Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Ashburn, VA
Students enrolled: 843

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Belmont Station Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2011
- a parent
I have two kids in Belmont Station and have found it to be an excellent school. The administration and teachers are dedicated and expect excellence, and the children rise to meet those expectations. The PTA is very active and offer many opportunities to volunteer. It is truly a community, with a number of activities that are now traditions and to which our kids look forward every year. My only criticism would be the focus on testing, but that is how schools are evaluated, so it's hard to fault the teachers and the principal for that focus. That concern is tempered by the many creative ways that different concepts are taught (history fairs, the school garden, etc).

Belmont Station Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2011
- a parent
We moved here a year ago and my son has had nothing but the BeST experience at Belmont Station. He loves going to school. The staff is energetic, enthusiastic, and driven toward teaching the children and you can tell they care! It's a great school. Also, Belmont Station was just named a Blue Ribbon school. This is given by the US Dept. of Education to very few elementary schools that are high performing or have improved student achievement to high levels. Proud that my son is a part of the BeST community!


Belmont Station Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2010
- a parent
My two kids and we all love this school and its great priciple, teachers and staff. The reason is simple, our kids are very excited to go to school and motivated to learn and making achievement every school day.

Belmont Station Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The entire staff at Belmont Station ROCKS! My kids loved going there and we loved (and still do with one child still there) every single thing about the school...including their committment to keeping kids healthy & well thru instruction and by example...10 stars for the BEST elementary school around!

Belmont Station Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2010
- a parent
We've had a great experience with Belmont Station. Yes, the principle is strict and demands the best from every student, but the kids seem to rise to meet her expectations. The teachers are clearly dedicated and invested in students' success. The school has a No Junk Food policy that I know bothers some parents, but the kids don't seem to mind, and the policy led to healthier options in the cafeteria. Belmont Station also structures the fourth and fifth grade days to mimic the middle school experience of changes classes between subjects. As a result, the students experience more than one teacher and are much better prepared for the transition to middle school.


Belmont Station Elementary School 2

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
Unfortunately the B.E.S.T does not embrace diversity in the students ethnicity and personality. My daughter has attended the last the 2010 school year and she is miserable. Her teacher is verbally abusive and rude. As an older and "experienced" teacher, I expected more. I find the teacher's discipline to be rigid and the constant ramming of the SOLs is ridiculous. A 3rd grade child should not be worrying about a test she will be taking in May. No journaling, very little reading, I'm very disappointed!! My daughter has learned nothing except how to pass the SOL!! Parents do not just go by the scores on GreatSchools, converse with parents in the neighborhood. My child's last school was rated a 5, and I can attest the atmosphere was more healthy, interactive and actual learning took place

Belmont Station Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
The difference between a good school and a great one is the culture, and at Belmont Station you can feel it as soon as you walk in the door. The entire team of teachers and administrators share such an enthusiastic commitment to the children that it's absolutely contagious. Parents catch it and want to be a part of it, and most importantly the students catch it. Belmont kids love coming to school, and that is a tribute to the entire staff and the positive culture they have created.

Belmont Station Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 22, 2009
- a parent
Belmont Station is an amazing school, with both cultural and educational diversity. Belmont Station has students from varying degrees of the educational spectrum, supporting Futura for the gifted and talented students and an amazing special needs program. As far as being culturally diverse, the students at this school come from all over the globe and are given the opportunity to share their lives and culture. This school is filled with kind, loving and caring staff who make every effort for the children and work amazing well with their families in any number of situtations. Just come and see how many parents volunteer and give of their time at the school, they give back for what is given to their students. Belmont Station is the Best.


Belmont Station Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
Very poorly run and ethnicity is not tolerated in this school

Belmont Station Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Belmont Station Elementary School
20235 Nightwatch St, Ashburn, VA  20147
(571) 252-2240
Last modified Belmont Station Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Belmont Station Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top