholic School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers work tirelessly to make sure no student slips through the cracks; Hard work is rewarded with opportunities for Honor roll, National Junior Honor Society, and academic eligibility for athletics.

St Pius X Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
St. Pius X students demonstrate respect, largely in part because that's what they see from both their teachers and parents. Mutually respectful relationships demonstrated by the adults are the standard--and example--set for the students, who model what they witness from the adults in their lives.

St Pius X Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
The older students develop relationships with the younger students through a buddy program, believing that there is much to be gained from students supporting, leading, and mentoring other each other.


St Pius X Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
St. Pius X strives to instill character within the students through the development of a dedicated program that teaches virtues as demonstrated both by the lives of saints and the students themselves.

St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
I started living in San Antonio 6 years ago. I have 3 young sons. I was blessed to have a private education as a child and teenager. I had them at a difference school which was a horrible experience regardless of the high ratings it has received. My sons have extremely well at St.Pius X. The parents in each class know each other and participate in most events year round. All my sons are doing extremely well in all subjects and each of their teachers are responsive to any concerns. I read the past negative reviews and it seems to be written by same person. Please ignore those reviews. It seems they have a personal problem with someone at the school. In fact St Pius X after an exhausting search is the best school in San Antonio area.

Nearby schools

St Pius X Catholic School
7734 Robin Rest Drive, San Antonio, TX  78209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (210) 824-6431
Last modified St Pius X Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top