Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Westlake, TX
Students enrolled: 696
 

4 stars
Based on 67 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

61 reviews of this school


Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2015
- a community member
Great International Baccalaureate World School! The teachers are amazing, the administration is attentive. My children, who have been attending WA for the past 6 years are thriving. The inquiry-based teaching style employed at this school is truly the best way for kids to learn. We wouldn't be anywhere else!

Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Determined leadership, involved parents, passionate teachers, and uniforms! My children are thriving! While I think our kids would be successful at any school, both academically and socially, we chose Westlake Academy for its commitment to the IB program and the global nature of its quality education. There is no focus on standardized tests, yet the kids take them successfully. Education is not viewed as a series of checklists. This school continues to produce sophisticated, curious, engaged learners at all age levels.


Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Some test scores DO matter. Let's compare Westlake Academy's college entry (ACT/SAT) test scores to those of the surrounding districts. According to this website ... Westlake Academy ACT 27 ------------------------------------------- Carroll Sr. High ACT 26 Colleyville Heritage ACT 25 Grapevine High ACT 24 Keller High ACT 24 Byron Nelson ACT 17 Westlake Academy SAT 1176 ------------------------------------------- Carroll Sr. High SAT 1155 Colleyville Heritage SAT 1101 Grapevine High SAT 1097 Keller High SAT 1076 Byron Nelson SAT 767

Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Westlake Academy provides an outstanding learning environment where engaged, bright students can acquire the knowledge and skills necessary to excel in college and later in life. Wonderful IB curriculum, and outstanding teachers and administration. Not for everyone, but for the right type of student, it is a dream come true.

Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
As a former educator I cannot say enough about what a wonderful first year we had at Westlake Academy. The IB Program's well thought out curriculum and Learner Profiles make sense. They help student become life long learners.. There is NO teaching to the Star Test. This seemed to be a major complaint of other parents whose children attended the other local public schools. Learning comes from thinking not memorizing. The portfolio based assessment for the Kindergarten was so unique, I felt really in touch with what my child was learning. My daughter's teacher really pushed her to achieve and set challenging goals. I also appreciated how she didn't hold kids that were out performing others back and pushed them onward. Rather than teaching to the common denominator she worked with the appropriate skill sets. The hands on curriculum really seemed to enable this. Socially the small school environment is so welcoming, and a special note out to all those Dads in the morning who have made the beginning of our days so bright with their carpool help. I have seen my child blossom and be challenged to her ability and develop a true love of learning.


Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a community member
It s important to remember the measure of a school's success isn't just how well they do while in school but how they do when they leave, as defined in Westlake Academy s Vision Statement inspiring college bound students to achieve their highest individual potential. WA students are not only going to college and finishing, but getting degrees quicker than the national average, according to data by National Student Clearinghouse. Last year, WA s 53 graduates had a 100% college acceptance rate, and were accepted into top-rated universities with $4.4 million in scholarships/grants. WA students continue to achieve IB scores that are above world average and well above U.S. averages. The academy also surpasses surrounding districts in ACT and SAT scores. Last year, WA received several distinctions including reading, language arts, math, and science (tea.texas.gov). WA staff deserve a huge applaud for the job they re doing to help students succeed not only in school, but during years that follow, as defined in the academy's Mission to provide students with an internationally-minded education of the highest quality, so they are well-balanced and respectful lifelong learners.

Westlake Academy 1

Posted May 18, 2015
- a teacher
This school claims to teach IB curriculum but they fall short in more ways then one. The administration and teachers do play favorites to parents with money. There is no stability at this school as indicated by the high turnover rate of teachers and administrators. If the standards are so high and thinking outside of the box is encouraged then passing a standardized test should be no problem. The students should be knocking it out of the park, since these are the minimum standards. They do not! Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Mine is ... STAY AWAY!!!!

Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 18, 2015
- a community member
Let's set the record straight, and with proof (unlike many of these posts): "Westlake Academy received no distinctions" / FALSE / Last year alone, Westlake Academy received distinctions in Reading, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Closing Performance Gaps and Post-Secondary Readiness. All can be independently verified at tea.texas.gov. "There has been a huge staff turnover (50 percent)" / FALSE / Staff turnover in the past year was 25 percent which is equal to the national average for charter schools according to the Center for Reinventing Public Education and a study published by Vanderbilt University. "Many of the teachers have no IB experience and some have openly stated that they do not feel IB is worth learning" / FALSE / The International Baccalaureate Program is not "what" you teach, but "how" you teach and is an integral part of what Westlake Academy does every day. Proof? Westlake's IB scores continue to be above the world average and tower above the U.S. average. There has been very little flux in IB scores during the past four years. Beyond that, Westlake's ACT and SAT scores are well above surrounding districts. I believe in this school. You should, too.


Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
My kids were previously in a local isd and were not challenged. Since attending WA they are thriving. They love school and are retaining the knowledge because of the IB teaching style. They are not only learning math, reading, and writing but also communication, leadership, working as a team and presentation skills. I am constantly amazed at what my kids are learning and the conversations I have with them. While the public schools may be winding down because STAAR testing is over our 5th grade students are working very hard, pulling together what they have learned since starting the IB curriculum and will present it a few days before school ends. If you want your kids teacher to focus on preparing your kids to take a standardized test most the year then there is a public isd that can do that. If you are interested in teaching your child to think out of the box, apply what they have learned to real life issues, learn how to respect each other differences and get a great education you will like this school. I have not once ever heard anyone from Westlake talk down about lottery families. This is a school of choice - everyone has a public ISD they can attend.

Westlake Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
In response to the May 8th rating.....Firstly, you must ask yourself why your children are attending an IB school. Is it for high STAAR test performance? Because if it is, than Carroll is a more appropriate place for you. WA does NOT teach to the test, and DOES teach within an IB framework. Thus, our scores will likely never be as high as a district like CISD that begins test practice in September. Just a different philosophy. Secondly, nobody is "buying" the school. Administration has absolutely no information regarding the amounts donated by parents. It's kept confidential. Do parents have an influence on school policy more than in an ISD? Absolutely. It's one of the benefits of a small school. The saying, "the squeaky wheel gets the grease" is probably more applicable to what you're referencing. Thirdly, a 4 does not equal an A. Again, this is an IB school; read the criteria for a 4. It's not that your child completed all the tasks. It's that they went above and beyond mastery of the skill. The kids tend to "get it", and it gives them something to work toward. Your other points are just not correct, but enjoy Carroll!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westlake Academy
2600 J T Ottinger Road, Westlake, TX  76262
(817) 490-5757
Last modified Westlake Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westlake Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top