Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and students at Campbell radiate energy and creativity, which can be seem from the writing and art that adorns the walls, to the budding plants in the new greenhouse, to the performances at the weekly Community Meeting. It is a special community, small and extremely diverse, with support from a very active PTA. Our son loves going to school each day, and we feel confident that his education is in good hands. I'd like to give a special shout-out to the staff for all the extras they provide, from the Odyssey of the Mind program, to the Young Authors Night, to the 4th/5th grade musical, to the beautiful classroom garden beds. Thank you, Campbell!

Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
My daughter started in this school in 2014 and my son in 2015. They both love it. Mr. Turner is a very professional and experienced teacher. Mrs. Ammons is very positive and smile-full person. They bring books every week from the library. And the activities are just perfect. Thanks Campbell


Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
We love Campbell and couldn't be happier with the choice we made for our child! It's a smaller school with a very close-knit community (aided by teacher looping). Parents are very engaged, teachers are excellent, and Expeditionary Learning provides an incredible methodology for in-depth and hands-on exploration. Plus, since transferring to Campbell my child has fallen in love with books. I would recommend Campbell to any parent that desires their child to love learning and not just drill for standardized tests. It's so refreshing to see my child excited to go to school every single day.

Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2011
- a parent
Our child is in Kindergarten at Campbell - Excellent school!!! Perfect learning environment. I'm trying to get my son also into Campbell. Wonderful teachers and wonderful learning.

Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Our child was at Campbell from preschool through 5th grade. It was a perfect learning environment for her, and the most inclusive learning approach I was able to find in the county. The Expeditionary Learning model embraces kids with learning differences (and don't we all differ in some way?) and helps them flourish. When kids identified as 'gifted' can work hand in hand with kids who struggle with traditional teaching methods you know the foundation's been laid for a lifetime of learning success.


Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
My precocious pre-schooler went into Campbell with a full head of steam and ready to upset every apple cart. He found the most loving, challenging, engaging learning environment, supported by brilliant set of experienced teachers and a system ready to channel his limitless energy into learning. He has excelled and progressed, advancing a full grade level beyond testing in language and reading, but more importantly he is in love with the school's 'exploratory learning' process. They do deep investigations into whatever topic. his time around is 'water'. They did streams and rivers, rain, and oceans, and even had a plumber take them down to look at the pipes under the school. The class is now preparing for tomorrow's class 'showcase' day, where the kids get to be the teacher and show off for parents. He's so excited, and so are we. Also, we've never seen more engaged community / PTA.

Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2009
- a parent
Campbell is a wonderful learning environment anyway, but particularly spectacular if your child needs any sort of extra assistance. For some kids, that might be in english language or academic matters. For my son, I chose Campbell, because I thought they would be able to deal best with his lack of social skills. They have devoted so much time and energy to him, and he is making great progress. The classroom setting is very engaging and personal, the teachers excellent, and they have a lot of extra teaching and counselling resources. Their extended day program is exceptional, and is available on days that other public school aftercare progams are closed. Campbell accepts students from around Arlington, so I would CERTAINLY encourage you to look at the program there. I feel like I found a private school-quality education within the public school syste.

Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
Campbell is an Outward Bound Expeditionary Learning school. The school is exceptional. I believe this site does it a disservice.


Campbell Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
Campbell is a great school featuring small class, sizes interactive learning opportunities and dedicated, carting faculty and staff who want to tallow children to grow to love learning in a developmentally appropriate way.

Campbell Elementary School 4

Posted May 05, 2008
- a parent
I have found both the Special Education teachers and the General Education teachers to be caring, open to parent suggestions and accommodating about frequent meetings, phone calls and emails. They have given so much more than the previous county public school. They really seem to care about the children and the Assistant Principal is wonderful.

Nearby schools

Campbell Elementary School
737 South Carlin Springs Rd, Arlington, VA  22204
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (703) 228-6770
Last modified Campbell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top