Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Road Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 267 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Alexandria

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $372,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Calvary Road Christian School is an amazing school!. Students are treated with respect and the staff are very approachable. The students are challenged in the areas of foreign languages, technology, creative arts, music education, physical education and of course character education. A high level of academic achievement is expected and each student is treated fairly. The teachers are always happy to help a student with any specific academic or personal struggle. They also have a superior reading program through Scholastic, which really boosts reading performance. This Christian school is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2014

This school is selective on who they like and who they don't. If your child is liked they will excel. If not they will knick pick at every little thing and are a little over the top on discipline. For example if your kindergartener answers a question without raising their hand they get in trouble. The staff is not very accomodating and can be very rude. This school does not have the resources for any counseling needs your child may have. This school reminds me of the military. Their academic program is wondrful but there staff needs improvement. My child has come home with disciplinary notes and I have had other teachers tell me that he did not do what was indicated on the note and not to punish him. Unacceptable! Find a place that treats your child equally and fairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

Avoid it!!!! going down hill fast. A lot of new staff and including principal and he is not much better than the one that left. New front desk lady is rude previous one was very pleasant. Enrollment has decreased dramatically. Classes are larger which defeats the purpose of one of private school benefits. Higher grades are being eliminated. This school is about the money and the "christian title is a decoy". My friends child was not given their report card due to a less than $2 balance! Unfortunately there are more negatives than positives but there are a few phenomenal teachers and staff there who truly care about the students individually and their success. My child will never return to this school and If your child goes here I would advise you to be cautious on believing complaints about your child and stay informed from all aspects. Document everything and don't give them the benefit of the doubt. Listen to your child and find out about their day daily. There academics are wonderful and I have nothing negative to say about that. There are many other schools in this area who truly believe and live by its purpose and goals. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

This school has an EXCELLENT 5 out 5 Academic Program. This school by far takes the cake and they do NOT use Abeka curriculum. My son went to Calvary Road for kindergarten and first grade. He is a straight A student and is very advanced in all areas especially reading. This school has the Key to academic Success which is a strong desire to see their students succeed, the ability to make learning fun and an outstanding curriculum. The reason I gave 4 stars out of 5 is because the school lacks greatly in the social and emotional development of the students. The school does not have a counselor or anyone designated to help students that may be going through difficult times. School counselors are vital to aid and support the emotional, personal, and social well being of the students. My son in the entire 2 years had never been to the office and he got in trouble at the end of the year was told he basically he would be kicked out if he did not obey. Bullying seems to be taken lightly here. This school is a little excessive on discipline. I think if they had a counselor they would have a more positive approach to dealing with social needs of their students. Ms. Dickey is the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

Smalll. Very very small. The middle school has only 3 classrooms ( plus a computer lab) and the hallway(the only hallway) is very cramped. Every time i goto pick up my child i am pushed up against the walls by other students. And they inter use the gym and the cafeteia! the floor is sticky with sweat and smells during the lunch time. They also force the children to walk over from building to building in the cold or rain and even snow! There is only one caring teacher in the whole middle school. All the others are just there for the pay. This is definetly not a school i am sending my child back to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

This is the best school ever, my daughter has been going since K-5 and she's in 3rd grade now and a straight A student I can't say enough she loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

Calvary Road lives up to it's promise. The teachers are excellent, the aides are unbelievable in the care they give every child and the academics go unmatched and will stand up to the scrutiny of any other private or public school curriculum. This school doesn't cost it pays off in the next generation of Christians they are winning for eternity! I would recommend this school over a public education anyday. Check it out for a better education and a eternal perspective. Just know this school is not for the spiritually weak....all the teachers are members of the church and this school does not apologize for its beliefs in the Lord Jesus Christ and does not minimize the importance of salvation. God never lets us down and is faithful in providing the financial way to make this academic choice work for our family. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

As parent with a son that is now almost in H.S., I can't say enough good things about Calvary! This was an excellent base for my son in many ways - his character, his total understanding of right and wrong and his caring have giving him the foundations to be smart in his decision making process. He is a teen that offers great contributions to his community. Calvary ingrained in him very high values that will remain with him forever. Additionally, the education always maintained him on the 95th percent or above in education/knowledge and he still remains at that level. I atribute this to the passion for learning that is one of the principal skills children learn at Calvary! Financially, although not as expensive as other private schools, it was a challenge for our family yet, the Lord always provided for it. And I can say it was worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

My daughter started preschool this past fall. I am amazed by the teachers creativity and the growth my daughter has done while there. I didn't plan on her attending elementary school there but because of the structure and discipline as well as the fun she has, I think we will be there for a long time. I recommend this school to anyone who wants their kid to have a moral up bringing and wants a fun approach to learning. Only caution is if you are a bit shy on religion this school would not be for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

My girls have attended in grades P4 through 2d. Curriculum is Bible based and very broad and interesting. Reading program is outstanding. Kindergartners are reading by Christmas. Weekly classes include Spanish, Music, PE, and Chapel. All teachers are members of church. This school provides an excellent education in a Christian environment. As a parent, I know my kids' teachers and most staff members. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6811 Beulah Street
Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone: (703) 971-8004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lane Elementary School
Alexandria, VA


Key Center School
Springfield, VA


Key Middle School
Springfield, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT