Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brighton High School

Public | 10-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

Many of the students here suffer from severe cases of affluenza and diversity is nonexistent. More often than not, the teachers here are grossly unqualified. They are not engaging, nor are they intellectually stimulating. The attendance policy is designed to give your a child a cop out if they choose not to attend school. In many classes students can miss day after day and still receive a passing grade. Vice principals are known to wave their magic wands and make unexcused absences disappear for children they take a particular liking to. Academically, only a select few of the classes are intellectually stimulating. The AP courses have some instructors who are genuinely talented and of high teaching caliber. Unfortunately, Brighton is not innovative in any department. The majority of the education doled out here is very basic. Many of the teachers I had at Brighton, voiced their dissatisfaction with the administration as a whole, and did not agree with many policies implemented by them. Their is a large disconnect between students and teachers, teachers and the administration. This results in a school that does not feel united in any way shape or form.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2013

If you are not rich don't bring your child here. Bullying is a huge problem here. Kids who have not been raised with respect but have had money thrown at them. Horrible environment. Not reality. Such a bad thing to submit your kid to. If you want to raise another Kim Cardashian then this is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

I'm incredibly disappointed at what Brighton HS has provided in terms of educating my daughter. While my other children have attended Charter Schools that I've been extremely pleased with, my one daughter chose Brighton in order to participate in Dance Co.. That choice has come at a high price. There is not a single competent science teacher in the school. My daughter is extremely bright and has been disenchanted with science due to extremely poor instruction. The teacher residing over Dance Co. is emotionally abusive to the girls on a daily basis; using profanity & directing personal insults at the girls. My conversations with the administration have been disappointing at best. If this is the best that a well funded school can provide it is not surprising that this nation is falling behind globally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

My daughter attended this school her senior year. I am glad she received the majority of her education in Texas because she sailed through the classes here.She took advanced classes that were teaching what she took in Jr.High ...in Texas. The administration at this School is a joke. Never friendly....give you the run around....and no one is ever on the same page. I could call and get four different answers to the same question. (Yes...really...this actually happened to me two days ago!) They never apologize for their incompetence either. They just look at you like you're crazy. My daughter was also an honor role student and technically graduated early. She stayed in for the last trimester to take fun classes. She missed a few days of school due to migraines and had to make them up after school. And pay money for it!! That's one thing they really care about at that school. They wont talk to you about anything until fees are paid!! I'm so glad I never have to deal with that front office again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

There have been students at this school who have missed over 50 class periods and the VP has erased the absences. This is not right for all the other kids that miss a few classes and they come down hard on them. Obviously the counselor and the VP need to be repremanded by the Canyon District Office to which I will be writing a formal complaint. This school is the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

There is a 10th grade English teacher at Brighton High School who, every parent and student I've spoken with, thinks should be avoided at all costs. (Her first and last name together remind one of a professional skateboarder.) She has been cruel, sarcastic and inflexible with the students in her class. She seems especially intolerant of boys. The administration is well aware of parental concerns and student outrage but seem unwilling or unable to do anything about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

Brighton has a lot to offer in academics, sports, and clubs. the teachers are excellent and supportive. Kids are friendly and accepting of new kids. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

My child is going there now into 11th grade and last year he love it! I personally believe it is the best high school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

Good school and the staff is very supportive. They really want kids to succeed, but tend to hanhold a bit much. Overall, I am very satisfied with the instructors.


Posted January 15, 2007

Brighton High has great acaedemics and has great students. Brighton has a great environment for learning and is full of bright students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2005

This is a good school. I personally attended school there and I know that the students have some of the highest test scores in the state.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 7, 2005

I graduated from Brighton in 2003. I love Brighton so much. When I was in high school I was in the choir and the choir was the best choice I could think of. All the teachers care about every student. Every Student caring about each other. I would reconmend that you should have your child attend this wonderful high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2005

Brighton has a wonderful academic curriculum. Offers many AP classes. Majority of students go to college. Teaches you to be a bit ethnocentric, but society is a bit caste-system-like anyway.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 3, 2005

I attended Brighton in 1999-2000. This school was great academically. However, it was horrible when it came to making all students feel cared for and belonging to a community. If you did not where the best clothes and come from a rich family you felt you did not belong. Although anyone could find their niche, they would still not feel the school was their own. I believe their are other schools in the valley with just as high calibur academics but not such arrongant people. I transfered out of this school for that and family reasons.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 26, 2004

My college aged son graduated at Brighton. The counseling office was helpful, always returned phone calls, and assisted my son by sending the necessary paperwork during the college app process. He often thought the social maturity, open mindedness, and acceptance of others by the students was weak, and extremely clickish there. He ended up in a wonderful eastern school, and has found his niche. The students at Brighton certainly allowed him the opportunity to be exposed to what he didn't want. The Teachers, counselor office, and staff are kind and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

Brighton High School is the best school in the state. The acapella choir is the highest ranked in the district (1+ at State 2003). The choral and drama departments are amazing. The sports teams are (typically) undefeated and the honors program is terrific! I highly reccomend enrollment at Brighton High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

Check out the statistics of the school. I'll tell you right now that Brighton has the highest test score average over any other school in the district.


Posted September 9, 2003

We have had two children graduate from Brighton. This school can be academically challenging if you choose. I wish they would help the senior class seek more scholarships and prepare the students for life after high school. Overall I would say you get what you put into this school. The student body is friendly if you make it a part of your life. If your student does not take an active roll in school & extracurricular activities then they may find it 'snobbish.' Both my children have excelled in post high school and we attribute much of their successes to the faculty, coaches and advisors at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

I graduated from Brighton in '80 and have been happy with the education my own daughter has received there. She is active in the Honor's program, sports, A'Capella, and has had outstanding teachers. The students are quite varied and you find what you are looking for. I understand the frustration of some parents, however get involved before criticizing you may be surprised what you find!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I too graduated in 2002. Brighton has been building a web of materialism and highly judgemental students for some time, and almost everyone seems to get caught up in it at some point in their 3 year stay. Most teachers make the stay pleasant, so I would recommend anyone to choose Brighton, especially in the music department (equipments a little old, but the instructor is the best you can get). Don't forget who you are. Know that you are better than the cycle..brighton is a good place to master this.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 40% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
37%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 40% in 2010.

2010

 
 
27%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
79%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
73%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
38%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2220 East Bengal Blvd
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
Phone: (801) 256-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brighton High School
Salt Lake City, UT


Deseret Academy
Salt Lake City, UT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT