Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
52 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Greenwood School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 17, 2016
- a community member
This was a major downfall of the school. They are very kind to the boys, but for our son, he didn't respect the schools systems (or lack thereof).

The Greenwood School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 17, 2016
- a community member
This discipline policy is not clear or consistent as you'd expect from this school or any other.


The Greenwood School 2

Posted January 17, 2016
- a community member
The teachers seem to generally care about the students, but there is a gap between what the school markets themselves as and what they actually do. You really have to be aware of what you are getting into here if you have a high school student. The school just does not seem to be equipped to stimulate, educate, earn respect and handle discipline challenges for the older boys. During our time there, we saw a lot of staff and student changes - much more than you'd expect. Policies seemed to change frequently with little to no explanation to students or parents (i.e. grading system). They do a great job on having the boys memorize the Gettysburg Address. But, sadly Greenwood was not the amazing experience we were hoping (and paying) for.

The Greenwood School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Greenwood for 3.5 years as a day student and the transformation he made by not only learning to understand his learning differences but also by gaining independence, confidence, and self-advocacy was truly remarkable. He was supported by a loving, caring staff on all levels but the care and support he received from his Language-Remediation Tutor was that of a different level. She not only celebrated his successes but pushed him through his struggles teaching him a great deal about determination, grit, and courage. The communication was wonderful by my son's teachers, advisor and administration alike. Thorough academic/social updates were given on a weekly basis by my son's advisor and often other updates were given throughout the week as general check-ins. It was so nice to feel a part of my son's academic progress - something significantly lacking in his public school. I would highly recommend Greenwood to anyone who wants to see their son soar to heights never thought possible!

The Greenwood School 5

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Greenwood for 3.5 years as a day student and the transformation he made by not only learning to understand his learning differences but also by gaining independence, confidence, and self-advocacy was truly remarkable. He was supported by a loving, caring staff on all levels but the care and support he received from his Language-Remediation Tutor was that of a different level. She not only celebrated his successes but pushed him through his struggles teaching him a great deal about determination, grit, and courage. The communication was wonderful by my son's teachers, advisor and administration alike. Thorough academic/social updates were given on a weekly basis by my son's advisor and often other updates were given throughout the week as general check-ins. It was so nice to feel a part of my son's academic progress - something significantly lacking in his public school. I would highly recommend Greenwood to anyone who wants to see their son soar to heights never thought possible!


The Greenwood School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
The environment at Greenwood is unique. It is informal, comfortable and home-like, but the instruction is individualized, clinical, and highly effective. The school has grown to become a grades 6-12 school and has brought in many resources to successfully make this transition. They are now affiliated with Landmark College (training, resources, and AP classes), and The Stern Center for Language and Learning. My son has enjoyed the growing enrichment opportunities (entrepreneurship classes as well as Science, Technology Art and Math {STEAM}) and he is thriving. The faculty truly believe in these guys; they see the promise and potential in them and help them see it in themselves. I admire that they talk about character strengths like Grit, optimism, growth mindset and resilience and strive to help students discover passions upon which they will build their futures. My son even was able to gain real-life work experience through community-based internships.

The Greenwood School 2

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
The teachers do really care about the boys and the campus does have a good feel about it. The school does provide many experiences and students can find new passions and interests which can be transforming as can reciting "The Address" . Whether students are given the foundations for college life or work is not so clear. Whether learning differences are remediated is also questionable, no data is provided regarding average skill gains made by students, lessons are prescribed rather than individualized as claimed. The progress reports provided are lengthy but more anecdotal than based on objective data. Exceptionally bad behavior in recent years has lead to a number of expulsions and suspensions of boys which is disruptive to the other students. It seems as if the school is struggling to find its identity now that it caters for a broader age group. Ken Burns ( The Address) will heighten the school's profile and may provide increased funding for training to teachers and therapists for them to cater for its HS population. If considering Greenwood , be aware of its limitations and consider options for transferring out in later grades to a more appropriate setting..

The Greenwood School 3

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
Kind, committed staff who work hard to create a learning environment that suits the boys differing needs. It is good for bright middle school boys who do not need specialized instruction but benefit from small classes. It is still adjusting to older students now that it has been extended to be an accredited high school and this is proving to be a challenge. My son would have been better transferring out after grade 8 to a school more geared to HS which could offer more electives and provide qualified staff. ( most Greenwood staff are not qualified teachers) With no exams or set curriculum, student progress is unclear, progress reports are vague. Student behavior is generally good, and the school responds quickly to tackle challenging behavior. Students are actively involved in the community although social opportunities with students from other schools or from the town is very limited contrary information provided . The headmaster is committed, creative and well liked, hopefully he can make the staff and environmental changes required to turn the school into one suitable for high school students.


The Greenwood School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
The Greenwood School is an excellent school for boys with learning differences. My son is going on his fourth year as a student and looks forward to graduating in two years. The staff members are highly educated individuals who not only teach academics, but also life skills. I can't say enough about the nurturing the boys get from each and every one of the staff members. The school is located on a beautiful campus and offers many extracurricular activities that some of these boys would never have the opportunity to engage in. My son entered the Greenwood School well below grade level and has found great success academically. His future is looking brighter and his goal of attending college will become a reality due to the small class size and one on one instruction he has received. Four years ago college was just a dream. The Greenwood School offers an open door policy, parents are welcome any time and I have stopped by unannounced on several occasions and was thrilled to see the wonderful relationships between the staff members and the student body. Being a special education teacher myself, I highly recommend this school to any parent who has a child struggling in school.

The Greenwood School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
I love this caring & wonderful little boarding school in beautiful Putney VT. It has changed my son's life, & as a result has changed ours. He knew from his first month at Greenwood School that "I'm OK-You're OK" was the starting premise & the school was going to support him in the ways he needed to grow. Academic growth, discovery & building confidence were at the core of all that my son experienced this year. Greenwood days have a purpose & each success, challenge &/or misstep offered him the opportunity to learn. I love that its a kind place and that he felt appreciated, even when he misstepped. He found that his teachers had tremendous patience with him and his delayed processing capacity & while my son has been challenged in classes @ GW (w/ 2-5 students), he has grown in confidence. This has something to do with his non academic outlets like riding his bike on the campus trails or skate park, building in the workshop, learning how to snowboard or creating in jewelry class. After finishing year 1, my son is now more engaged with his world & more responsible because the school recognizes how to take regular teenage boy behavior & turn it into huge teachable moments.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Greenwood School
14 Greenwood Ln, Putney, VT  05346
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (802) 387-4545
Last modified The Greenwood School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top