Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hardy Oak Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2016
- a parent
The GT program is amazing. The kids do not go for an hour a week as mentioned in a previous post. They go all day once a week. It's amazing what all they learn with Mrs. W! Overall, this school is excellent. I've never seen more caring teachers and staff.

Hardy Oak Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Very poorly developed curriculum. Kindergartners get more homework than second graders. It's like parents are doing the teaching.


Hardy Oak Elementary School 1

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and staff are the first to bully the children. Kids development is completely ignored. GT program in Texas in general is a joke. One hour once a week? Come on, really? Don't even get me started on cliques... my kids feel that they don't fit in. Paid so much to move here to now have to pay for private school. What a waste.

Hardy Oak Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2015
- a community member
It all rises and falls on leadership and the leadership in this school is lacking from the top. Teachers and staff care more about a paycheck than the students here. Do not send your child to this school. Try stone oak elementary, very different attitude and spirit in that school. Unfortunately because of boundaries we where stuck to hardy oak.

Hardy Oak Elementary School 1

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
My son has been going to Hardy Oak since he was in K and he was there for nine week of 1st until the principle Mrs.Fokes had made him transfer out after nine weeks of school because we are no longer in the school zone. But they have no problem taking your money asking you to support the school by buying all these school spirit stuff and donating money and once you do it they find a way to get rid of you. They don't care about a child well being or feeling. All they care about is making money off the parents and having the parents do all the work as they over staff the teacher by having 25 students or more per class. How do you except kids to learn when they over load teacher just to save money. That probably explain why there is such a high turnover in there there.


Hardy Oak Elementary School 2

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Things have taken a turn for the ugly at this school. They are doing all of the wrong things, for the wrong reasons. This school is way too focused on the lighthouse/leadership concept, that they have forgotten the importance of teaching children basic subjects! They definitely teach to the test at this school, except on the days when they are trying to show off to outsiders that tour around to see what kind of leaders they are. I have become so disheartened by what this school stands for that I am considering home schooling. That way, I will be able to teach them what is really necessary for being successful (writing properly, spelling, math) Approach this school with caution, and whatever you do, don't dare question anything!

Hardy Oak Elementary School 2

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Disappointed with some of the 5th grade teachers. I didn't think I would have to worry about teachers being the bully, but at Hardy Oak I've had to address it on more than one occasion. Glad this year is finally over! I only give 2 stars because the principal and counselors are commendable!

Hardy Oak Elementary School 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Most of the teachers take care of themselves than students. They expect parent to do everything.


Hardy Oak Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a parent
This will be our 5th year at Hardy Oak and as a former elementary school teacher myself, I have to say that this is one of the best schools around. The teachers are all excellent and truly want each and every student to succeed. They go above and beyond for their students. The administration is wonderful as well. We couldn't be more pleased with our son's education and experiences at Hardy Oak.

Hardy Oak Elementary School 1

Posted April 16, 2012
- a parent
Like other public schools, this school targets STAAR test only. No structural curriculam is followed here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hardy Oak Elementary School
22900 Hardy Oak Boulevard, San Antonio, TX  78258
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (210) 407-3600
Last modified Hardy Oak Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top