Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Pius X Catholic School 4

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
It is interesting to read all of the reviews about this school. I have found that there are excellent teachers there. The middle school science teacher is brilliant and I'm still not sure why she is at St. Pius X when she could be making much more money elsewhere. I believe it is her true compassion for the children and belief in rigorous curriculum that will prepare them for high school that motivates her each day. There are a few teachers who I believe are not the best fit but we use this situation to teach our children how to interact in the real world where everybody will not be their best friends. The assistant principal is always willing to help. She is continually available, listens to concerns and finds resolution. My daughter in elementary is encouraged and receives individual attention from people who know her as an individual. I will say that the loss of Ms. Songco was was a tragedy as math is a difficult subject and she had an amazing way with explanation so that students really learned. Ms. Pritchard is missed as a teacher but it is exciting to see that she has moved up to high school and that she is still around as a parent this year.

St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
I feel a need to reply to some of the negative comments (opinions) with facts. The middle school teachers are one of the most talented group of individuals I have seen on any campus. When two of them left this year it was for promotions which they deserved. However, the positions they left were quickly filled with other dedicated and capable teachers. The test results show that our eighth graders were second in Algebra in the Archdiocese. Children get all of the help they need with a Reading Specialist, math tutoring, and a Learning Lab. Learning is supported with IXL math, ABC Mouse, Accelerated Reading, and many educational field trips. The Administration has always responded in a timely manner. Sometimes the answer is "No", but then the explanation and reasoning make perfect sense. No school this size does more. I am very satisfied and recommend St. Pius to everyone.


St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a community member
Yes they are skipping and smiling. I've seen it myself. I'm sorry if St. Pius was not a good fit for you. I hope you find a school that fits you, but please don't be unkind to people who love the school and administration. I've done research and there are families that have had, and still have their children attending this school for over 20 years. I like it at this school and so does my daughter who has her children, my grandchildren, attending. Don't discourage others because it didn't work out for you or make another parent feel bad because she likes what you don't, just move along and keep shopping. St. Pius is the best community and school that could have ever come into our spiritual path. If you like an awesome church, priest and principal, not to mention life long friends, then this is the school for you. If you are the type of parent that thinks you can run the school, then it's probably not a good fit. The principal will listen to GOOD IDEAS but if it's not best for every student, teacher and parent, he probably will thank you for your interest but will keep the intrest of the rest if the community first.

St Pius X Catholic School 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Skipping???? I don't think so. People are leaving because of poor academics and scores. There is a morose atmosphere due to lack of leadership and cohesiveness. It's obvious that things needs to change. This school needs major improvement from the top to the bottom. If anything families are skipping away from this place.

St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
When I walk on campus the children are smiling, skipping, and happy.They are also engaged in the classroom where the teachers are always working with them. Administration has devoted monies to new textbooks and programs which enhance the learning. Modifications are made for the different types of ways children learn. There are extra and supportive programs from small reading groups to fine arts and band. The new gym, library, cafeteria, and computer lab make this a beautiful campus. A very positive place to be. I recommend St. Pius to anyone who is searching for a school.


St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
St. Pius X is a wonderful school! My children love going there each and every day. The teaching staff is strong academically, and spiritually. The principal truly cares about the teachers,students, parents, and the entire community. It is a blessing to be a part of St. Pius, and I am so thankful God led my family to this school.

St Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
The St. pius community is warm and attentive towards all students. St. Pius is a school to watch. I hear they are undertaking some really creative and innovative strategies to gear students for 21st learning.

St Pius X Catholic School 2

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
We gave this school a chance and it backfired. Morale is low for parents and teachers. The principal lacks leadership and communication skills. He is sloppy and veiled with school's finances and misleading about its academic achievements. Questions and concerns are either ignored or minimized. When researching this school, make sure to ask about retention rates, teacher credentials, school lunch pricing, fine arts, safety protocols and ITBS testing. Ask to see the school budget and you'll get an excuse about why it is not available. Be prepared for tuition increases and additional fees without warning or explanation. While every school is going to have issues, other schools are offering higher quality programs at a comparable tuition. Do your research.


St Pius X Catholic School 2

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
St Pius X is a fine elementary with a nurturing and competent faculty. Educational standards are above satisfactory and the focus is on providing each child with a solid foundation for academic success. The middle school however is disappointing. The academic standards are not much better than what one might expect in a public school and the teachers do not demonstrate a concerted effort to communicate with all parents equally and appear to favor certain families. It has the potential to offer a much more cohesive and professional environment but lacks leadership. In addition it's focus on the arts is poor if not missing entirely, which is unfortunate for those students that may excel in this area and not sports. It needs new leadership and a fresh perspective. To increase enrollment and become more competitive with other schools, start focusing on nurturing inclusion of all family members treating all children the same based on their unique interests and talents. If your friends with the students parents that's great but don't forget other parents are paying you to educate their child and expect a professional approach that doesn't succumb to nepotism.

St Pius X Catholic School 2

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
Nice campus. Great gym if sports are your most important area. Declining in educational quality. Principal can't keep up with the issues that seem to be worsening. The best kids are leaving. Shop around, there are better Catholic schools in the area that are actually doing a better job. Lots of drama..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Pius X Catholic School
7734 Robin Rest Drive, San Antonio, TX  78209
(210) 824-6431
Last modified St Pius X Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Pius X Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top