Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bucknell Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
I am a former teacher at Bucknell, and I must say that I appreciate it even more now that I am in a new school district. Bucknell's staff is very strong and works hard to make accommodations for all students. They put students' needs above standardized testing and care about the whole child, including their academic, social, and emotional well-being. I see that some parents have had bad experiences at Bucknell, but I encourage you to talk with your teacher if you have concerns and remember that everyone brings their own perspective to the situation.

Bucknell Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Following my parent-initiated parent/teacher meeting, my daughter is beginning to learn spelling and reading. If I had not initiated a meeting, and did nothing else to encourage my daughter to learn, I think she would be ignored in class and could be told to repeat 1st grade!


Bucknell Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
My first grade daughter is not developing any grit in response to her class experiences. I have to tell her to keep her chin up, and also to try to make friends, not make enemies.

Bucknell Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2015
- a community member
The worst school ever at least for Preschool Especial education .Some staff members are mean, cruel, and unkind .Do not be surprise if your child tells you that someone grabbed their arms and administration will do nothing about it. My child is still traumatized and the school will not allow change classroom or transfer to another school. I strongly advice against sending your preschooler to this school.

Bucknell Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a community member
I used to go there it was the best years of my life the teachers are amazing and so are the students.


Bucknell Elementary School 4

Posted September 13, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher with updated access to our test scores and student data, I'd like to state that Great Schools' published information not entirely accurate and the scores are based on the smallest populated school in FCPS. Bucknell has the most team-motivated staff that I've seen, and it is the 3rd FCPS school that I have worked in. There is a caring drive to create and cater the best possible education for each student, while improving the scores. I'm thrilled to be part of the faculty here, and I would recommend any parent to review the accurate school profile that is posted by FCPS as a VA State Requirement. Yes, we have areas for improvement and a unique student body, but in no way do I believe that we are a 1 out of 10 school. I wish there was more focus on the teachers and programs than test scores, but that's the country we live in.

Bucknell Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
My son attended the early childhood (special ed) program at Bucknell for the 2013-2014 school year. I am glad that we moved away. The teacher that my son had was unprepared for the school year. Lack of communication between parent and teacher was one of my biggest problems. I had no idea what he was doing in school all morning. This teacher was always "So busy" that she could not respond to my questions in a timely fashion. She had no idea how to answer some of the questions I had for her regarding my son, her lesson plan and what I would think were normal concerns when having a special needs child. It is very frusterating as a parent when the teachers will or cannot reply or tell you anything about what is going on. I am looking for a school that wants the children to excel in school even with their disabilities. I don't need a day care, I need a school that is committed to ALL students. I met the asst. principle at the end of the school year when my son was having his yearly IEP. They are more concerned about the kids and test scores then the special ed children. If you can, go somewhere else if you have a special needs child. At least with the Preschool program.

Bucknell Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
My children have attended several school in the Fairfax County District, and I can not say enough good things about the experience that we are having at Bucknell Elementary School. My daughter adores her school and all of the activities that it is offering her during the school hours. The staff is caring and make sure that the students understand what is expected of them. They strive for excellence and have almost achieved it from all of thier students. My daughter is part of the FBI program that has given her the oppurtunity to see some of the most historical sites in the area. They learn what it is to be successful by hearing Dr. Ben Carson speak at the John Hopkins. The other day they went to "Clydes Restuarant" to learn how to eat properly. Her teacher, Mrs. Kirschmiere, gives her entire being to the class. She always has time to chat and give you feedback. I appreciate her more than you can imagine. I love this school and realize how much the care that is given in the child by the school has resulted in my daughter being positive about her success and willingness to excel.


Bucknell Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
This is one of the most caring school environments I have seen at this level. My daughter is a student in the 4th grade and has enjoyed Bucknell Elementary since her first year in kindergarten. A more caring bunch of teachers would be very hard to find.

Bucknell Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 01, 2006
- a parent
I am very pleased with Bucknell, my twins started kindergarten 2005-2006 and I'm pleased with their academic and the staff is awesome; Great jobs to the Principal and Vice Principal.

Nearby schools

Bucknell Elementary School
6925 University Dr, Alexandria, VA  22307
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (703) 660-2900
Last modified Bucknell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top