Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Old Union Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Old Union is such a positive environment for my children to grow in every day. The teachers are patient, have humor and always stay at the top of their game challenging the children. Their day is fun and fosters leadership and independence. I feel like the principal has a vision to grow the school and create new ways for the children to learn how to relate in the world today. They are creating mock businesses by second grade, making business fun rather than intimidating. The parents play a heavy hand at this school. We are given many opportunities to volunteer and they are utilized and appreciated. It is very unifying in our community to have a school that brings parents together.

Old Union Elementary School 4

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
The principal is bar none. = 200% more than what can be expected out of an elementary school. I have lived in Southlake for 15 years. 3 of my children have attended 3 (in total) elementary schools. Old Union is above and beyond the top. It is wonderful to see my children progress. In retrospect, I have many regrets in allowing my children to attend the other schools in the past. You will never second guess yourself by choosing Old Union. The staff is not replaceable because they NEVER leave. Best kept secret in Southlake.


Old Union Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
This school used to have an extra sparkle and twinkle about it, however after they made false reports against their then principal, she resigned. Now the new principal is nice, but the standard of excellence is missing at the school. It is really sad as I wish it would return to the student centered environment it once was.

Old Union Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
I have to ask if the previous reviewer is posting to the right school's profile! Just moved here from across the country and everyone has been amazing. The principal remembered our names at new student registration from when we met her at our school tour, FOUR MONTHS EARLIER - and she wasn't even the one who gave us the tour, but rather came out of her office to meet us when she heard us speaking to the secretary about being new. Principal regularly greets my daughter with a bear hug and asks how she's doing. Hey, maybe if you need more communication with the office, you should come to my crosswalk. The principal and asst are regularly helping out there on crossing guard duty until a hire can be made. I've only had one regret - that we didn't move here years earlier so that my older child could benefit from all the wonderful things @OUES!!!

Old Union Elementary School 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
Awful Communication between staff and parents. Even at the administrative level, we are now looking at private schools while paying the high Carroll taxes.


Old Union Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
While I cannot compare Old Union to other Carroll locations, we moved to Southlake for the public schools and have found the facilities, teachers and overall experience to be as good or better than what we found in Fairfax, VA, which is well-known for public school excellence. I cannot recommend Old Union, and Carroll ISD, more highly.

Old Union Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2005
- a student
This is the best elementary in Carroll ISD. Very strong & competent principal, with very active parents. They participate in extracurriculars such as Destination Imagination, which many of the others do not.

Old Union Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2004
- a parent
Exceptional school with an outstanding principal. The teachers are very supportive and nuturing but they will challenge the students out of their comfort zone for higher achievement.


Old Union Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2003
- a community member
Clear expectations high expectations(academic & social) warm and loving atmosphere positive climate lots of writing opportunities science & computer programs very strong students excel teachers & support personnel are very professional parents are involved & supportive

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Old Union Elementary School
2400 North Carroll Avenue, Southlake, TX  76092
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (817) 949-4600
Last modified Old Union Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top