Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marion W. Cross School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a community member
Marion Cross School is an excellent school on all fronts. The principal is amazing, the students are amazing, and most of the teachers are phenomenal, except for a few crabby or inexperienced ones. The school goals are great and we have a lot of traditions. People come home happy every day, unless they have too much homework, and then it is for a good cause.

Marion W. Cross School 5

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
MCS is an excellent school with committed teachers and a focus on education that is beyond cramming as many facts into the child as possible. I pity the children of the parent reviewers who criticise the school's lack of elitism and hot housing! (And there is competition in the school, so not sure where that comes from...) Our only criticism is that the music program is very weak and fails to inspire. Let's hope this is on the list of the new principle.


Marion W. Cross School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
I am truly amazed by and completely grateful for this school. High goals are set for students, and teachers put in a great deal of effort helping everyone reach them. Emphasis is also on educating the whole child, and the school walks the walk when it comes to lessons of social responsibility. Arts and Nature instruction are a bonus, though the music program is weak.

Marion W. Cross School 5

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
As a parent and former student of this school I have seen how far it can take you-- fantastic

Marion W. Cross School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Marion W. Cross School 1

Posted August 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Marion W. Cross School 1

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent
Disappointed, beyond words. The school's primary focus is making everyone 'feel' special. If your child excels, beware! -they will be bored by social feel-good activities and assignments reviewed over and over until everyone gets a good grade. No sport activity allowed in PE -someone's feelings might be hurt. Zero challenge, zero growth. Avoid at all costs!!!

Marion W. Cross School 2

Posted March 13, 2007
- a parent
Marion Cross has wonderful parents and kids, resources, a rich history of school traditions, and some outstanding teachers. All of the teachers are kind and truly care about children. Overall, though, it's a disappointment with some weak teachers who are allowed to do a barely adequate job. The principal is a good disciplinarian but an uninspired leader for staff and is only minimally responsive to parent feedback. Parents looking for academic challenge in the lower grades, and even basic crowd control strategies for the younger children, will be frustrated unless they have extremely good luck and avoid the weakest teachers.


Marion W. Cross School 5

Posted August 15, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Marion W. Cross School 5

Posted April 12, 2005
- a parent
My family came to Norwich because of the school. Both of our children have done extremely well since we moved here. The school is a positive environment for children with many opportunities to excel. The main problem in Norwich is the hyperfocus some parents have on their children's education. Over the long run, Norwich students do wonderfully in middle and high school. We could not be happier having our kids here! I would advise anyone looking in the Norwich area to visit the school and talk to people in the town. The school is open to discuss parent concerns (which in a town with this many doctors, lawyers and professors, it had better be open), and continues to work with parents and the community to make MCS the best it can possibly be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marion W. Cross School
22 Church St, Norwich, VT  05055
(802) 649-1703
Last modified Marion W. Cross School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marion W. Cross School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.