Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fisher School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
While there are many great teachers at Fisher, Pat Preseault is really phenomenal. Her care and concern for the whole child has made such a difference for our kids. We are grateful for the influence she has in the school.

Fisher School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
We have been fortunate to have our kids benefit from some really tremendous teachers at Fisher -- some very experienced educators and others who are just beginning their path in the classroom. Each of them have brought their unique perspective and style in to the school.


Fisher School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
While there is homework, it is not the focus for many/ most of the teachers. There is also an afterschool homework club for students.

Fisher School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
The school has an academically and economically diverse population and the teachers and administrators work had to ensure opportunity for and access for all students at all levels.

Fisher School 4

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
We are very fortunate to have this tremendous resource in our community for elementary education. Small class sizes, dedicated teachers and administrators, engaged community support. With the introduction of a new math curriculum in all grades this year, teachers have extended themselves to parents to help everyone understand the expectations and goals of the math program. Our three kids have been able to thrive in their education at Fisher.


Fisher School 1

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
Very poor special education and outdated teaching techniques in general ed staff. Staff is barely accountable to Principal, who is barely accountable to Superintendent. Clueless School Board. Special Education Directors have been renegades. High staff turnover rate. Poor leadership. BVSU refuses to join other Supervisory Unions, remaining an island that can't pool resources and talent. It does have small class sizes going for it, but teachers have low expectations for student performance.

Fisher School 4

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
The overall Great Schools rating reflects aggregate test scores that are negatively influenced by the above average population of special needs students, some of which move into the school district because of Fisher's reputation for strong support services & inclusion. Fisher has some amazing teachers and small classroom sizes (10-12 students), which services all students in providing them with a strong education that is certainly above average for a public school. They also have excellent in-school programs for music and art, as well as an after-school activities program offering different electives. My primary suggestion for improvement would be for them to change and strengthen their math curriculum. Overall, this public school has earned and deserves an above average rating.

Fisher School 5

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
this school is wonderfull. I have 3 special needs children that started out in Fisher. My oldest is in the high school and is on the honor roll. My middle child is off the IEP and is doing exceptional work. He is reading and doing math at 2 grade levels above his grade and my youngest is getting all the help he needs to succed in school. I have 1 more at home with a learning disability and I can't wait to have him join the Fisher family.These are all adopted children with a lot of trama doing well in a school full of love for childern.


Fisher School 3

Posted December 20, 2008
- a community member
thia school whips out learning and does it fast so many students don't really learn and forget what they learned ;

Fisher School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
We have a son in Kindergarten. The principal and teachers have gone out of their way to welcome our family to the school. I am impressed by the ability to contact the principal and the teacher with ease.

Nearby schools

Fisher School
504 East Arlington Rd, Arlington, VT  05250
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (802) 375-6409
Last modified Fisher School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top