Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Daybreak School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

We love Daybreak Elementary! The teachers and faculty are caring, engaging and truly invested in our son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

my school is the best! It has teachers that care and plan carefully to the CORE. We help those that need help and accelerate those that need challenged. We have the best principal in the whole country, that supports the teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2013

Daybreak Elementary is an outstanding school. The office staff is welcoming, security has been tightened, and teachers work extremely hard to help every child reach his/her potential. Test scores are also high. Teachers collaborate frequently to continually improve curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I was a student at Daybreak and I really think daybreak elementary is a GREAT school. I loved going there. When I moved I was sad that I had to leave that school it's very easy to love that school when it's easy to make friends and the teachers there are awesome! If you are looking for an elementary school consider daybreak elementary, it's an awesome school! -from Eva Schafer


Posted May 20, 2013

Classes are overcrowded, no extracurricular activities for the children, no good interactions with teachers or principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

This school has been great so far. My son is in Kindergarten and he has learned reading, math, social skills, and so much more this year. We receive communication from this school about what the kids are working on, upcoming activities, etc., and they are also very thorough about keeping the parents involved. With the recent security issues around the country involving schools, Daybreak has made a huge effort to tighten up security and they also practice drills with the students in case of emergency. I think they handled it extremely well and made me as a parent feel a lot better about my child's safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

Daybreak is a great school! The principal is easy to work with and cares about students. The teachers are great and my boys have made a lot of progress since they started there. I've been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

Best teachers, principal and staff. Our school works very hard to accommodate all the children and strive for more than average, we strive for above the bar on all subjects.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2009

I rate four star. I wish there was more than one learning style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

Horrible overcrowding, lax security, clueless office staff, no separate art, music, computer and phys ed classes. It is also in a newer building, but doesn't feel welcoming
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

Daybreak Elementary is a good school and it is nestled in a wonderful community. It opened the Fall of 2005 and, considering it is a relatively new school, we have been pleased. The administration has a good working relationship with parents. The school, like every other school in the Salt Lake Valley, is crowded and the class sizes are large. We have an average turnover of teachers but this was mainly due to boundary changes and the opening of new schools. Once our boundaries are settled (we will go through one more boundary change this summer) I think the school and all its programs will run much more smoothly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 77%
Hispanic 7% 15%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4544 West Harvest Moon Dr
South Jordan, UT 84095
Phone: (801) 302-0553

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Midas Creek School
Riverton, UT



Eastlake School
South Jordan, UT


Rose Creek School
Riverton, UT


Silver Crest School
Herriman, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT