Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Navigator Pointe Academy

Charter | K-9

 
 

Living in West Jordan

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $167,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

My school is amazing - the kids learn at their levels. There is a teacher and instructor in every elementary class. They have smaller reading, spelling and math groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

Our children have attended this school since it opened. We are very pleased with the school, especially the director. She knows each child's name and gives excellent leadership. We like having smaller junior high classes and the personal attention each child receives. I continue to highly recommend Navigator Pointe Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I am really impressed with NPA. They really emphasize scholastic goals for each child. My daughter is in Jr. High and is pulling A's when she was in regular school she struggled. Only thing I wish they would include is a couple of extracurrilar activities like a field trip or dance for the Jr high kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This school has been the best thing for my children. We could not ask for a better director she has made this school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

I feel confident my children are receiving a great education, the best there is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

Navigator Pointe Academy has grown into a fabulous school for both Junior High and Elementary students. The director insists on a safe environment where learning can flourish. The teachers know and develop relationships with each of their students and are excellent role models for them. Academics is the number one priority and the children are taught to love to learn. We are so grateful for the opportunity to have our family attend Navigator Pointe Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

My children have attended NPA for 3 years. The staff is amazing and they know the name of each and every student. My son has done well in Jr. High and as he entered High School in our neighborhood he was very prepared for all college prep classes. My elementary aged student has doubled his scores in standardized testing and his confidence has grown. Each student is valued for who they are and the administration goes above and beyond to make every student reach their potential academically and morally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

I love NPA the principal, teachers and instrustors are wonderful. My daughter is a very strong willed little girl. I was concerned that once she started school that teachers would try to 'break' my daughter. NPA staff has done wonderful to 'mold' her. Rather then 'break' her. She loves her school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

NPA has been an excellent school for my kids! We love the break out sessions for math, grammer, & spelling - and how the kids are re-evaluated every 3 weeks and placed in the correct group according to their learning ability. The school also has had an after school chess club - which the director took part in - that was awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

NPA has the potential to be a great school, however, their Jr. High Program is weak. Teachers alone have a hard time keepting self control. Kids with learning disabilities are not helped a whole lot. This school doesn't get kids ready for High School. They need teachers who can teach all levels of students in Jr. High not just the high achievers. The Jr. High teachers are ignorant when it comes to kids with learning disability, especially with ADHD. I thought this school would be different than a public school, but it's about the same. Plus they need to enforce the dress code in Jr. High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

This school was great for elementary; however when I entered junior high my math was the only thing they raised me for, but last year I was in all the top classes. It was disappointing. Sure you can make sure your kids are around less kids which results in less contention, but you can drive less far and get almost the same experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

We love Navigator Pointe Academy! From the excellent curriculum to the safe environment, to the Director who knows the name of each student and works hard to keep the school running smoothly, to the teachers who love their students and provide excellent lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2010.

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 82% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 90% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 88% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 56% in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Pre-Algebra

The state average for Pre-Algebra was 67% in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Utah used the Utah Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 2 through 11 in Language Arts, in grades 2 through 8 in Math, in grades 4 through 8 in Science and upon completion of certain courses in grades 8 through 11. The CRT is a standards-based testing program, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Utah. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Utah Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 77%
Hispanic 6% 15%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A48%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6844 South Navigator Rd
West Jordan, UT 84084
Phone: (801) 840-1210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mountain Shadows School
West Jordan, UT


Entheos Academy
Kearns, UT


Jim Bridger School
West Jordan, UT


Hayden Peak School
West Jordan, UT


Fox Hills School
Salt Lake City, UT


Fox Hills Magnet School
Salt Lake City, UT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT