Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spaulding Uhsd #41

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2011

spaulding is a great school. the class went from 80 min to 90 min with a 20 min lunch period. i want it longer.the teachers are nice. the ta times if not used what it is made for
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2009

I go to school at SHS and I find it to be a great school with an abundance of oppurtunities for each student. The class times are 80 minutes long this year, and will be 90 minutes long next year so everyone starts at the same time, instead of the chorus/band members who used to have to come in an hour before other students. I think this school has a great administration, who work at making each child strive to succeed. It also has a higher graduation rate than our rival school U-32. All in all, spaulding does have its flaws, but all in all i find this school to be one of the best in the Central Vermont area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2008

I am a recent graduate from the Information Technology course of Spaulding High School. If I were to pick something that Spaulding would be known for, is that it's broad range of courses and activities for students to select and thrive to succeed from. Spaulding could use some more help in terms of administration though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2008

SHS is definately a high-quality Vermont School. There is a lot to offer students, both in the classroom and in the world of extracurriculars. As a recent graduate (who was involved in many clubs including student government), I can say that students do need to be focused and driven to succeed. The tools are there but there can be many distractions to take studnets off course. I loved this school and always felt safe (which is very important in todays world).
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2007

I've been very pleased with Spaulding High School. I have two boys at the school, one in at the Freshman Acadmey, and it is wonderful. They are both thriving and very active. SHS offers plenty of support for students and parents if they just ask for it. Many options for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

Their Freshman Acamedy is the best thing that has happened to this school. It really is keeping kids on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

The administration does not interact with the student body to its potential. Principals are bogged down with disclipline for most of their day. This does not mean that the culture of the school is one of misbehavior and inattention to study. On the contrary, SHS offers high level courses taught by talented and dedicated faculty. Goal-oriented students have a broad choice of well developed classes from which to choose. I would like to see more attention given to the average student by the administration, too often these students are lost in the shuffle that is inherent in a school of this size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Parents have to be on top of the situation in order for their children to get the very best education here. My impression is that the teachers are dedicated and skilled professionals. There are many choices for students to make concerning their own education and to what extent they wish to be challenged. However, I wish the dress code for young women was enforced. A lot of skin shows and I think it is distracting and provocative.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 30% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
13%
Writing

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. As a result, GreatSchools' ratings for Vermont currently reflect 2012-13 test results, the most recent year with data for all subjects.

2013-14 state-level results are not available for the Vermont NECAP; please see here for more information.

The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
American Indiann/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Vermont used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing and grades 4, 8 and 11 in science. The NECAP reading, math, and writing tests are given in the fall and test students on content taught in the previous year. The science portion of the NECAP is administered in the Spring each year and has its results released the following Fall. As a result, GreatSchools' ratings for Vermont currently reflect 2012-13 test results, the most recent year with data for all subjects.

2013-14 state-level results are not available for the Vermont NECAP; please see here for more information.

The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Vermont. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Vermont Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Vermont Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 92%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A36%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 Ayers St
Barre, VT 05641
Phone: (802) 476-4811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT