Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Browne Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 23, 2016
- a community member
The small class sizes allow the teachers to develop strengths and teach each student in a way that suites their ability and personality best.

Browne Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a community member
The teachers do not tolerate disrespectful behavior and properly guide the students toward showing respect to others.


Browne Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a community member
The school teaches its students about all sorts of diversity and conducts community service activities.

Browne Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a community member
The small class sizes and one on one interaction between the teacher and each student fosters inclusiveness.

Browne Academy 5

Posted June 23, 2016
- a community member
My daughter has been at Browne for 4 years, she loves it! We are pleasantly surprised by the community and the education she is receiving. I almost feel like Browne is a hidden gem in the DC area. We looked at several schools and have not been convinced that the high ratings and reviews that some of the more popular schools receive would be worth the switch. if your looking for a down to earth place that will provide your child with a great education I suggest you give Browne a look. This is not another snooty school where one upmanship is the norm.


Browne Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a community member
My daughter is starting her second year at Browne. She loves coming to school and was so excited to start the new school year today! The environment is nurturing and the teachers truly love what they do. The community is close knit and very down to earth. Coming from a daycare environment where I rarely got to know other parents, I'm thankful that the many school functions allow parent interaction. Teachers and administrators have responded to my questions and concerns quickly and appropriately. As with anything, you need to visit to make sure it's a good fit for your family. We're glad we found Browne and can't wait for our youngest to attend!

Browne Academy 5

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
My 2 children have been at Browne Academy for many years. There truly has never been a time when they were not happy. They have been given a stellar education supported by wonderful teachers and administrators. During these years, they have become confident and well rounded children, who are ready for what comes next!

Browne Academy 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is entering her 10th year at Browne having started in the early preschool level. Browne has fostered her growth not only academically, athletically and artistically, but in character as well. The partnership towards excellence that exists between parents, students and Browne staff develops critical thinking skills, but also a love for athletics , the arts and foreign languages, as well as a firm knowledge of varied academic subjects. However, just as important is the diverse and community-minded environment. To sum it up, Browne has equipped our daughter to take on the world with confidence, skill sets and compassion. A parent could not ask for a greater foundation.


Browne Academy 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
Last year, as we were considering kindergarten, we visited several schools, both public and independent. When my daughter exited her classroom visit at Browne Academy, she exclaimed, "This is where I want to go!" Her assessment was the same as ours: Browne Academy was the perfect fit for our family. Starting with Day 1 of kindergarten (a daunting time for little kids), she was excited to come to school every day. Her teachers were outstanding educators, as well as warm, lovely people. The Browne community as a whole (faculty, staff, families) is down-to-earth, engaged, supportive, and approachable. We could not ask for more from a school.

Browne Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 12, 2015
- a community member
The teachers at Browne Academy are extraordinary - whether it is the ones that have been there forever or the new hires - they all go above and beyond.

Nearby schools

Browne Academy
5917 Telegraph Rd, Alexandria, VA  22310
(703) 960-3000
Last modified Browne Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top