Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Vega High School

Public | 9-12 | 749 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

Great teachers,genuinely want to see you learn and are attentive.I am a sophomore I can honestly say I LOVE La Vega. Go Pirates !!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2013

I am writing this as a junior at this school and from plenty of involvement throughout the campus. First off, I will concede that this school tends to focus on athletics a bit more than academics, however, that has been changing throughout my HS career. programs such as AVID and CIS have helped immensely, and the curriculum seems acceptable. This past year, we had over 90% of my class pass TAKS, and EOC scores seem to be ok. The main complaint I have for LVHS is the limited opportunities that students at the top of their class have. There are no well established UIL academic teams, mediocre everything else except athletics. We are behind similar schools in the area in terms of academic competition and that is extremely important to success. Over all, I would have to say LV has been an alright experience, but not without faults and relative inferiority. Side note, The field was bought with grants and funds that can only be allocated to that kind program. Each program has separate funding and the school cannot mix funds, technically. Nicer facilities and resources would be nice, but it is not that easy and things could be a lot worse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2010

I'm a student at La Vega High School. I know our school isn't perfect but what school is. our scores ar low but now that we got our TAKs scores back we were an acceptable school. What other people are saying is not all that true. That's just there opinion. there is some teahers who really do care about the students learning and help them as much as they can. We have a great band which is getting very big and a great AVID program. To make it even better our school is now inforcing school dress code. we are going to have uniforms which is going to improve our school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

i am currentlty a student at lavega hight school.i have one more year.thats if i make it. this school has turned horrible. we dont learn anything.they are bribing us with everything they have so we will pass taks to make them look good.half of the teachers are resining and the other half are being fired.for what? well they think that the teachers arnt teaching,but the truth is they try.its the students here that cause the problems.and mostly the administration.we have over 800 students in the high school and theres only suppose to be about 500.. the junior high is bumping the 8th graders up even if they dont pass the taks just to get them out of there.so now our taks scores are the lowest and i mean at the very bottom of the chart out of all the schools around here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

I am Parent and gradute of Lavega High School. i was a great place to go high school. Now my 7 year old goes there and it's still a great place of learing..


Posted July 14, 2009

This school is horrible, and I speak from experience. I moved from a very respectable charter school that had high expectations that was located in the north, and I felt very under challenged. There were fights every other day, drug busts, teachers not respecting students, and students not respecting teachers. Academically the school is behind times. I took all 8 of my classes, and the only one that challenged my mind was pre-cal, and that almost didn't make it. I'm a student who cares greatly about my studies and it seems as if the students, administrative staff and the school board did not care!! I also want to state that athletics (especially football) they were more favored, take for example: the school board choose to purchase an afro turf football field with a new track, instead of purchasing new updated books for higher learning experiences, or new updated servers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

I am a former student, and I can say from experience that while there are room for many improvements, there are good things going on at La Vega High. The band, while I was there, consistently achieved their goals, the choir won medals and trophies, and although we never won a single football game, our football team was always in high spirits.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 5, 2005

I'm not a parent I am a student at LaVega High. Although I love LaVega, I believe there should be many changes. It seems like the teachers don't really care about the students and that they're just there to have a job. Our records in sports haven't been all that great this year so our coaches could use some improvement also. As for safety and discipline: fights break out ocasionaly; we have on security guard, at least I think he's a security guard; and as for the cameras, I don't even think they work. Maybe if our district had more money we could fix these problems, but I don't really cout on that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2003

All of my children have gone to La Vega High School, and all of them are successful. My youngest girl is still there. The teachers there are attentive respectful and listen to the children. One thing the school lacks, though, is good maagement of money and staff. Following a boost in funds, the school bought about thirteen(13) $500 cameras to place around the school for security purposes. While it is assuring to know that La Vega is taking steps for security there is a lot more that could have be done. Desks could be replaced, meals could be made better, or the teachers could be given more supplies. Overall, though, La Vega is a school I can be proud to call my Alma Mater, and my kids are too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

183 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

178 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

181 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

179 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

177 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

179 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black or African American98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
54%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

238 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
51%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
29%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
94%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
58%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students50%
Female57%
Male42%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Special educationn/a
Not special education50%
Limited English proficient (LEP)35%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted50%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students72%
Female73%
Male70%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)58%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students61%
Female55%
Male67%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted60%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students47%
Female51%
Male44%
Black or African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted46%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students29%
Female30%
Male28%
Black or African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Special educationn/a
Not special education29%
Limited English proficient (LEP)3%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted27%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students62%
Female75%
Male50%
Black or African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students31%
Female37%
Male24%
Black or African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special educationn/a
Not special education31%
Limited English proficient (LEP)7%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Gifted/talented60%
Non-Gifted30%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students70%
Female75%
Male66%
Black or African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students41%
Female37%
Male46%
Black or African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Special educationn/a
Not special education42%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talented67%
Non-Gifted41%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students45%
Female47%
Male43%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education46%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Gifted/talented40%
Non-Gifted45%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 50%
Black 31% 13%
White 22% 31%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 N Loop 340
Waco, TX 76705
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 799-4951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT