Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wylie High School

Public | 9-12 | 1976 students

 
 

Living in Wylie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2013

This school broke me. I used to love school until I moved to Wylie. My smile started to disappear slowly. I turned into the loner quiet kid that everybody picks on. Even the teachers picked on me, throwing things and almost hitting me in the face then another criticizing what music I listen to not know that that person's music keeps me going. There is only two teachers in the entire school that I trust. I always felt invisible at this school. The principal is pretty awesome though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2012

I am a parent of three students in the district. In the fall I will have a Freshman and a Junior at WHS. My students are involved in GT services, AP classes, and That Wylie Band primarily. They have also enjoyed Theater Arts and UIL Academic competitions. We have had a very positive experience will all these programs. My oldest participated in the TMEA All State Band as a Sophomore in 2012 thanks to an outstanding band program, amazing and inspiring band instructors, an outstanding private lesson instructor and personal practice. He now wants to major in music, and he is setting all kinds of goals for himself. Each year he is taking at least one AP class which will result in college credits. My entering Freshman is looking forward to marching with That Wylie Band in the fall and a rigorous academic schedule. Schools are very well funded. Decisions to drop programs like Junior High girls soccer which was dropped this year, come from very financially savvy decision-makers that have students best interests at the core of all difficult decisions. Teachers are caring and professional. Administrators are always visible and working toward continuous improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I am currently a student at Wylie High School, and my experience here is very good from a student's point of view. The Staff is very relaxed about rules that don't have to do with safety or academics, which are the only important ones in my opinion. The teachers I've had are not only good teachers, but they are cool teachers. I'm am involved in their Debate Team, which is a nationally recognized program at Wylie, that I would recommend for anyone who can argue.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2010

We moved here from Virginia Beach last year. We thought it would take a while for our son to adjust. He transitioned with ease. He plays football and runs track. The sports teams are very family oriented. They make sure grades come first. We have not been happier and our son loves it. The dress code is awesome. Our son leaves home dress for success. We are very satified with Wylie HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Wonderful teachers. Athletic program is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My last 8 years as a counselor before retirement were at Wylie HS. Of all my schools, I have never been prouder to be a part of a staff who put kids first, no matter what. Always a team effort, some of the most awesome instructors and principals, unbelievable extra-curricular activities in all areas, and students who were happy, engaged, challenged, and safe. Teachers truly spent many, many extra hours with students for any reason. I was happy to be a part of a district who remembers that the student is the foundation of the school, and where respect of those students was a major part of learning, not only in academics.


Posted February 6, 2008

I think Wylie high school is a great shcool. Their culinary program probably is the best in the us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2007

This is my child's second year at Wylie High and it has been fantastic. The entire school district is that of a small country town and all their staff is very caring and helpful. They have some of the best funded schools I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

I attended Wylie schools my entire life and graduated in 2004. I was extremely impressed with the Gifted and Talented program. As a military brat and many friends enrolled, I can highly recommend the AFJROTC program. Sports are a big thing at Wylie High, but That Wylie Band is just as accomplished. If theatre is more your style, try out for Main Stage Play Production class. There are 4 or 5 productions every year and always a pleasant event. I plan on returning to Wylie in 2 years, after I have finished my student teaching, to teach. There is no better school district out there with the levels of technology and hometown feel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2006

Wylie High School is the best! Great school, concerned teachers and counselors. ROTC program is the best around. The only downside to the school is that they've gone to standardized dress for the 2006-2007 school year and I think that's absurd. If the staff can't control the students without a standardized dress code, they sure won't be able to do it with one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Wylie High School possesses a superb facility and reputation for academic excellence.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 22, 2004

This is my son's second year at wylie high and i must say the teaching staff is outstanding and very responsive. Wylie has a great deal to offer any student with a desire to achieve. The online grades resource for parents allows each of us to become active in our childs success. As a parent you know immediately how well your child is doing at the click of a finger. When you e-mail the teachers they respond quickly and offer their suggestions to help improve your childs grade. My hats off to the staff at wylie high .. Thanks for being caring and responsive to our needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

I am a current student at Wylie high. Although I havent been here long the school is amazing. Proud to be here. The only discretion I have is the afterschool activities are limited, dress code too strict almost like boot camp, and tutoring isnt very long. At W.T.White tutoring could be held from 7AM to 8:30AM or 4PM to 6PM. Other then that, it is great and very clean. Teachers are caring and very polite.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2004

I'm not a parent I graduated in '04 and my experience at Wylie was the best time of my life. I'm an army brat and have attended multiple schools but i never attended one as wonderful at Wylie. The teachers were closely knit with the students and the students have so much spirit. It truely was the best time of my life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2004

The spirit and education at Wylie High School is outstanding. The student-teacher community is very closely knit as is the student body. Although the students are greatly disappointed by new regulations, Wylie is advancing safety from name badges to parking lot monitors. Also, the school is expanding its building and technology very rapidly. Our only complaint of the school is the lack of support through the counseling office. Overall, we were very proud for our childeren to gradutate from Wylie High, and enjoyed the traditions we practiced and the traditions we made.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 9, 2004

Parents beware! If you have a special needs child do not enroll them at WHS. In my humble opinion, lip service is all that's paid to the matter of special needs but if you want your child to have services- helping your child learn to succeed in life beyond high school, you won't find them here. The one saving grace WHS has going for it is the AFJROTC program, run by the honorable Colonel Wayne Wilbanks with assistance for Sergeant Smith. Your child will be treated with kindness, dignity and integrity if they have Colonel Wilbanks or Sergeant Smith for an instructor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

They have such a high drop-out rate and a high rate of teen pregnancy it is unbelievable. This school has the most uncaring staff I have ever seen or dealt with in my children's school years. Thank God my children were only in the Wylie ISD for a couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

451 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

460 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

416 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

410 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

412 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

410 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students91%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
59%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

517 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

559 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

514 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students88%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American85%
Asian97%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education85%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian96%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African American89%
Asian98%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education79%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black or African American96%
Asian91%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education33%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students83%
Female85%
Male80%
Black or African American76%
Asian84%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education44%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students58%
Female65%
Male51%
Black or African American52%
Asian77%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education5%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black or African American89%
Asian98%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education64%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students62%
Female67%
Male59%
Black or African American60%
Asian71%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education9%
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Students52%
Female61%
Male43%
Black or African American41%
Asian68%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
Not special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented90%
Non-Gifted47%

Geometry

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African American94%
Asian90%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education80%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
Black or African American87%
Asian98%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education56%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students88%
Female85%
Male90%
Black or African American83%
Asian96%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education50%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 29%
Hispanic 19% 52%
Black 18% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P O Box 490
Wylie, TX 75098
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 429-3100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Achieve Academy
Wylie, TX


3rd High School
Wylie, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT