Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vista School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

The principal Jolene Randall is the most incompetent and vindictive administrator. She tries to divert the idea that the results for sage, AYP and Crts are very low by implementing the leader in me program. Students will be behind in math and reading, but they will be able to greet people at the door. In the last 2 years more than 30 teachers decided to moved because Jolene Randall will make sure that you feel miserable , unappreciated and discriminated as a teacher , unless you are LDS. The facts are very clear : low scores , not every teacher is ESL endorsed neither they have at least 1 teacher with a gifted and talented endorsement per grade level. ...... but they have the leader in me program???? Guess what ...the results are still the same!!! the students are still struggling because the principal force their teachers to implement a worthless program.


Posted September 5, 2013

My son and daughter are both in the dual immersion program at vista. This is our 5th year attending. The teachers have been excellent and easy to work with. We had one issue with a substitute teacher last year and the assistant principle was immediately available to listen to our concerns and address the problem. I would suggest vista to other parents that are interested in the dual immersion program. We drop.off in the front which hasn't been a problem, and pick up in the back of the school at the park, where there is less traffic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

vista is a decent school. my son goes to the duel immersion class, and he loves it. however, when it comes to the childrens safety, instead of being able to drop your kids off at the front of the school, on school grounds, it's not allowed. they make you drop the kids off ACCROSS the street in a church parking lot!!!!! all those kids, on the side of the street, having to cross the street isn't safe!!!! yes, there is a crossing guard, but there is no guarentee that the cars slow down in the school zone. they have "security duty" making sure no one drives on to school grounds, but none accross the street, in the parking lot, making sure kids don't run in front of cars. they say they are concerned about kids running in front of cars at the school, that's why they now have to go accross the street. i guess as long as they don't see it, it's not their concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

My son has attended Vista for the last five years. I am very pleased with the education he has received. The teachers are wonderful and very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

My child has attended Vista Elementary since kindergarten, and basically it has been a pretty good school. There have been a lot of issues in prior years with certain teachers constantly harassing and singling out children on recesses for kids being kids, and a old school principal that covered that up and make excuse after excuse for them. However, last year a well needed change in Principal's fixed that - Mrs Randall, the new Principal is just great and knows children by name. She is a pleasure to talk to & very positive for our children - and finds the good in ALL of them. The FRESH start that this school needed!! And teachers seem to follow her positive attitude as well... every school needs a Mrs Randall :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Having moved from Murray, I am so much happier with Vista. The new principal, Mrs. Randall is involved and knows her students by name, she answers questions and has been so much help. The new social worker, Ms. Kessel is amazing and the teachers are wonderful, I don't feel like it's MY job to do homework every night. They motivate my kids and inspire them. I love this school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

I think elementary schools in general are sending home too much homework. It does feel like it shifts the workload onto the parents, and also feels like an attempt to force 'parental involvement.' 2 stars for that. 5 star teachers. 5 stars for an EXCELLENT new principal and a EXTREMELY COMPETENT social worker (Fall 2009). I anticipate great new things for kids in special ed and especially those with ADHD and autism. The principal has personal experience with ADHD kids. Vista also has a decent music program, but it doesn't start until 5th grade (4 stars). 5 stars for the new dual emersion Spanish program that helps the growing hispanic population. 5 stars for handling diversity. No stars for after-school programs. They need to start talking about how they CAN implement one, instead of why they CAN'T. (ie., use the Catholic church facilities across the street , change the policies, etc.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

The problem I have with this school is that it seems like I am the one teaching my child. They bring pages and pages of homework each day and when I go over it, I am teaching them everything. I don't think children should have so much homework in the first grade and in kindergarton. i think elementary should ease into the homework. The teachers aren't very helpful either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

I have 2 daughters in the dual emersion spanish language program and we all love it. I have had bad experiences at other schools, but I think the teachers here are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

This schools education is not good one bit at all. I have barely even learned anything. After I moved to a different school I had gotten so much better education and I got to express myself. They even let the kids serve the food and the kids don't even pay attention. this school doesn't give kids a way to express who they really are,get the education they should get,or even have fun while learning. I suggest going to a different school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2007

My first impression of Vista was really great until we had our first problem. Then the tables were turned and suddenly it was a problem at home or something that was not the school's responsibility. Dr.Clarke never seems to have a direct answer or solution to problems that arise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I have had 2 kids in Vista I currently have only 1 in 5th grade. Their office staff is reluctant to help. Dr. Clarke the principal always has the 'party line' answers about the problems they have at Vista. 'That is a disctrict issue...' 'we don't have enough training for our teachers because their is no funding.' I am glad my child only has one more year at Vista.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 77%
Hispanic 38% 15%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4925 South 2200 West
Taylorsville, UT 84118
Phone: (385) 646-5067

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spring Lane School
Salt Lake City, UT



Plymouth School
Salt Lake City, UT


Harry S. Truman School
West Valley City, UT


Taylorsville School
Salt Lake City, UT


John C Fremont School
Taylorsville, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT