Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dilworth School

Public | PK-6 | 594 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

Wonderful school, probably the best elementary school in the state with committed teachers and excellent classroom learning.


Posted June 23, 2014

Dilworth is a good school; I only wish they had either more spaces in the full-day kindergarten, or enrichment option for half-day Kindergarteners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

My daughter attended kindergarten at Dilworth last year. Half way through the year a group of boys in her class began bullying my daughter - hitting her on the head in class, chasing her and pushing her down on the playground - while teachers were right there watching. This went on for 4 months and the teacher did nothing. My daughter came home crying one day and told her father & I. We went to speak with the teacher the next morning. The teacher's response when my husband & I approached her was "those boys play nicely together, you're daughter needs to learn to deal with it on her own." Of course we involved the principal, who's reaction was not much better. He had the teacher speak with the boys - parents were never contacted. After this I was so afraid for my daughter I would make random visits at recess to see if she was safe/hurt. I couldn't trust her teacher/the principal to keep her safe. In talking to other parents, I know we are not the only family that has had serious issues with bullying at Dilworth that have been blown off by teachers and administrators. After being assigned a 1st grade teacher that was even worse we withdrew her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

I'm not as impressed with the principal as the previous poster, however he is decent, caring and friendly. His support with our child's mild learning disability was sub-par. We have had some amazing teachers and some not so amazing, which I think one gets with any school. The class size has grown to an uncomfortable level in the last couple of years. I love that this school serves breakfast and has an after school program - great for working parents. Parent involvement is excellent, and the PTA is well organized. The whole school is pretty well organized actually, which is due in no small part to the wonderful secretary. It has a fair amount of income diversity (super rich, and not so rich), which we appreciated, but limited ethnic diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Dilworth is great. I am posting this comment in 2010, aftter the transition of schools and principals. The current principal is awesome and really cares about the kids and school. I have one child in the special ed. program there and one in regular classes. Both are doing great. For kids with special needs, the school is VERY inclusive, and the special ed staff is excellent. My child in the regular ed classes is doing great and has one of the oldest teachers there, and she is an experienced teacher who really knows what she is doing. Dilworth has gotten one of the best grades in the Salt Lake City District for educating our children. We love Dilworth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

My child entered Dilworth in 5th grade and had a difficult time fitting in; all of the kids had known each other since first grade and were somewhat clique-ish. There is not a lot of diversity at the school. Also, overall, I don't think the school is as academically challenging as we would have liked. We did love the close-knit, community aspect of the school and the building and facilities are OUTSTANDING. I don't think the class sizes are very big and the school doesn't feel overcrowded at all. Things improved greatly in 6th grade (when several new students moved into the class). The 6th grade teaching team at Dilworth is phenomenal. They are able to motivate the kids academically and socially, and my child had an amazing year. I cannot say enough for how impressed I was with my child's sixth grade experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

Dilworth had a transition from a retiring principal, an interim principal & now an inexperienced principal. The teaching staff is varied, but there are a couple of teachers that should have retired years ago, if ever to have entered the profession in the first place. But the main problem with Dilworth is the true lack of protecting your children while they are in attendance. For two years, my child was bullied. He was so afraid of his teacher, he wouldn't ask her questions. Then a fellow student started bullying him and when the teachers or administration caught the offender, they told my son to 'give him another chance'. This excalated to a point where we withdrew our children from this school. Beautiful school, great programs; lousy admin & some lazy teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

I think Dilworth has a great staff! The school is very nice. I want every school to look at theres compared to Dilworth becasue they will see thing they Do need to change and/or work on. One thing I am concerd is They recess. I do belive the kids should aget more Lunch/Recess time. My child comes home hungry because she didn't have time to ea. I mean what Is that? The Discipline could rise though. Dr. ROberts is the Principal and he does a wonderful job. Thank you and you may reach me at anytime if any ? my phone number is 487-6110 thank you for your time and concern
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

I loved Dilworth! Until they remodeled and all all these new principals took over. I like the new principal he's really awesome! I just wish they didn't remodel and that they didn't change the mascot or song! My child has reported that she is glad that she graduated a dragon not a dingo! My opinion is if you're gonna change the mascot, change the name too! Dilworth elementary school is not what Mary Jane Dilworth wanted it to turn out like!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

Dilworth is moving into a new school. The administration and teachers have handled the past year's transition and upcoming one well. My concerns are with too large of class sizes in the younger grades. My now third grader had 29 students in her first grade class and may have 30 or more in her 4th grade class next year. Another concern is with the afterschool program. It could become more dynamic,energized and fun. Afterschool staff don't appear to have adequate information on how or why to provide quality afterschool programing. Teachers have been very academically focused, appear knowledgable and professional. Too bad there is no formal art educator. Only program is parent/pta provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 77%
Hispanic 5% 15%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1953 South 2100 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84108
Phone: (801) 481-4806

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Beacon Heights School
Salt Lake City, UT


Redeemer Lutheran School
Salt Lake City, UT


Indian Hills School
Salt Lake City, UT


Highland Park School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT