Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 5

Posted May 07, 2016
- a community member
We love Cora Kelly! Our child is having an excellent Kindergarten year--came in barely knowing letters and is reading at a second grade level. The teachers are incredibly committed and talented. The school is the little engine that could--overcoming HUGE obstacles of poverty and language barriers like no other school in the district. Principal cares DEEPLY about EACH student and is doing amazing things. We are so happy to be a part of this great community.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
Grateful to: Parent

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Some of the teachers seem very nice no real sense of security at the school I don't like how they let the students just leave the cafeteria at dismissal time but one teacher offered to look out after my kid for me and I really appreciate that


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
New to Northern VA. We do not like Cora Kelly. Our child is zoned for this school which is why he attends. I will be researching other schools in the Alexandria City area and start the transfer process.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
I agree with last poster. Zero stars would be preferred option. Lovely group of teachers, but many suffer from PTSD due to principal's keep-you-on-edge style of leadership. No creativity on part of administration. Scores are dropping -- they only made AYP this year in English bec of the 3-year average. NO STEM -- why call it a Science/Math anything?

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
I wish I could give this school 0 stars. I have no idea why they call this a magnet school, or even STEM school. This will be my son's second year and I am going to have him transferred somewhere else ASAP. He is not zoned for this school, but I chose it because he's coming from a college prep school in dc. STAY AWAY if you care about education. Last year in second grade he came home with repeating patterns work sheets and other "Baby" like work. Such as complete this pattern... aabbaabbaa.... (but with shapes). This year (3rd grade) and yes it's only the start of the second week, he's getting "Count to 100 by 1s" worksheets. He can NEVER tell me what he learned because "everyone was talking so we didn't get to learn much". I have never seen the STEM. They need to drop that from the name. A friend of mine who works with schools says the administration is a joke there and I concur. The teachers seem like they care, and I thought his teacher last year was very energetic and responsive. Unfortunately that's all the positive I could muster. On everything I love, stay away.


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
squeaky wheels? ha, what a joke. there are not enough parents who can squeak loud enough, and the superintendent/school board aren't listening either. a principal with no communication skills, all about testing, testing, testing. no school community, prison sentence for new teachers -- first-year teachers beware, you will get used and abused! we moved our child. couldn't take it any more.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
This school has excellent teachers and excellent test scores. I have noticed that are a few squeaky wheel parents who post on here, but all the parents I know are very happy with the school. I do not know the principal well but the few times I needed his help he was very responsive. My child knows him and says the kids think he is great.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
that last post about CK and the principal must not know the school very well. if you have a below average achiever and only want them to focus on reading and math, send them to CK. If you want a real elementary school experience that includes full attention to science, social studies, the specials, PE, community, etc., send them somewhere else.


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
Cora Kelly is one of the best elementary schools in Northern Virginia. The teachers are very dedicated and care about every student. The administration and support staff are dedicated to the mission of the school. When visiting the school it is clear the children are happy and learning. The principal has been there longer than most of the other elementary principals in ACPS and given his record of excellence it is clear he truly cares about the learning of all students.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 2

Posted December 01, 2013
- a parent
Cora Kelly is not the school it was just a few years ago.I agree that the current administration's sole focus on math and reading test scores has effectively striped CK of all STEM and extra curricular activity. Community involvement in the school has been killed by the administration of the school. Not very long ago CK was a vibrant and high achieving STEM school that attracted bright kids from all corners of the city. Today it does a decent job teaching the how to read and pass the math SOLs but sadly little else. We have become so dissapointed in the direction of the school administration that we have removed my last child from the school. I hope that ACPS will soon see that what was a gem in the system has been gutted to a factory or regugitation.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
3600 Commonwealth Ave, Alexandria, VA  22305
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (703) 706-4420
Last modified Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top