Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
i feel sorry for the teachers and staff -- their leaders are bullies, and everyone walks around on eggshells. innovative ideas not welcomed unless they come from the principal first.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
homework was not worth much -- doing sentences in the word study book mostly. or worksheets to color.


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
i think they are developing a dislike of school -- such that these kids will fail in higher grades because they have not been exposed to anything but language arts and math.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
maybe individual teachers do but there is no ethos at the school to do unto others -- they try to keepthe students apart as much as possible.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
i think there is so much focus on testing that the civics, ethics, morals you learn in a typical school just get short shrift here. and there is no fairness -- kids are pulled from the rare lights of music, band, science for remediation on testing.


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
Has the appearance in some ways of being a combination storage facility / soup kitchen for many of its students. A typical infrastructure. Everything else was in most regards unrecognizable to me.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 5

Posted May 07, 2016
- a community member
We love Cora Kelly! Our child is having an excellent Kindergarten year--came in barely knowing letters and is reading at a second grade level. The teachers are incredibly committed and talented. The school is the little engine that could--overcoming HUGE obstacles of poverty and language barriers like no other school in the district. Principal cares DEEPLY about EACH student and is doing amazing things. We are so happy to be a part of this great community.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
Grateful to: Parent

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Some of the teachers seem very nice no real sense of security at the school I don't like how they let the students just leave the cafeteria at dismissal time but one teacher offered to look out after my kid for me and I really appreciate that


Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
New to Northern VA. We do not like Cora Kelly. Our child is zoned for this school which is why he attends. I will be researching other schools in the Alexandria City area and start the transfer process.

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
I agree with last poster. Zero stars would be preferred option. Lovely group of teachers, but many suffer from PTSD due to principal's keep-you-on-edge style of leadership. No creativity on part of administration. Scores are dropping -- they only made AYP this year in English bec of the 3-year average. NO STEM -- why call it a Science/Math anything?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary
3600 Commonwealth Ave, Alexandria, VA  22305
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (703) 706-4420
Last modified Cora Kelly Magnet Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top