Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Claremont Immersion

Public | PK-5 | 578 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2014

Great school until 5th grade. I encountered few incidents with a new teacher since she was constantly bringing my child down. Not everyone has the passion to teach. Other than her, they have great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

I couldn't be happier with this school. I am lucky to have my son in Claremont. The staff is great, the vice principal and principal are outstanding and even the school itself is beautiful and special. Special that is the best way to describe this school! I am a happy mom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Claremont Immersion has exceeded my expectations since 2008! The teachers and staff are wonderful and parents are very involved. It's a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

We have a 3rd grader, 1st grader, and a future montessori 3 year old. We moved from California and couldn't be happier at this school. The facaulty and parent involvement is the main reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2011

My child attends this school since kindergarten. I had some concerns at first, if he could advance in math and science because, these are subjects that are taught in Spanish, but I think the teachers of these subjects are wonderful and have made my son a bilingual child. I recommend this school 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

For anyone concerned about math and science instruction in Spanish, my son has excelled in these subjects. He's not a native Spanish speaker. He is going into the most advanced math classes available in Middle School. I'm not saying that all experiences are alike - but that in our case the language was no barrier whatsoever. I also feel that science has been implemented extremely well at Claremont, especially over the past 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Claremont is an excellent elementary school. The instruction is stellar and the teachers are enthusiastic and make extra efforts to work with your child. Science is taught through a hands-on approach by teachers who only teach science. Despite the fact that we don't speak Spanish at home, my 5th grader is fluent in English and Spanish and excells in subjects in both languages. The principal is especially accessible to parents and students. She listens to and communicates well with parents and students and holds her teachers and staff to the highest standards. The school population is diverse and the emphasis on learning about other cultures has broadened my childrens' horizons. The parents are also very involved and compliment the efforts by the teachers and the administration. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I am generally pleased with the school. The 3rd Grade Teachers win all GOLD medals in my book, particularly Mr. Staten. Parent involvement is tremendous in a positive way. I enjoy the activities and events held to encourage camaraderie amongst and between the parents and students.However, I wish the Spanish Immersion aspect of the school could be changed so that the most important subjects, Math and Language Arts and Science could be instructed in ENGLISH...Perhaps having the Music, Art, and even PE be the classes where strictly Spanish is spoken would be a better way Immerse the children, they'd still be hearing & speaking the language & learning those concepts in Spanish, This way, they don't lose out on their mastery of the most important subject matters because of a lack of understanding of Spanish. Overall, the school, teaching and Extended Day Staff are great!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I wish science was better implemented. Having a child lose interest in science during school each year is not fair. Luckily we provide summer enrichment. The art program is spectacular and the changes to give more time in Spanish have worked really well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Thanks 3rd grade teachers! My child enjoys school again. Still, the changes in classes/teachers so frequently during the day seems to make science less than exciting. I suppose this is set up so that Spanish and English homeroom teachers can collaborate. It seems to be working nicely this year and I hope it continues through 5th grade - but it seems that 5th grade test results each year for 3 year in a row don't show that this is working. Low math, English and science scores worry me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have 2 kids assisting this school and the two almost came without any Spanish and now are speaking Spanish very well, I recommend this school to any parent who wants their child to be bilingual. Fantastic teachers and principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

Open and honest: My child had wonderful experiences from k throught 3rd. When he got into 4th and 5th, things changed dramastically. The teachers are not on the same page. The teachers present themselves as a team but the classes are doing different things. They make decision without contacting parents. This is a practice from the administration on down. I think one focus claremont needs to work on is communication. K-3r teachers are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

Claremont is a fine school until 4th grade and then it starts to slide. Unless we had experienced many of the same problems that former 4th and 5th grade classes have been experiencing for at least 3 years, we wouldn't of believed it or known about it either. Before this year we felt much the same as the third grade parent. Best of luck to that family next year. They may be lucky due to an active group of parents trying to change long standing issues at present. Sorry, if the truth hurts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I would highly recommend this school to anyone who wishes for their child to be fluent in Spanish as well as excel in all other academic areas. My daughter has been in two other 'Spanish' schools where they teach classes in how to learn Spanish rather than how to speak. At Claremont they actually teach the students how to speak as well as read and wright. My daughter is in 3rd grade and loves the school. I'm not sure what the negative rating was all about with regards to 4th & 5th graders, too much homework, and parents having to teach the kids. Working closely with teachers, counselors and even the principal, I have not experienced any of these difficulties mentioned by the other individual. We have been 200% satisfied with the education our daughter has been provided and will continue to have her there through middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

This was the best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I cannot say enough about how incredible Claremont is! I listen to friends talk about their children's schools and have to bite my tongue before I brag about Claremont too much. I have 2 children, one gifted and one special needs at the school. It is a miracle that both of them have excelled. I can't describe to you how different the children are and how different their learning styles are. They both have blossomed there. Oh, and by the way, they are bi-lingual now. Yes, it's true Claremont will teach them Spanish, but it teaches so much more. They really open up the students' minds and help them find their own way to solve problems. All in a loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

My husband and I feel very lucky to have found Claremont for our daughter who is now in the third grade. She started at the school in kindergarten and we have been more than pleased with her success. Half of her day is in Spanish focusing on math, science and Spanish reading and the other half is in english focusing on history, language arts and english reading. We are native english speakers and my daughter was reading in Spanish by the middle of her kindergarten year. About 90% of the parents are extremely involved in the school whether it's during the day or for the nightly and weekend PTA activities. The afterschool enrichment program is spectacular and offers a wide variety of activities. I would highly recommend Claremont to any parent who is interested in their child excelling above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

This is a wonderful school. The immersion approach, school counselor, principal and teachers are very dedicated to the students. The front office staff is helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students83%
Male students53%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students35%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students76%
Female students78%
Male students75%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students79%
Female students86%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students70%
Male students65%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students76%
Female students78%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students88%
Male students59%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students32%
Proficient in English95%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students87%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English93%

Math

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students75%
Female students81%
Male students69%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Yes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jessica Panfil

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Yes
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 S. Chesterfield Rd.
Arlington, VA 22206
Phone: (703) 228-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Khadijah Academy
Bailey's Crossroads, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT