Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8 & Ungraded|Private
108 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakwood School 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Oakwood is absolutely a life changing school for a child with dyslexia. The academic and emotional difference in my intellectually gifted child with a specific learning disability was profound within weeks of starting school. We feel so very fortunate to have found such an amazing school that fosters my childs self confidence, accelerates his strengths ( he is doing 3rd grade math in 2nd grade) and remediates his weaknesses. A mom told me when I interviewed that attending Oakwood was like sending your child to "Pleasantville". It is completely true. The children are taught compassion for each other and learning differences because everyone has a learning difference but they all have learning strengths as well. All the parents have been tortured in one way or another by the failures of the other school systems to either diagnose or help treat their child before finally reaching Oakwood. So we are all just blissful to be at Oakwood and watch our children be truely LOVED by their teaches, not reprimanded. Our kids are accelerated in learning not shoved to the back of the class. The student teacher ratio is amazing. My son learns all day long in every subject at his level reinforcing all the things that he is taught in each class. He could not be more happy at school while learning far more in a year than he did int he previous two years. I cannot thank the staff enough for the gift they give each of their students. Not to be dramatic, but it really is the gift of your students reaching their true amazing potential with a strong sense of self confidence and compassion for others.

Oakwood School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
My son spent 3 years in the public school system. His confidence and self esteem were completely taken away and that was with an IEP which got him services. He is Dsyexic and has learning disabilities. We are now into his first 2 weeks at Oakwood School and he is already becoming a different learner; more confident, engaged, and excited about his day. I can find no greater gift or value than one that gives my child an ability to see his full potential. He is an amazing young boy who can now reach his full potential...and he is starting to see it :) We are very blessed to have this school in our lives! Thank you Oakwood!


Oakwood School 5

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
We spent 3 years in the public school system and my son's self esteem and confidence was completely taken away and that was with an IEP. We are now at Oakwood School and after only 2 weeks I am seeing a different child in regards to his confidence and abilities. He is Dsylexic with learning disabilities but his potential can finally be fostered and his abilities fully attained. We are blessed....Thank you Oakwood!

Oakwood School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Oakwood is the place to be for children with learning and/or attention issues. Both our sons are now happy, thriving and achieving their full potential both academically and socially. The teachers and trained and equipped to help children with issues like dyslexia, executive functioning, ADHD, etc. Very small classes sizes, loving staff, highly professional teachers and administration. They also instill principles of leadership, responsibility and kindess.

Oakwood School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
My son graduated last week after spending 3 years at Oakwood. He's on to high school next year. I hate to think about what my expectations were for his future when he started ... this positive experience has turned everything around for him and given him confidence as well as a good education. We're so grateful to the teachers and staff!


Oakwood School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
Oakwood is a wonderful school for children with mild to moderate learning disabilities. The unbelievable talent of the teachers and administrators is second to none. Oakwood concentrates on not only providing the children with life time strategies to learn but to accept and embrace their differences which in turn bolsters their self confidence. The change in my children has been remarkable. I highly recommend this school to any parent struggling to find a place where their child may realize their limitless potential.

Oakwood School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
We are extremely pleased with Oakwood School. The school has been a savior for our dyslexic daughter who was not getting her educational needs met in the public school system.

Oakwood School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
Oakwood is my son's first school (other than preschool), and I am so thrilled because he now has only positive experiences with going to school. He absolutely loves it. And this is a child for whom school is not easy. The only part that he does not like, he tells me, is having to leave at the end of the day. As parents, we are also thrilled with the educational program and with the social and emotional skills that are fostered in the classroom. The teachers and the administrators are top notch, and the extent to which they care for the students is evident every day. They all go the extra mile and make the kids feel great. I would give more than five stars if I could.


Oakwood School 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
Speaking as a parent, this is the perfect environment for a child who is average-to-bright intelligence, but has some learning challenge such as dyslexia or ADHD. My son attended for 5th and 6th grade; my daughter is currently enrolled for 8th. Also, our home environment is much happier when my children feel understood and nurtured at school! They learn MUCH more here than at public school, and Oakwood helps them with organizational skills. I found the other private schools, Christian, and Catholic schools are not prepared to support the child with Learning Disabilities. We decided to spend some of our college savings HERE at Oakwood, to bolster our childrens' education and learning abilities, is these earlier critical years.

Oakwood School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a teacher
I am in my 38th year as a staff member here at Oakwood School. If I did not think this staff was of the highest quality I would have left many years ago, BUT, the quality of the teaching staff is outstanding and Oakwood's students are the direct recipients of this superb, energetic, enthusiastic staff. Great, supportive parents, motivated, hard working students coupled with dedicated staff - all necessary ingredients for a highly successful school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakwood School
7210 Braddock Road, Annandale, VA  22003
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (703) 941-5788
Last modified Oakwood School is a Private school
Top