Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Greenwood School 2

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
The teachers do really care about the boys and the campus does have a good feel about it. The school does provide many experiences and students can find new passions and interests which can be transforming as can reciting "The Address" . Whether students are given the foundations for college life or work is not so clear. Whether learning differences are remediated is also questionable, no data is provided regarding average skill gains made by students, lessons are prescribed rather than individualized as claimed. The progress reports provided are lengthy but more anecdotal than based on objective data. Exceptionally bad behavior in recent years has lead to a number of expulsions and suspensions of boys which is disruptive to the other students. It seems as if the school is struggling to find its identity now that it caters for a broader age group. Ken Burns ( The Address) will heighten the school's profile and may provide increased funding for training to teachers and therapists for them to cater for its HS population. If considering Greenwood , be aware of its limitations and consider options for transferring out in later grades to a more appropriate setting..

The Greenwood School 3

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
Kind, committed staff who work hard to create a learning environment that suits the boys differing needs. It is good for bright middle school boys who do not need specialized instruction but benefit from small classes. It is still adjusting to older students now that it has been extended to be an accredited high school and this is proving to be a challenge. My son would have been better transferring out after grade 8 to a school more geared to HS which could offer more electives and provide qualified staff. ( most Greenwood staff are not qualified teachers) With no exams or set curriculum, student progress is unclear, progress reports are vague. Student behavior is generally good, and the school responds quickly to tackle challenging behavior. Students are actively involved in the community although social opportunities with students from other schools or from the town is very limited contrary information provided . The headmaster is committed, creative and well liked, hopefully he can make the staff and environmental changes required to turn the school into one suitable for high school students.


The Greenwood School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
The Greenwood School is an excellent school for boys with learning differences. My son is going on his fourth year as a student and looks forward to graduating in two years. The staff members are highly educated individuals who not only teach academics, but also life skills. I can't say enough about the nurturing the boys get from each and every one of the staff members. The school is located on a beautiful campus and offers many extracurricular activities that some of these boys would never have the opportunity to engage in. My son entered the Greenwood School well below grade level and has found great success academically. His future is looking brighter and his goal of attending college will become a reality due to the small class size and one on one instruction he has received. Four years ago college was just a dream. The Greenwood School offers an open door policy, parents are welcome any time and I have stopped by unannounced on several occasions and was thrilled to see the wonderful relationships between the staff members and the student body. Being a special education teacher myself, I highly recommend this school to any parent who has a child struggling in school.

The Greenwood School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
I love this caring & wonderful little boarding school in beautiful Putney VT. It has changed my son's life, & as a result has changed ours. He knew from his first month at Greenwood School that "I'm OK-You're OK" was the starting premise & the school was going to support him in the ways he needed to grow. Academic growth, discovery & building confidence were at the core of all that my son experienced this year. Greenwood days have a purpose & each success, challenge &/or misstep offered him the opportunity to learn. I love that its a kind place and that he felt appreciated, even when he misstepped. He found that his teachers had tremendous patience with him and his delayed processing capacity & while my son has been challenged in classes @ GW (w/ 2-5 students), he has grown in confidence. This has something to do with his non academic outlets like riding his bike on the campus trails or skate park, building in the workshop, learning how to snowboard or creating in jewelry class. After finishing year 1, my son is now more engaged with his world & more responsible because the school recognizes how to take regular teenage boy behavior & turn it into huge teachable moments.

The Greenwood School 1

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
The headmaster is great and has good intentions along with some of the staff but some do bully students and care about being right, so much that they will lie to prove that. Communication is terrible. Lots of student bullying, stealing, sneaking around, etc. Go on campus unannounced on a non-parent weekend and you will experience a different atmosphere.


The Greenwood School 5

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
The Greenwood School is a phenomenal community of dedicated faculty and staff and boys who are reaching their potential. It is truly a transformational and inspiring place; a home away from home. It is the best decision we ever made for our son. Our son started as a 6th grader and is now in his 3rd year at Greenwood. He is blossoming and growing into a fantastic creative young man with a love of learning, a passion for knowledge, a commitment to community, stewardship and leadership, a strong sense of self, and a joy of life and nature. I THANK Greenwood for nurturing all those qualities in my son, for loving him, for encouraging and supporting him to be the best person he can be, and for giving him the tools to succeed in life. His LD is something he now can work with and around and can tap for the wonderful creativity it gives him. Nothing holds him back...and Greenwood has made that possible. If your son wants to learn both socially and academically and wants to learn how to deal with their LD then Greenwood is the place. The kids who thrive at Greenwood are nice caring kids with little to no ED issues who value each other and their community. "GREENWOOD BOYS " are great.

The Greenwood School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
This is my son't second year at Greenwood and I really can't say enough about the school and the staff. In less than two short years my son has truly undergone a transformation that I really didn't think was possible. A year ago he could barely write a paragraph, and now he's writing multi-page papers and creating powerpoint presentations which he presents in front of the class. The remediation in writing and math have been incredible and is a result of the staff's commitment and dedication to these boys. I enthusiastically recommend the school to anyone with a child with learning differences.

The Greenwood School 5

Posted September 18, 2011
- a teacher
Greenwood offers boys with learning differences a small nurturing environment where they can be with other kids like them and have teachers who understand their learning differences and can address them. I taught there for 6 years and I saw so many boys make big positive changes, both in terms of their academics as well as their confidence and social skills. The campus is beautiful, the food is great, and the teachers are very dedicated. The school works hard to offer many extracurricular activities throughout the year so that the boys are always active and engaged in meaningful (and fun) activities. Because there's a waiting list, the school is selective about who they let in, so there are not too many issues regarding bullying, stealing, etc. But when such issues do come up, the school is very proactive in addressing them and it's usually another learning experience for the kids involved. I really enjoyed my years teaching at Greenwood and I know how hard the school and teachers work to make sure the students' needs are addressed and their goals-- academic, social, and personal--are reached. Greenwood is probably the best school in the US for students with learning differences.


The Greenwood School 5

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
The Greenwood School is a remarkable place. It's not easy deciding to send a child to boarding school, but with Greenwood we knew it was the right place for our son. The staff focusing on reading and math remediation have been terrific. The integration of OT, social pragmatics and other tutorails into the daily life of the students is powerful and unique to Greenwood (from what we've seen). They have recently taken their assistive technology program to a new level which was critical for our situation. What makes the school stand out, however, is its culture. The headmaster and staff are truly dedicated to helping their students fully achieve their potential. They create a community in which the boys feel safe -- and in which parents can trust. In any group of 40-to-50 adolescent boys there will be problems, but the staff doesn't let them linger. They deal with it at the appropriate level. And their peer reconciliation program is outstanding. The Greenwood School has been a true partner in helping our son deal with his learning disadvantages while blossoming as a person. We highly recommend Greenwood.

The Greenwood School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
Our son arrived at Greenwood when he was 12 years old. He arrived, skeptical, cautious and depressed. The faculty, staff and administration took a unified and complete approach at understanding his past experiences, current deficiencies, and social and emotional weaknesses. Staff members ensured that Eric would achieve small success frequently. These small successes led the way to confidence, which started the upward spiral of many successes and the willingness for him to take chances and believe in himself. With the dedication of the staff at GW, Eric has become an advocate for himself, determined never to let his learning differences become an obstacle in achieving success. Currently, a high school junior, he takes advanced math classes, has a 3.9 GPA and he enjoys rigorous course studies. This is all from a child who arrived at GW just five years ago, broken in mind, spirit, body and soul. He is now a young man, confident, articulate and has an insatiable thirst for knowledge. We are so grateful to the faculty, staff and administration for executing a plan of action that resulted in the transformation of his academic, social and emotional well being.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Greenwood School
14 Greenwood Ln, Putney, VT  05346
(802) 387-4545
Last modified The Greenwood School is a Private school that serves grades 6-10
The Greenwood School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top