Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Cliffs School

Public | K-5 | 658 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2009

My child has attended for two years. My main concern is that the school does not seem to want to be bothered by minor discipline or conflict resolution. I have been threatened of suspension because my child was talking during class (three warnings in 30 days). While I realize my child should follow the rules, seriously suspension for small talk?? The school has called repeatedly asking what should they do and even calling to tell me your child wants to come home . I would think they should be equipped to handle and diffuse the situation, possibly redirect the child s attention positively. Seems it s just easier to call the parent for advice. Perhaps offing a more challenging curriculum to students that require it, rather than just placing to many students into the mold of a predetermined curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

My child is attending his third year at this school. He is my first child to attend school, so I didn't know what to expect. I have loved everything about this school. The new principal is caring. The extra activities are awesome. The office staff is the best. The teachers have surpassed my exceptions. My child loves going to school. Also, as a business owner I donated prizes for a school event. Before, I got home from helping I had a message from the principal thanking me. She went the extra mile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

I'm a local custom home builder who has two daughters attending this school. My several experiences at school events have been very positive. My spouse is serving on the PTA as together with another neighborhood mom. Four moms in our neighborhood share responsibility for carting the kids to school. The people (school staff and other parents) are all friendly and helpful. This is a Great place to raise children. Parent and Resident - St. George, UT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

I have two children in school and one entering next year. The third grade teacher that my son had was one of the best teachers that we have had. She is very structured in all that she does and expects the children to do their best. The little extras like Knights of the math table, and poetry program were outstanding and my child was eager to learn. The coyote crooners choir was an awsome experience for my child, A big nod of approval for the choir and both of the leaders. I am glad to have my kids in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

I have been impressed by my child's teacher. I knows she really cares about her students and loves teaching. I have only met with the prinicpal one time, she was friendly but didn't solve my problem. My only compliant would be the lack of supervision before school, at recess and other non-academic times(this does not reflect on the teacher more on the aides). I also have not been impressed with the busing but that has nothing to do with the school, it is a district issue and could happen at any school. Overall I am happy with my child's teacher and education at Coral Cliffs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

I find coral cliffs to be one of the best elemetary schools in the district. It is well run by a capable administrative staff and has some of the most caring teachers in the district. Furthermore parent involvement is extremely high leading to a positive and community minded environment. All these factors have led to increased test scores and high morale. Whether judging the school on subjective or objective criteria, Coral Cliffs turns out to be one of - if not the - best elemetaries in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

I have found the teachers, staff and principal at Coral Cliffs to be extraordinary. I believe the negative comments posted on this site were isolated incidents and possibly posted by the same person. I find it hard to believe that anyone with a genuine concern was dismissed by either the teachers or staff. I have found the principal to be a kind and compassionate individual whose main concern is the welfare of our children.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 11, 2005

The atmosphere at Coral Cliffs is like none other that I have seen. I have had children in lots of schools and the care, discipline and teacher quality is phenomenal. The principal is very caring and is concerned about parents and working with the child and parent and teacher. The assemblies have been amazing and they have the best choir in the district. I would rate them A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

First I have to say I like my child's teacher very much. The school is a nice new facility. The principal was plain rude to me when I had concerns. the support staff (not the teacher) pushes blame on each other. The busing is plain horrible. I worry about my child's safety. There are older bullies that dont get discplined. I dont recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

I am very dissatisfied with this school. the teacher is good but that is about all I can say positive. The prinicipal was rude from day one. The busing is horrible. The supervision is very low. My child is not challenged just bored. We are selling our home to move to Bloomington elementary. Sad it come to moving but Coral Cliffs isnt going to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

I am a student intern from a near by high school. I observe the kids and teachers interactions together almost daily, and every time I go to the school, I get filled with a generally peaceful feeling. The teachers are always chipper and trying to be bright. Students respond very well to the love their teachers show. Even at the end of the day when teachers are shuffling kids on to the buses, there is an entire feeling of general care and joy in both teachers and students. All classrooms are equally decorated and fitted perfectly to specific class needs. The halls are always clean and bright. Generally, it is a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

Principal and teacher are completely insensitive to the needs of student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 77%
Hispanic 11% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 1%
Black 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2040 West 2000 North
St George, UT 84770
Phone: (435) 652-4712

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dixie Sun School
St George, UT


Santa Clara School
Santa Clara, UT


Arrowhead School
Santa Clara, UT


Sunset School
St George, UT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT