Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Commonwealth Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My kindergartener loves her teacher! She has fun at school every day. The only time she complained and did not want to go to school was when her teacher was sick and could not come.

Commonwealth Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
I visited for lunch with my grandsons and all the staff were very professional. I was very impressed with the level of safety and security provided for the students.


Commonwealth Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2015
- a community member
When I went to Commonwealth it completely changed my academic standpoint, I had always been a great student but never cared about school, after Commonwealth I loved school, encouraging me to study more and get even better grades, as shown by my IOWA scores (a standardized test), I scored in the 99th percentile meaning I am better than 99% of the people who took it, and this is a national test!

Commonwealth Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
This school is fantastic. The teachers love their students and the administration is very helpful. They have had some sweeping changes which I understand can make it hard for consistency in policy. However; my children love their school and its staff. I wouldn't send them anywhere else.

Commonwealth Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
My child is in 2nd grade this year. The staff has had quite a few obstacles to overcome including a teacher leaving and a lot of new faces. My son has never been happier and though his work load is rather large he enjoys hit time and the class. I have met with the principal and she does carry an indifferent tone but she seems to still be settling into the new position. The kind of compassion the 2nd grade staff has for their students is incomparable. Many new faces in the grade Cox, Steinert, Tanner, Musser, but they have made the best of it. I believe their cares and concerns are sincere and hope CWE staff can keep the same administration long enough to be productive.


Commonwealth Elementary School 2

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
I have to agree with the recent posts. The parents and students are excellent, some of the teachers wonderful, but the principal and some staff have very poor communication skills.

Commonwealth Elementary School 3

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
Commonwealth used to be a great school. There have been so many changes in administration - 3 principals in the last few years, 3 counselors, front office staff keeps changing, the APs rotate yearly. The teachers seem to be trying their best, but the most recent principal is mean! A few other parents and myself included have had meetings with her about our kids. She has a very condescending attitude, said unkind statements, an unfriendly vibe, and pretends to be nice. With the way this school goes through principals, we won't have to wait long before she is booted as well. Good thing my kids are leaving this year for middle school.

Commonwealth Elementary School 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
We are buidling a new home in this school zone - it is too late for us but I would not recommand this school at all if you are only coming hear for kid's education. My son is 3rd grade - I don't see any quality education here. I have no choice but enrolling my son into a private school in this area! Teachers are hard working but administration is very poor. Principal is very mean!


Commonwealth Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
I am here to read the review. Not to write one. This is not one.

Commonwealth Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter loves her school, her principal and her teachers! I kind of understand why through my interaction with the faculty and stafft there and they are very nice. The school is quite strict on academics, but it's got great music program, art program, PE classes too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Commonwealth Elementary School
4909 Commonwealth Boulevard, Sugar Land, TX  77479
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (281) 634-5120
Last modified Commonwealth Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top