Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 668 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

Well, my kids transferred from another Arlington County Public elementary school within the last year. Unlike the other school that embraced us from day 1 until the time we left and afterwards for some administrative issues (to include the principal and VP), we unfortunately have had just the opposite experience here. We're hoping this gets better this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2014

Such a breath of fresh air, diversity of staff and students in Arlington is tough to come by, Oakridge is by far the best school we have been involoved with. While there are one or two "top of the ridge" parents who are upset about not recieving special treatment from the principal, from our perspective they were just upset that all the "poor" kids went to "their" school, even telling some that their children should have been forced to attend other schools. Other than that the community as a whole has embraced us from the start. The PTA always puts on great family friendly events that are well attended by staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2014

LOVE, love, love Oakridge Elementary. Our kids are not only learning they are having fun with so many after school activities and good field trips. We're lucky since we have neighbors who walk their kids to schools so ours sometimes join them. Summer school/camp is also offered. The school is in a quiet neighborhood. Teachers have been spectacular (Ms. Burgin, Ms. Guevara, Ms. Dickerson, Ms. Flannigan and her assistant Ms. Bayne): you can tell they love being there. Ms. Burgin has a goldfish that my son's class got to watch grow up. The annual Science Fair is awesome. Always enjoy the friendly welcome from the Principal, Ms. Wright at every event. The annual "Oakridge Spring Fling" is also a blast. Academics are good - there are a lot of activities, parks and libraries around Arlington as well to keep kids occupied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2014

This is a great neighborhood school. Both of our kids have had fantastic teachers who are involved and responsive. There are good after-school activities, the neighborhood is safe (our kids walk to school or take the bus as we're about a mile away) and the school is nicely tucked in the neighborhood away from the main roads. We were new to this area, absolutely love our neighbors, and like being close to the school, library, and many parks including the new Long Bridge Park! Our kids are thriving here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

Parental involvement and Teachers are great. Principal is awful...Dr. Wright divides and conquers both staff and parents. Vice-Principal just resigned due to disagreement (cover story is for illness). Some parents fear retribution on their children and will not confront her; many teachers feel the same way. Dr. Wright would best serve Oakridge by leaving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

Amazing school in S. Arlington. My son has been here for 4 years. Every teacher he's had has been engaged, positive, and communicates regularly with us about his progress. From the principal to the teachers and staff to the parents and kids - this is a wonderful, safe neighborhood school with an active PTA, teachers who like their jobs, and kids who walk and bus to school together. Love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

I would not recommend this school, for the administration there. The teachers, if you get a great one, are amazing and they do seem to really care about the kids and try their best within the constraints placed on them by the admin and the county/state. I've seen poorer district schools run better than this school. There is no running allowed in PE, only skipping, fast walking or galloping. There are NO school celebrations allowed- because of a few exuberant parents and an overreacting principal, which they tried to claim was related to food allergies(but wasn't), which was made worse by the lack of clear and concise communication from the school. If you are new to the neighborhood, forget about fitting in-the PTA won't help you, nor will your neighbors. There is an obvious snob factor involved between those who have lived here their entire lives and those who haven't. A parent was ripped to shreds at a school meeting last night because she bravely disagreed with the party line. There are much better run schools in Arlington. Choose wisely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

My twin daughters are in kindergarten with Ms. Garcia and Ms. Walker. I loved that we were able to decide whether my kids were in the same class. We opted to separate them. While this made the transition harder for my girls, their respective teachers were SO supportive. Both kids love their respective teachers and it's clear that their experiences at school have faciltated their emotional and intellectual growth. I feel fortunate to have had such a positive initial experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

My son in Kindergarten and this is his first year in public school, we had our fist PT meet and we are pleased with the support my son is getting from Mr. McConnell. He and Ms. Bayne are very much liked by my son and developed great understanding skills in the first quarter. He is able to develop great interest towards reading and enjoying his school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

This is my third year teaching at Oakridge. I am a veteran teacher who has taught at 5 other schools across the country. I am very happy to be working with such fabulous staff and students at Oakridge. The teachers and administration are dedicated to high expectations and achievement for all students. Students come from many different backgrounds and are engaged in learning every day at Oakridge.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2013

Today was my daughter's first day. We attended orientation and met her teacher to allay her fears of attending a new school. Then today she was turned away by that teacher and told she had been moved to another classroom, I did not even know this had happened until after school. The principal said that she had been assigned to the brand new (hired 1 day after orientation) teacher all along.Then her forms packet came home with original teacher's name on it. You can't trust a word that comes out the mouth of the leader of this school which makes me worry about the integrity of the entire place. Not to mention, they had NO concern for my child's needs or confort level her first day at a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

Oakridge Elementary School should be rated as the worst public school with a poor leadership from the principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

2011-2012 As a US Military family, this was my daughter's 6th school building in 4 school districts for 5th grade and my son's 4th school building in 3 school districts for 3d grade. We LOVED Oakridge!!! Excellent education and very welcoming to the military. Dr. Wright is a wonderful principal and very involved with the students! The teachers and staff are excellent! Mr. Nelson(5) and Mrs. Treadwell(3) were exceptional teachers who cared about each of their students and met their needs individually. They are very welcoming to parents helping out and volunteering. It is truly an International School with over 50 countries from around the world represented--a lot are children from International Military familiies whose parents are going to the National Defense University for the year. We were very sad to only get to spend one year at this school due to a move. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

2011-2012 As a US Military family, this was my daughter's 6th school building in 4 school districts for 5th grade and my son's 4th school building in 3 school districts for 3d grade. We LOVED Oakridge!!! Excellent education and very welcoming to the military. Dr. Wright is a wonderful teacher and very involved with the students! The teachers and staff are excellent! Mr. Nelson(5) and Mrs. Treadwell(3) were exceptional teachers who cared about each of their students and met their needs individually. They are very welcoming to parents helping out and volunteering. It is truly an International School with over 50 countries from around the world represented--a lot are children from International Military familiies whose parents are going to the National Defense University for the year. We were very sad to only get to spend one year at this school due to a move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

The 2010-11 school year was the 1st year that we had a child at Oakridge Elementary. The school administration is really nice and professional. Everyone seems to really love and respect Dr. Wright, School Principal. My child was in Ms. Lawrence's 1st grade class -- the communication between teacher and parent was outstanding. We had a great experience at Oakridge -- the class instruction was excellent, the field trips were fun, the school functions were great. The before and after school care was great. I would recommend this school to anyone. We're sad that we move out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

As a staff member at Oakridge, I couldn't be more pleased with all facets of the school. The administration is unbelievably supportive; I always feel heard and respected as a professional. Everyone at Oakridge works extremely hard--long hours and lots of planning and collaboration--you would be hard pressed to find a more committed group. Additionally, the teachers are highly skilled; their talents are endless. I have worked at a number of other schools, and the teachers at those schools can't compare to the teachers at Oakridge. The student population is diverse (although less so each year, which is admittedly disappointing), which is wonderful. A small group of parents is highly involved--the PTA has never turned down a request for support. All in all, Oakridge is a wonderful place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2010

I am very happy with the school, staff and parent teacher relations. The teachers are very eager to get parents inpute. The PTA is one of the best I have ever seen. I know not all parents can help but I think if they could they would. The funds we have raised each year for the school are outstanding. The teachers make the extra effort to help each child. New teachers are learning from mentors how to deal with the different ways each child learns. The field trips are great and well worth the cost. Ton's of afterschool activities to choose from. Extended day right here at the school. My daughter scored well above grade level in all her end of grade test last year. I feel this was because she had a fantastic teacher. We love this school best ever attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

I'm very impressed by the professionalism of the staff and administration. We have moved a lot and attended many schools. Only a small, expensive private school has compared to this school in making us feel welcome, professionalism, safety, organization and communication. On all these counts, this school is remarkable. The school has an International theme which is lovely and true in that there is exceptional diversity here. Sadly, this school lacks any language options which would be appropriate for an International school. Nice clubs and field trips. The only disappointments we've experienced here are the shortcomings of Arlington County: a lack of quality opportunites for gifted children and the Investigations math curriculum. The only gifted services are pull-out enrichment which is completely insufficent for a child who is bright, curious and hardworking. They do the best they can with 'Investigations' but it has still caused regression in skills and confidence
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

We have had a very positive experience here at Oakridge. Coming in the middle of the academic year, things were different from what we were accustomed to. After getting a better lay of the land by sitting down and talking with the teachers and the principal, my children and I have loved it here! The teachers and staff are very warm and caring, but no nonsense when you want them to be. I became very involved in the school and am impressed by the level of commitment shown by so many parents and community volunteers. The ONLY shortcoming that I see is the fact that there is a core group of folks who seem to volunteer for everything. Greater parental involvement would make things that much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

My boys attend Oakridge and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. My oldest son was struggling with his reading as soon as I said anything, they had him tested and had him working one on one with a reading teacher everyday! I love this school and my kids are so happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students80%
Male students70%
Black students60%
Asian students70%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial80%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students76%
Female students76%
Male students76%
Black students65%
Asian students67%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial70%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students75%
Female students75%
Male students74%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial80%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students73%
Male students67%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students75%
Female students75%
Male students74%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students80%
Male students72%
Black students60%
Asian students71%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students94%
Male students65%
Black students65%
Asian students72%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students80%
Black students65%
Asian students80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English82%

Science

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students83%
Black students75%
Asian students74%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Lynne Wright

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1414 24th St S
Arlington, VA 22202
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 228-5840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Rita School
Alexandria, VA



Grace Episcopal School
Alexandria, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT