Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wedgeworth Elementary School 2

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
I am new to Waxahachie Isd for the 2012/13 school year. I currently have two children enrolled in Wedgeworth (kindergarden & 3rd grade). I agree, my childrens teachers are great ;however, on occasion I have witnessed staff & faculty members project rude speech to both other parents as well as students. I myself have even been treated very cold by front office personnel and staff. Be aware there are things that need to be improved upon. The jury is still out on this one...

Wedgeworth Elementary School 4

Posted June 23, 2010
- a community member
Wedgeworth Elementary is an exemplary school in the WISD district. The children are treated with respect and are encouraged to be independent. The teachers are new and tough but also understanding and patient. The homework depends on the teacher and the grades but is not overwhelming. My son has blossomed in this school and next year my daughter will follow him to Wedgeworth.


Wedgeworth Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
Not sure how good the school is but i know that my sons teacher is the best teacher he has ever had! the school is doing all they can to help him improve after being so far behind from life school red oak! i want to thank the third grade and especially his teacher for all the hard work and dedication your putting into my son! thank you

Wedgeworth Elementary School 1

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
Not a school I would have my kids in by choice. There are one or two decent teachers in the school, and they have a strange ideas about scholastic discipline, and what core skills, and knowledge are important. My fifth grader could not tell me who George Washington, or Benjamin Franklin was, but knew the entire history of Michelle Obama. They are only interested in the TAK scores, and teach the kids little more than that.

Wedgeworth Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2008
- a parent
Teachers we have had are very good and go the extra mile. My kids have enjoyed it. Been here for several years and have found several families who are very involved at campus as well. Keeping kids safe is a high priority.


Wedgeworth Elementary School 3

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
I agree with the other parents that have posted reviews. This has good and bad teachers. I have been fortunate that my kids have good the good ones. But while visiting the campus just to see how things go or just to eat lunch with my son, Some of the teachers and administrative staff are very rude.

Wedgeworth Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2007
- a parent
I have two children going to this school! I am very unhappy with this school. This school is trying to base themselves on the TAKS scores not pride themselves on how they are with the children.

Wedgeworth Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2006
- a parent
This is truly a wonderful school. I moved into this community in 2000 at which time the school wasn't doing very well, but in a matter of 6 years, the school has gone from a so so school with API scores of 700 to 925 for 2005-2006 school year. I like the teachers in school. They are all very caring. They are not lazy like some other school teachers. They give plenty of challenging homework, not just busy work. The parents are also very involved. Very good school for your children if you really want them to learn.


Wedgeworth Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2003
- a parent
This is not the school you want your child attending! I have talked with other parents and they have had problems as well for example one child was punished for talking by taking her lunch away and she was in first grade! Please help the parents of this community stop schools like this by speaking out. Yes i transfered my child out and so have other parents and it is not hard to do...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wedgeworth Elementary School
405 Solon Road, Waxahachie, TX  75165
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (972) 923-4640
Last modified Wedgeworth Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top