Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Intermountain Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 280 students

Academically strong Christian education in everything we do
 
 

 
 

Living in Salt Lake City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $231,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2011

I say this with complete honesty and sincerity. If our family didn't have ICS, we would no longer stay in Utah. The academics and Christian education is unsurpassed. This amazing school is really what's keeping us here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I've been at I.C.S. since PreKindergarten and the teachers helped and encouraged us a lot to get our assignments turned in and helped us become closer to God.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2009

Not impressed with the school at all! This will be our last year there (2009). Elementry Teachers very weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

This school is genuine. It has the perfect balance of my child getting a great education and a strong Christian foundation. The class sizes are small and the teachers and staff are extremely helpful and nice. The principal is very social. He stands outside in the cold to greet all of the students in the morning. ICS is a big reason we continue to live here instead of moving back to my hometown in Tennessee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

We love the Elementary school. AS our kids are getting older, the lack of classes is starting to hurt because the teachers are having to teach to the average child. This means the smart kids are getting bored and the below average kids are struggling. The size of the school is also hurting because they can't offer as many courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

Great school, we have two kids at ICS. The education is outstanding and the Christian values are quite refreshing. I am most impressed with the teachers and principal, their willingness to partner with the parents is wonderful. The school does expects a lot from the children and operates from a biblical stance with I find comforting in terms of their future! As each year goes, we continue to realize we made the right decision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

Pulled our kids out of ICS. We felt the judgment and direction of several of the teachers was way off. We belive in christian education, just not at ICS. Look around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

I never knew what my children were missing until we moved to Utah and began sending them to ICS. Even though there may be fewer options at a smaller school, there are more opportunities to participate in extra-curricular activities, since everyone is able to be involved. They all participated in drama, sports (baseball, basketball, soccer), art, and music (band, vocal choir, bell choir). My two older boys got into 10 out of the eleven schools they applied to, due to recommendations from teachers who really knew them as well as all of the activities in which they were involved, not to mention the excellent academic reputation of the school. All three of my boys (one is currently a sophomore) have been challenged academically and their faith has become their own, as their Christian teachers have reinforced the Biblical principles and values we have taught at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

A challenging yet caring environment! We have loved the teachers, class sizes, and extra-activities. Our kids have been inspired, encouraged but most importantly have received a solid education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

I have had two boys go there from kindergarten. One graduated & was accepted to Wheaton, the other now a junior. The teachers are strong academically and spiritually. The small class size and school size has provided opportunities to participated in sports, plays, and extra curricular activities. Our boys have been able to form relationships with the teachers we would not find in larger, secular schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2005

Fantastic school. I am an alumni, and now my child attends. Small class sizes, there the teachers really care. Your child won't be a 'number' here. Only wish it was a bit less expensive, but you get what you pay for.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 77%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 15%
Black 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mitch Menning
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (801) 942-8813

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6515 Lion Ln
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
Website: Click here
Phone: (801) 365-0370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Butler School
Salt Lake City, UT


Bella Vista School
Salt Lake City, UT


Butler Middle School
Salt Lake City, UT


Butler Middle School
Salt Lake City, UT


Canyon View School
Salt Lake City, UT


Canyon View School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT