Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

705 students|Alpine District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cascade School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Cascade is amazing! Not only do the staff genuinely care about your students, they care about you, too. The teachers and their passion for their jobs have helped me out more than once. I literally have too many great stories about them to post! They have literally taken my child mid-tantrum, so that I could go home and have a good cry. They are the reason my kids read for hours every day. They provide great opportunities through the Chinese Immersion program for my kids, as well as field trips, Reflections, Ribbon Week, Book Swap, etc. Cascade Cougars love to learn, show respect, and do their best!

Cascade School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
My oldest just started 5th grade and I LOVE that the only homework he is assigned is whatever classwork did not get completed. I feel like this is more in line with real life and an appropriate level of homework.


Cascade School 1

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
Not happy with this school! It is a heavy LDS school. While my daughter is mixed race that isn't a issue. I do wonder why there isn't a more diverse set of students here. The office staff is kind to your face. My daughter is in Kindergarden her teacher has told me that "She didn't want to know what is going on." between her father and I. I am not one to give all details but given the situation that I and my daughter are in requires basic information. I have emailed her teacher asking about my daughter's progress with no response. I haven't received any weekly emails for a few weeks now! Yet my ex receives them. I am the primary parent! Needless to say I am looking for a different school for her next year.

Cascade School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
I love this school and the staff so much. My son is in Chinese immersion and he loves it as well. Mrs. Stevens, Mrs. Hutchison, mrs. Olsen and Mr. Lui are the best!! So is Mrs. Britany Phelps! We love the principal, Mr. Campbell as well. Even the office staff and lunch ladies are the bomb.com!! Hands down, best school in the county!

Cascade School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
Cascade is incredible! I have two children at this school. The principal is outstanding, teachers are caring, I have absolutely no complaints. We are actually out of area because we wanted to enroll our children in the Chinese immersion program and we highly recommend it. The English teachers our children have are phenomenal and same with Chinese. Cascade is a warm, friendly environment. I definitely recommend Cascade.


Cascade School 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
I have a kindergartner going here, and I am very happy with the school. We love Mrs. Black; she goes above and beyond to teach and care for the class.

Cascade School 1

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
Do not let your child attend this school if you are not LDS. My review is on a personal level but my child was promptly harassed about not going to the other children's ward in the lunch cafiteria. Speaking with the principal got my nowhere because he was unsure of the child involved! Her teacher was very impatient with her and would "smack" her on the arm if my daughter did not understand what was being asked of her. My daughter only attended this school for a couple of weeks and came home with "frequent" headaches and would cry nonstop the night before school. This was very unlike her because she's always received good grades and never missed class in her old school. I have gotten her transferred to another school here and now she is back to her old self again and loves school!

Cascade School 4

Posted October 01, 2008
- a student
I loved the science teacher, Mr. Jacob. He has been the best teacher I ever had.


Cascade School 3

Posted August 29, 2006
- a parent
While I haven't been terribly impressed with the academics at Cascade, from what I can gather they are doing as much or more than most schools in the area. There is no extracurricular activity at all in my experience (grades 1 through 4). My oldest son also had problems with bullies with no action ever being taken toward the bullies by teachers or administration. Teacher involvement could be better, but in my experience is limited by the lack of teacher interest than lack of willing parents. I have 3 boys attend and my wife and I have volunteered to do all sorts of things and have only had two teachers consistently take us up on it. Both were experienced faculty of which there are very few in this school.

Cascade School 4

Posted August 21, 2006
- a parent
I have been very happy with the school. Academically they are great. They also have an after school orchestra program, as well as academic decathelon preparation for grades 4-6. The city has a widespread extracurricular sports program, so there is less emphasis on school sponsored sports.

Nearby schools

Cascade School
160 North 800 East, Orem, UT  84097
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (801) 610-8102
Last modified Cascade School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top