Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morningside School

Public | PK-6 | 435 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2012

Both my son (20 years old) attended and daughter (7 years old) has been attending this wonderful school. The current principal was my son's teacher in another school when he was 7-year-old and needed to go to another school (where the principal was trained in gifted program). He was placed in her 5th-grade class due to his advanced learning ability. With training in gifted program, she was very patient with my son by helping him develop organizational skills. Because of her understanding of gifted student's special needs, my son was enjoying his study and adjusting well among older kids. He later attended U of U at 14, and Stanford graduate school at 18. Now, my daughter goes to the same school and my son's former teacher became the principal. She is very approachable, and helpful when we have any questions with my daughter's class. My daughter loves the learning enviroment in this school. I am glad to see such a passionate person as principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

If I were to rate the French progam, it would be a 4 or 5 star. I'm sure the Magnet program is a 5 star. But the traditional classrooms/attmosphere is just that- NOT traditional at all. I know half of my neighborhood is sending their kids to the other local schools. I don't want my children in a school full of programs (2) and not have a great traditional school. There are no options. And only one regular class per grade. Same class/kids year after year. So unless you are doing one of the programs, I'd choose to not have my child go to this school - like the hundreds of other students who aren't going to Morningside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

Morningside is a great school. The French immersion program is great. The regular classes are excellent. I hear of parents pullings their kids out to go to Oakridge. Oakridge is a fine school, but Morningside is its equal. If your student struggles at Morningside, they will also struggle at Oakridge. It has nothing to do with the school, only the parents attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

Morningside was a big disappointment for me. The principal is not very approachable and when you meet with her about concerns, her attitude is that she can't do anything. The lower grades are assigned drop off and pick up on the side of the school that doesn't have drop off lanes. So, there is a lot of double parking and dangerous situations that the lower grades have to navigate through just to get to the building. This becomes a huge concern when there is snow since the school is on a hill. I definitely think the French immersion and magnet programs are nice to have at the school. But I keep asking myself, would anyone stay at Morningside if they didn't have these programs? Probably not. With that being said, 5 students in our kindergarten class moved to different schools because Morningside just couldn't get their act together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Morningside was the best decision I've made for my daughter who started 1st grade this year. The school overall has a very progressive attitude towards education. It houses the district's magnet program, a French-immersion program, and standard classes. The teachers and principal are focused on providing the best education for all the kids in the school. The PTA is supportive and communicative and offers an amazing variety of programs for the students -- everything from dance to foreign language (in addition to the immersion program) to service to chess clubs. It's a terrific educational environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

Morningside is a gem in Salt Lake City. Superior education, quiet neighborhood, friendly, family atmosphere. There is nothing that compares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

Morningside is a great neighborhood school surrounded by quiet residential streets and no businesses nearby. It is a safe, supportive, community environment for kids. The teachers are wonderful, welcoming and encouraging of children. My daughter has encountered many different teaching styles that have both challenged and nurtured her. The school is small, which has given her a sense of security in knowing the principal, the secretary, the teachers and all of the children in her grade. They all know her too, which makes us feel secure in sending her there every day. Having a gifted magnet program and blind school on the premises makes it an especially interesting and unique place for children to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

Morningside has a great magnet program. It also has a diversity in ethnic groups. If your child is deaf or blind, this school has a good program for them. Morningside has great teachers and students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 78%
Hispanic 3% 15%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A38%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4170 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84124
Phone: (385) 273-2065

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Morningside Magnet School
Salt Lake City, UT


Howard R Driggs School
Salt Lake City, UT


Upland Terrace School
Salt Lake City, UT


Oakridge School
Salt Lake City, UT


Crestview School
Salt Lake City, UT


Montessori of Salt Lake
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT