Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Center School

Private | PK-8 | 135 students

Our school is best known for its advanced academics.

 

Living in Alexandria

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $372,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

Christian Center School is the best school around the area. Our two kids has been going to CCS for couple of years now and as parents it has been our honor and pride to see them transform academically and spiritually to the wonder human being they are today. CCS had become a second home for our kids. CCS has exceptional academic curriculum that is both engaging g and challenging. The school has wonderful staff, capable teachers that truly cares and are devoted to the excellence of the students. In addition to the educational curriculum, the school also have various after school activities which can accommodate kids of various and different interests. We highly recommend CCS to any parent who thrives for the success and happiness of their kids. We can t wait until the start of school year in September as our youngest child will also be joining CCS. We are looking forward to many more years of academic excellence and growth here at CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2014

We have been CCS parents since 2009 and always recommend it to parents that are looking for a quality Christian education at an affordable cost. With small teacher to student ratios, excellent instruction, and a principal who truly loves God, CCS has met and exceeded our family's needs. Our son is currently in the summer camp and can't wait for pre-K to start in a few weeks. We are looking forward to another wonderful school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2014

CCS uses an excellent curriculum that provides the students with an educational platform that exceeds their counterparts. The school now provides activities like soccer, basketball, voice, piano, dance, karate and more! The before and aftercare programs are wonderful for working parents. While the facility is a bit dated the curriculum is the reason we continue to support CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2014

We are going into our second year at CCS and we absolutely love it! When I drop my child off each morning I know he is in great hands. The joy the staff has in nurturing students is unbelievable. The curriculum is great, they offer a variety of activities and the principal, Mrs. Waters, is truly a gem! She's not afraid to roll up her sleeves and get her hands dirty. Anyone looking for an awesome Christian school should come join us at CCS. You won't be sorry!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

We truly feel blessed to have found a place where our kids feel safe, loved, and comfortable and blossom to their fullest extent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2014

My child has been a student at Christian Center School for the past 8 years. This a wonderful school that provides great academics, a variety of fun extracurricular activities, along with giving your child the firm Godly foundation that will benefit them throughout their childhood and adult years. Next year is our last year at the school as my child will be graduating from 8th grade. I will truly miss the school and the family feel that it provides, but I am very thankful for the education and Christian values that have been instilled in my child. If you are looking for a school that will provide your child with a good education, smaller student-to-teacher ratios in the classroom, a variety of afterschool activities, and a life of Godly character and love, this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

If you had to use one word to describe Christian Center School, it would be "love." We love our school family! We also exceed all the requirements of a "Great School", having outstanding teachers, strong leadership, and challenging academic programs. We put Christ first in everything we do. We offer wonderful special subjects, which are computer, Spanish, P.E., and music. There is NO private school in the area with the level of excellence we offer in these courses. Our 6th grade graduates' academic capabilities exceed all expectations. Even more, they are biblically literate, computer savvy with great keyboarding skills, able to speak basic conversational Spanish, and have well-developed musical skills. While these considerations are enough to bring families to the school, there is even "icing on the cake." Many after-school activities, such as piano and voice lessons, liturgical dance and step classes, and sports such as karate, soccer, and basketball are offered. In addition to being a teacher at CCS, I am a parent of a student, as well. My youngest son will graduate next spring, and I know he will be well-prepared for the next stage of his life, thanks to CCS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2012

This is a great private Christian school. It is a shame it only goes to 6th grade. I can say my son has learned alot from this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

Christian Center School is off to a great year. Our new Principal has brought many positive ideas and is very involved with the entire student body!! The unity of the staff is incredible!! All of the special subjects that had been cut were brought back thanks to the amazing staff and although hot lunches were eliminated the school is offering Chick-fil-a or Pizza on Fridays only which is off to an awesome start!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2010

Christian Center School (CCS) is up and running, and especially excelling, this year. In addition to being taught the wonderful and advanced A Beka curriculum, students receive instruction in computers, Spanish, music, and physical education. Wednesday chapels are particularly exciting, upbeat occasions with lots of student involvement. For my son, Christian Center is a life-saver. A former student of CCS, he spent the 2009-2010 school year in the Fairfax County Public Schools since I was not working. While there, he struggled academically and socially and had his Christian worldview constantly challenged. He was so happy to return to CCS this year! His godly teacher is just who he needs to regain his confidence academically and spiritually. While it is sad that several former students and staff left last summer, there is a silver lining - class sizes are currently small and students are receiving extra individualized attention!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

I am sad to say that after more than 30 years, a standard of a great Christian education is lost and gone. No Spanish, P.E. Computers or even hot lunch. CCS has not just dropped the ball, but popped it! The church's takeover of all planning has run this place into the ground. With as fast as the staff and parents are leaving, I doubt the school will open this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

There have been so many changes in this school this past summer. It was a great school but now the church has taken over. PE, Spanish, Computer and Music have all been cut. They don't offer hot lunch or bus service anymore. The 6th, 7th & 8th grade classes have all been canceled. Over half the staff have been laid off and parents were given little or no notice about these changes. Playground equipment was supposed to be purchased from a very profitable fund raiser. Money has been spent on other things. Back playground is still in poor condition. The principal of eleven years resigned in May 2010. The new principal resigned after only seven weeks. There don't appear to be plans for a parent group this year. Check out the school for yourself. You are the best judge for your child's academic and spiritual education.


Posted October 12, 2009

CCS is an excellent school. Being a military family and moving so often it is nice to find a good school for your children. Our desire is to find quality education for our three children each time we move. We enjoyed our three years at CCS. The school offers a variety of activities for the students: Spanish, music, step, honors choir, P.E., Toastmasters, and so forth. It is quality education with loving teachers and staff. Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

This is our third year at CCS. Our experience has been average overall. This past year it was disappointing to see a few of the CCS educators demonstrate only a fair amount of care for particular children. One of my three children was in such a class, however, there were also between 3-4 other children affected by this educator. Parent-teacher communication and parental respect by educators was a dfficulty also. We were reasssured by the Principal, Mrs. Sense, that these concerns were immediately addressed. Wonderful, wonderful relationship with the Principal, Mrs. Martinez, who works with Mrs. Sens, and the office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

As a parent, I have found Christian Center to be a great school for those seeking an accelerated curriculum and a strong Christian foundation. My children have excelled academically, socially and spiritually. My Pre-K knows letter recognition, phonic sounds, spelling and sounding out 3-letter words and blesses and prays like an adult without being prompt. The teachers have been very responsive to the needs of our kids since they are very different in personality and learning styles. The administration has been very responsive and fair in addressing any concerns. We love Christian Center, highly recommend it and look forward to another incredible year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

Christian Center school has been a wonderful place for our daughter this year. The academic life is rigorous and the children excel in all areas. The teachers are well-trained and kind hearted. Office personnel are always available to help out. The classroom atmosphere is incredibly supportive; children are empathetic and eager to assist a peer. Teachers are resourceful in finding different methods of instruction. School spirit is high, especially at such events as the Spelling Bee and Science Fair. We are eager to enroll our second child next year. We highly recommend this school if you are looking for a sound Christian education with excellent academics and extracurriculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

Christian Center School and its staff has been a true blessing to our children for the past three years. The teachers will challenge your children to learn, but at the same time provide them the love, encouragement and classroom environment that makes learning fun for them. In addition to the outstanding core curriculum that your children receive they also receive sound Biblical teachings and actively participate in the school s weekly chapel. The school has established many other activities outside the classroom to include the annual Christmas and Easter Programs, Spelling Bee competition (winner goes to the County competition) and Science Fair. One of the primary reasons that these various programs and others have been so successful at Christian Center is because of the involvement by the parents who dedicate some of their time and expertise. The Before and After School care program is exceptional as it provides an excellent opportunity for your children to be in a safe environment for those parents that choose to use it because of work schedules. Finally, Christian Center School is a model school and one that any parent looking for a well-rounded Christian school should consider.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

This is our first year with CCS. We are pleased with the education and extra programs offered. The staff are very responsive to questions and matters that might arise. The atmosphere is a cheerful one. The teachers go the extra mile in communicating with me regarding the particulars of my children. As with all the staff, I am very impressed with the receptionist, the principal and the administrative assistant. Their attitudes and behaviors shows that they not only enjoy their job, but that they love their students. They are very involved with the day to day activities, not just the administrative duties of running the school. The open door policy is great feel free to walk in at anytime unannounced. My children really like that the afternoon extended learning care (ELC) has the children moving to a different activity and location every 30 minutes. My children have also commented about the gym coach that he really shows that he cares about his students by taking his time to explain the in and outs of activities and that he allows for no negative attitudes or behaviors under his watch. I like the fund-raising efforts the staff openly explain what the funds are to be used for and how close we are to meeting those goals. Way to go Christian Center School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

CCS was recommended to us. We mad an appointment to meet with the staff and see the school. We were somewhat apprehensive in that this would me my son s first year in school and we just moved to Virginia. The principal and staff greeted us with open-arms and they addressed all our questions and concerns. That first impression of an excellent and caring staff and a nurturing learning environment has proven to be accurate. Our son loves his school and his teachers. The staff instills a sense of community, respect and strong Christian morals. This is evident in talking to any of its students, observing any of the classes or watching the interaction between students. CCS lays an excellent foundation for a lifetime of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

I have a son that attends CCS. He has been at the school for 4 years. I am very happy with CCS. The teachers that he had and have now care and are concerned about the welfare of the children. I would definitly recommend CCS to parents who are looking for a school for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Amharic
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Amharic
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Pamela A. Waters
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (703) 971-4264

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • ABEKA
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Amharic
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
142
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5411 Franconia Road
Alexandria, VA 22310
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 971-0558

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Twain Middle School
Alexandria, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT