Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arcola Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 652 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

Anyone who has been to this school during school hours, during events, or on fieldtrips is struck by how happy the kids are. The school has a great energy that can be traced directly to the teachers and staff. They clearly love working with the kids and the students respond to that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

Student to Teacher ratio is too high. I felt that some of the teaching staff was a little too inexperienced with special needs (ADHD). When they insist it's a behavioral problem, and three separate PHD's state it's a "textbook" case of ADHD, that's a problem. Office staff could use a little training in "people skills". Children did not like this school, we sold our home and moved because of their experience. Great neighborhood....School leaves something to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

My family has been very pleased with our experience at Arcola for the past 4 years. The administration, teachers, and PTA couldn't be any better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

We love Arcola! Our experience there has been very positive. Dr. Bowers and the teaching team has exceeded our expectations. We find it to be a very caring environment. They make learning fun and they also teach and incorporate respect, kindness, honesty and compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

The faculty and staff is excellent...a very kind and nurturing environment. My daughter is in first grade and it has been a great experience so far. The school encourages parent participation and I always feel welcomed. The teachers engage students in fun and creative ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Amazing Teachers and Staff! PTA does many fun events! In a great neighborhood! Love Miss Daisley, Mrs. St Onge, and Mrs. Mouritzen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

We have been at Arcola Elementary in one way or another for the past 6 years. My children have good to great teachers. Not every teacher is going to be right for you child but they have done a good job placing my kids with the right teacher for them. I like the administration, they are friendly, approachable and know the students. Overall I may not agree with every decision, but I do believe every decision is done with the students interest at heart. The teachers love working at Arcola and that creates positive teachers and a positive environment. Teachers want to teach at Arcola and that means something to me as a parent. The front office can seem 'hard' at first but actually are a very caring group. I find it no different than other front office staff I've interacted with at other schools in our area. Based on what I've heard from friends at other schools, I think Arcola is fantastic and would not move to attend the other schools in Dulles South.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Awesome school. Awesome teachers. The staff is so nice. My children are getting a wonderful education. It's a beautiful school and I couldn't ask for a better place to send my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

Great school and wonderful teachers and staff. The school provides many fun activities. My children have thrived in the environment and find it a safe place. The teachers are highly qualified and receptive to questions. My children's teachers have all been loving, caring and enthusiastic! Love Arcola!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

The office staff of the school is rude and unfriendly. The school does not place enough emphasis on educational achievement. Leadership is happy with the status quo. Most quality after school activities are no longer offered. On a positive note most of the teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

My children have been attending Arcola Elementary since the fall of 2010 and I have been nothing but pleased with my experience. Having attended public school in Fairfax County as a child myself, I know what high standards are expected of Northern Virginia schools and hold Arcola Elementary to those same standards. Arcola's principal is the best principal I have ever encountered and clearly adores our children and wants nothing but the absolute best for them. The PTA is extremely active and working to bring every amenity possible to our children to promote their education and well-being. I have experienced 6 teachers so far and my expectations have been exceeded by 5 of them. The front office staff are hard working and clearly help make that school "hum". I am proud to be a parent of 2 Arcola Elementary school students, and look forward to when my 3rd attends in a few years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

My daughter has been at Arcola for 2 years now. I have had nothing but positive experiences with teachers and staff at this school. My daughter is in first grade now and I am able to volunteer in her classroom weekly. I feel that the home/school connection at this school is great! The school itself is bright and clean and humming with positive energy. It is just the type of environment that you want your child to be a part of to nurture his/her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

Mrs. St. Onge is a fantastic Kindergarten teacher. I have nothing but the best things to say about her, the other teachers I have interacted with and the principal. The front office could use a few lesson in customer service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Good Principal and very disciplined teachers. I am happy that my 2 kids are going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Arcola, rating of a 7 is about right. What brings this school down is the office staff. I have read most of the reviews for this school and it appears the majority have or are having the same negative experience with the office staff. One parent compared them to a DMV or post office worker, and I concur. My children's teachers have been great so far. The principal appears to be still learning the job. The music teacher does a very good job teaching, just don't ask her to sing. It is equivalent to scratching a chalkboard. That bus ride was painful. Somebody had to say it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

We have been at Arcola since it opened and have 3 kids at the school. We have been very pleased with the school and have always felt that we can talk to staff/teachers. We have also been actively involved in the school and have reached out to the teachers to help often. We realize that educating our kids is a team effort and we support the staff in their mission to educate our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

My Two kids go to this school and I am happy with their progress. I wish they have a track for kids to play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

We are very happy with this school and how well our child has excelled over the past two years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

Yes Mrs Owings is a great teacher. No comment about the staff/admin. I feel bad for some kids. Too much favoritism and poor action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

Too many politics,office staff are not welcoming !Mrs Owings in second grade is amazing,very good teacher and have open communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students78%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students70%
Female students68%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students73%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students27%
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students91%
Female students90%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students87%
Male students72%
Black students80%
Asian students85%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial70%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students78%
Female students83%
Male students72%
Black students70%
Asian students82%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial80%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students79%
Female students74%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students87%
Female students84%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • No accreditation rating was reported for the 2007-2008 school year.

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41740 Tall Cedars Parkway
Aldie, VA 20105
Phone: (703) 957-4390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Liberty Elementary School
South Riding, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT